RAW HUMMUS! I LOVE HUMMUS! <3

in #food6 years ago

When I first tried hummus a couple years ago I became practically addicted to it! It's SO GOOD! <3

However, now being fully raw, I decided to make some raw hummus!!!

Unlike the other recipes I'd been following/upgrading/remaking because I LOVE hummus so much, I didn't need a recipe to make this deliciousness!

Making raw hummus is actually very easy! The most "difficult"/time consuming part would be to sprout the chickpeas/garbanzos, which fortunately is also easy, as long as you give them the attention they need!

First things first, wash the chickpeas/garbanzos and make sure they're nice and clean so when they're sprouted and ready to use you don't get any random debris inside your hummus! ;)



After washing them, soak them for 8+ hours, and then they're ready to begin sprouting!

All you need to do to ensure they sprout is keep them wet but not drowning in water or they will ferment!



I used these big mason jars with cheesecloth lids to keep them wet but breathing for optimal sprouting!

However unlike in this picture, I started tilting/leaning the jars diagonally so they could pour out any excess water as the sitting water would cause them to ferment.

You'll want to rinse the chickpeas/garbanzos as often as possible to avoid fermentation and keep them soaked!



It should take about 4 days when they are finally ready to use, though after 3 days you'll probably notice the little tails popping up on the cute little sprouts as they near to being ready and soft enough to eat raw!



Surprisingly even the halved chickpeas/garbanzos will sprout too!!!

Once the tails are long enough and the sprouts are soft enough to eat raw, you are ready to make the hummus! :)



So gather up all your ingredients!!!! <3

  • Soaked and sprouted chickpeas/garbanzos
  • RAW TAHINI! <3 (ground sesame seeds), or even sprouted sesame seeds! <3
  • Fresh and peeled garlic!
  • Lemon/lime juice!
  • Extra virgin raw olive oil and/or sesame oil!
  • Himalayan and/or ocean salt!
  • Paprika and/or smoked paprika!
  • Curry and/or;
    • Turmeric
    • Ginger
    • Mustard Seed
    • Black pepper
    • Curcumin
  • Pine nuts

After gathering the ingredients you're ready for the one and only step actually required in making the hummus!

Put everything in the food processor/blender, and keep going until it's nice and creamy! So easy!



You'll want to keep tasting it and seasoning it to perfection to your taste as you please!



I LOVE TAHINI ESPECIALLY RAW TAHINI! So I made sure to use A LOT of TAHINI! Hehe! <3



Once the consistency and taste are to your liking, you're done and the hummus is perfectly ready to eat!!!! <3



You can sprinkle some pine nuts on top for aesthetics, taste, and texture, adding some extra deliciousness!

You can even blend some pine nuts directly in the hummus as well! ;)



I LOVE hummus! So of course I made sure to make A LOT that way it would last a while knowing how I eat hummus! Hehe! <3

While refrigerated it will preserve really well too! Especially with the lemon/lime, salt, garlic, oils, and spices acting as natural preservatives combined with the cold! ;)



Eat the left overs that you couldn't scoop out or fit into the containers!! Hehe! :P



I used these raw vegan superfood juice pulp crackers I made the day I started sprouting the chickpeas/garbanzos to eat with the hummus! :)



 SOOOO GOOOOOD!!!! <3 And beautiful!!! <3



Make sure to scrape and eat ALL of the hummus, leaving none to waste!! ;)



ENJOY!!!! <3



Definitely one of the best hummus combo's I've ever made and had! <3

RAWESOME DELICIOUSNESS!!! <3

I LOVE HUMMUS! <3

I LOVE RAW HEALTHY FOODS! <3


•–•∞§∞§•§∞§∞•–•–•∞§∞§•§∞§∞•–•–•∞§∞§•§∞§∞•–•

I hope you loved this as much as we did and follow us for more epic adventures, healing, and recipes!!

Much LOVE, THRIVAL, HAPPINESS, HEALING, APPRECIATION, FREEDOM, ABUNDANCE, HEALTH, GRATITUDE, and $TEEMING for ALL!!

💗💗😄💗💗

Thank you and STEEMON!!

💗💗😄💗💗


Sort:  

Lol: ‘rawesome deliciousness’ ...very punny 😀. This looks so good, I love a good homemade hummus, but have never done the raw version

Hahaha soup-er yeeeeesssssss!! Hehe, RAWesome is the new awesome! ;)
Homemade everything is the best because of all the love put into it! <3
Definitely recommend trying the raw version, it tastes the pretty much the same too! :)

Hey this is great... are u using dried chickpeas from the start. i always have dried ones.

i stopped eating raw garlic when i found out about this....

There are some studies that show that garlic can actually cause damage to brain cells. It has that very powerful effect because garlic does end up in the blood stream if eaten in raw form; if eaten in cooked form, the negative or toxic effect is greatly diminished. So if a person does feel like they want the garlic, then they can take it in cooked form, and it will be less negative, or less harmful to the body.

Garlic burns; it literally can burn little holes through the lining of the intestines. Also, it can certainly penetrate the mucus lining and make its way through into the intestinal wall, where it can burn little holes that eventually can lead to perforations, if you eat it too often. And that is the part where they already have been eaten or damaged. So particularly people who have leaky gut, where the toxins already escape from the intestines and move into the blood stream, should be extra careful. This is because garlic should not really be in the blood.

