Recipe Alert: Nutty Dark Chocolate Nourishing Squares (Healthy Treats!)

in #food7 years ago

Hello Steemit!

These tasty goodies have become my recent go-to. Like many of you, my husband and I have crazy schedules and are always on the go. Any convenient but healthy way to snack is always welcome. For a long time I was buying conventional, store-bought nutrition bars. Always the “healthier” ones, usually organic and as natural as possible but I always felt they were lacking in some way. Either the taste wasn’t up to par, the ingredients list was a tad too long or I felt they were just too expensive for what I was getting. I decided to start making my own. I did some research and played around a bit. I had a few major flavor failures (sadly bananas and apple sauce did not do well) but this particular recipe is the jam. This recipe is very rich and perfect for anyone with a sweet tooth. These bars are 100% natural. You, your spouse, your kids...everyone will enjoy these. I cut them into 3 inch squares, wrap them in plastic wrap and take one to work to enjoy right around that 3pm. You know, that I’m hungry but don’t need a full meal/I need something sweet time.

Nutty Dark Chocolate Nourishing Squares: Yields about 8-10 bars

2 dates, pitted
2 figs
1c almonds, raw (soaked over night in water and rinsed)
1c pecans, raw
1/4 c organic, raw coconut nectar
1/2 c 100% organic natural peanut butter
1/2 c dark chocolate chips
1 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla
1 T cinnamon

Pulse the nuts in a food processor into large chunks (not too small). Add all other ingredients except the chocolate chips. Pulse until you have a nice mix and all ingredients are incorporated. Put mixture into a large bowl and add chips. Mix together and press into an 9X9 glass pan. Dehydrate by putting your oven on the lowest possible setting and crack the door. Leave in for at least 2 hours but if you prefer a dryer bar, up to 5. Let cool, cut and enjoy. You can also skip dehydrating and put them in the fridge and enjoy cold, they’ll just be a little more moist. Enjoy!

download.jpeg

download (1).jpeg

Sort:  

Love it! ;-)

:-)

These look really delicious. I am going to enjoy making these. Thank you for sharing. :)X

Of course! Let me know how they turn out! xo

Certainly will, they look delicious. :)X

This definitely looks like my kind of food! Love it! I think we have a lot in common :) Looking forward to more healthy recipes. Cheers!