Japanese Inspired Buffalo Sliders

in #food6 years ago

20180809_184816.jpg

Lately I've gotten into making my own burger patties from scratch. It's actually super simple, I didn't realize how easy it was. These are one of my favorites I've made so far.

I did use buffalo meat, I don't eat meat a lot, and I try to buy the best and most ethical when I do. Living with a carnivore, it's hard t cut it out entirely.

Struggling with my depression for the last few months, it's been nice to rediscover the joy in cooking, and why I've always loved it and food.

Ingredients

1 lb ground bison (or beef)
1 egg
1/4 cup breadcrumbs (I used panko for these)
2 tsp Fish sauce
1 Tbs Mirin
1/2 Tbs Coconut aminos
Ground ginger
Ground garlic
Salt
Mushroom and leek cheese, cubed small (if desired)

Instructions

Put everything except cheese into a mixing bowl and mix together well. Heat a pan on medium high heat with some sesame oil (I used toasted sesame oil for added flavor). When the pan is hot, roll some of the meat into a ball, then flatten between hands til about 1/2 an inch thick. Create divet in patty with thumb, and place cheese their. Re-roll and flatten. Place onto pan.

Sear for 2-3 minutes, then flip. Cover and let sit for three minutes (or longer, for desired done-ness).

I used sweet rolls for my buns, so cut in half and butter each bun. After the patties are removed, place the buns butter side down to toast.

Then build! Bottom bun, patty, whatever produce and extras you want ( I did tomatoes and bok choy), condiments (miso mayo and hot mustard), top bun.

Sort:  

more meat than bread so if the hamburgers are good greetings and my respects. my vote

Thank you!

The meat to bread ratio definitely goes to the side of the meat, but not by a ridiculous amount.

Looks yummy!

So yummy! I was bad and made them when my husband was out of town, and I haven't made them for him yet. And he's the carnivore. :p

I'm keeping these for myself.

MMMM!!! Interesting ingredients, I'm passing this along to my bbq master @hendrix22!