Indian Cuisine - healthy and satisfying!

in #food6 years ago (edited)


Tandoori Chicken, in spite of it's red color it is not typically a spicy dish

Indian food has one of the most interesting combination of flavors, colors and textures due to the multiplicity of ingredients and the detailed process of putting them together. The dishes are built from layers and layers of flavor resulting in sublime tastes.

India is a country which is not defined by one single style of cooking. In south India they are known for biryani, the north is where tandoori cooking comes from, the west specializes in fish, and in the east, by the Bay of Bengal, they often cook in mustard oil and the food is typically noted for more subtle flavors.

The one constant across the country is the vast array of spices, from the pungent, bright yellow turmeric to the bitter licorice taste of fennel seed, from the aromatic nutmeg to the warmth of ginger. There are thousands of different ways the spices are blended together. In some dishes the spices are toasted and left whole, offering a much different flavor profile. Every application of each spice makes a huge difference in the final product.


Naan bread, cooked on the side of the tandoori clay oven

Sort:  

I love tandoori chicken. One of my Pakistani friend showed me how to make it with oven method. Are Indian and Pakistani Tandoori chicken the same or different?

In my opinion they are the same, I think the dish is originally Pakistani. Thanks for reading and commenting.

Indian cuisine is the best! Love naan. I wonder if we can find a tandoori oven somewhere. that would be so cool.

what an appetizing food

It was delicious! It gave me an excuse to take my two teens downtown for the day to share a great meal.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.30 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.06
Server time: 03:23:46
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 78.35/100.00
Total Photos: 14
Total comments: 5
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Excellent Post, thanks for sharing

Thanks for visiting!

Looks delicious!!!

It was a great meal to share with my kids, we spent the day traveling and enjoying this meal together. Thanks for reading my post.

gosh that looks so good

Thanks, it was great!

This looks delicious, keep up the good work @cookit!!!

I have never eaten indian dishes but I want to try Tandoori Chicken, it looks appetizing. I have many friends from India on Steemit and they recommand me also masala dosa.

Have a great day!

Haaa a Spicy Indian food.. I always prefer this for butter naan...