Tres Leche Cake from Scratch (3 Milks Cake)

in #food6 years ago (edited)

IMG_4339.JPG

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 5 large eggs, separate whites and yolks
  • 1 cup sugar (use 3/4 cup in the egg yolks and use 1/4 cup when you whip the egg whites)
  • 1/3 cup whole milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 12 oz can evaporated milk
  • 14 oz can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/4 cup whole milk

    For the whipped topping:

  • 1 pint Heavy Cream , for Whipping
  • 3 Tablespoons Sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

    Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly spray a 9x13'' pan with non-stick cooking spray.
  2. In a medium bowl combine flour, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl. Separate the eggs into two separate bowls, egg whites in one bowl, egg yolks in another bowl.
  3. Add 3/4 cup sugar to the bowl with the egg yolks and mix on high speed until yolks are pale yellow. Add the 1/3 cup milk and vanilla and stir.
  4. Pour the egg yolk mixture over the flour mixture and stir just until combined, you don't over mix these ingredients, it will overdevelop the gluten.
  5. Use electric beaters to beat the egg whites on high speed. Gradually add the remaining 1/4 cup of sugar as you mix and continue beating until stiff peaks form.
  6. Fold egg whites into the batter gently so that you keep all the air you just whipped into the egg whites. Pour batter into prepared pan. Make sure to smooth it into an even layer.
  7. Bake for 35 to 40 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean. Remove from the oven and allow cake to cool completely.
  8. Combine the evaporated milk, sweetened condensed milk, and whole milk in a small bowl. Once the cake has cooled use a fork to poke holes all over the top of the cake.
  9. Slowly pour the milk mixture over the the top of the cake, making sure to pour near the edges and all around.
  10. Refrigerate the cake for at least 1 hour to allow it to soak up the milk.
  11. Whip the heavy cream, sugar and vanilla until stiff peaks. Spread over the top of the cake.

Try not to finish the entire cake all by yourself!

Step-by-step photos:


















Sort:  

So delicious 😋

It definitely is! Try it. There are a lot of steps but it's not that hard to make.

Great pictures and looks delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe and how to do it step by step.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.25 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.05
Server time: 04:09:19
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 42.00/100.00
Total Photos: 8
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

watered my mouth. Thank you so much for sharing.

You are welcome!

yummy looking cake and i love cakes, saving the recipe for my wife to try this out thanks for sharing, and i love how you show the steps in picture, really explicit. maybe you can add a video of this

Thank you. The steps help because it's a little more involved than most recipes. I will try to get equipment for making video posts. Hopefully your wife will bake this for you, its delicious!

So delicious 🤤 check my channel and see my food posts 🙏 can you help me voting on my posts please 🙏🙏🙏

I am already a follower of yours. I will take a look at your posts tonight. Thanks for reading mine.

I didn't remember😂, i hope for your support🙏

thanks for the recipe... i tried it once and its awesome, almost as good as grandmother lemon pie!!! :P miss you granny

I'm not a big fan of regular cake, I'm more of a cookie and brownie person. But this cake is so moist - I love it!

It looks delicious, I love the cake three milk is my favorite I prepare it for my birthday

Thanks for reading. Have you made different flavors?

So far, no, I love the three milks

I may try to make one and with a chocolate cake and fresh banana slices on top.

I wait for the moment you do and see those photos.

Thanks for the challenge, my family finished the previous cake so fast, I will have to make another one this weekend!

I hope to see photos of when you prepare it, I have no doubt that it is delicious