Some people who have been through World War II or post-World War II, for example 5-10 years afterward, including several of Italian descent, were very knowledgeable about the toxic effects of garlic. Firsthand accounts indicate that some took garlic cloves with them to the front lines of battle, and squashed the garlic, basically using the juice from the garlic. They poured the garlic juice over their bullets and then put the garlic-laden bullets into their guns. According to anecdotal reports, the Italians were never known to be the best marksmen or shooters. To the contrary, they were famous for not being able to aim properly at enemy solders, so they often missed. It is quite possible that they missed more often than they succeeded. So they thought that putting garlic on the bullets might give them an advantage. By somehow shooting and hitting the enemy, just injuring them in the foot or somewhere else, not necessarily in the (life-threatening) heart or the head, the enemy would die when the garlic entered the enemy’s blood stream. They knew this because once garlic is in the blood, for instance by injecting raw garlic juice into the blood, you can certainly die from that.

This is very interesting, and news to me. I have never heard garlic had any side effects. @Celestialcow, you always have the most in depth knowledgeable posts!

oh wow thanks @jenniferferris i just want to make sure ppl aren't harming themselves. even health food ppl have habits they think are healthy but research tells us otherwise as @fmatinata says there are two sides to every story, we must look at both perspectives and work out for ourselves what works for yourself. Listen to the body tho as well as the what your cravings tell you, sometimes they are not working together.

Mmmm I used dried chickpeas, but after soaking them for 8+ hours they are ready to sprout! You can even grow them if you want! :)

I've heard of lots of raw foodies that avoid garlic and onions, and as well as bunch of positive and negative effects of eating them raw and/or cooked...

That's a super interesting perspective and especially interesting story about garlic! Thank you for sharing, I really appreciate reading this whole new side of garlic! <3

It's kind of ironic though because my whole family on my dad's side is super Italian and all LOVE garlic and use it in almost everything they cook! As well as pretty much every raw dish they make as well! Hehe.
Though now that I think about it, that explains why the raw vegan cafe we've been eating from extremely frequently lately often avoids garlic and onions in most, if not all, of their dishes! Since they are super focused on helping people heal and most people need healing with intestinal, especially gut related issues!

I definitely would agree that it's best not to eat LOTS of raw garlic daily, unless you are sick with some disease/illness/virus, as that burning can be a super medicinal antibiotic!
However it can be just as harmful if over done! Like the saying "too much medicine can be poison" and would not recommend eating large doses of such substances unnecessarily without a serious purpose/intention, especially on a daily basis!

I doubt it is harmful in this particular recipe as I only put 2-3 cloves inside a HUGE batch of hummus!
Fortunately, garlic cloves can always be replaced with garlic chives, and maybe even ginger or other spices! :D
So I'll definitely keep that in mind since I have lots of garlic chives growing in the garden next time I want to use raw garlic! <3

In the end as long as everything is in balance I doubt it can be seriously harmful, as almost everything everyone does on a daily basis is technically "suicidal/self-destructive" :P hehe, but definitely worthy of noting to be careful with in any extreme cases, particularly for people with a leaky gut as you said!! <3

I'm not sure of many things being safe to be injected directly into the blood stream though hehe, except in emergencies, like coconut water! <3
Before reading the last part, I thought you were gonna say they used the garlic so that it would sting/hurt more after getting shot xD It's interesting because I heard lots of people also in WW II that actually used garlic topically to help heal, clean, and disinfect war-wounds! O:

do you mean you can plant the chickpea once it sprouts? were u chickpeas fully submerged in water for 8 hours, my chickpeas seem to soak up all the liquid in a few hours, i just add more water i guess?

in my latest post i talk about how i had a phobia of onions most my life, i think sometimes the body tells us stuff and maybe onion was too strong for me internally. i used to like garlic alot and even eat whole cloves raw but its bloody strong and u can feel it burn your inside. i also used it tropically but i think it made this wound i had worse.
a lot of garlic now days comes from china and its very poor growing and potentially dangerous for consumption. obviously in italy and spain is abundant and used regularly in cooking.
If you are healthy then maybe its not a problem but also if you are healthy u dont exactly need it either. I stopped using it as much and not at all now in its raw form and i am totally fine like my 92 yr old grandma who never used it in here life!
but i wounder if you could warm it up in sunlight or in warm water, which brings me to the question, is tea not raw because it is used boiling water?
i read there are special ways to prepare garlic to get maximum benefits if you dont already know about it, i think it will interest u.

I'm pretty sure the chickpeas are ready to be planted once they sprout! Though of course it depends where you live and how optimal their growing conditions are for whether they'll grow well and abundantly!
Indeed, fully submerged and keep adding/changing the water as needed for minimum 8 hours, though I soaked them about 16 hours, they approximately double in size!

MMMmm thats a very interesting phobia! As well as interesting garlic experience!! I can't believe your grandma has never used garlic her whole life! O:
I'll check out your newer posts soon! Haven't been steeming lately as I'm constantly more able to move around walking/standing! :D <3
It's super interesting though also super ironic and contrasting from my personal experience, especially comparing to my Italian grandma who's used it pretty much daily her whole life and is still super human too! :D
Definitely agree how it's super strong and can see how it's not fully necessary, especially the healthier you are, though it is delicious, to my whole family at least, hehe. I've even witnessed garlic heal "incurable" viral infections through raw consumption on an empty stomach too! O:
When I first started getting into health, before realizing "it's not necessary if you don't need it" x) I thought it was super healthy to eat raw garlic and would always start my days like that with at least 2 huge cloves every morning and never experienced any negative effects... I stopped so that it could still be beneficial in case I needed it medicinally... but since then I've never gotten sick and much less needed it xD
Though I would say it's totally worth adding the garlic in many foods, especially the hummus though, hehe, flavor-wise at least :3

Completely agree with checking the quality, of not just the garlic but all food, especially coming from China, as lots of conditions in China are not regulated and very sketchy/unreliable...

I've wondered that about tea as well, it's a great question! To me, even though you use boiling water, you're not consuming anything other than the water (for the most part at least) when drinking the tea. You can make teas by simply adding things to the water without boiling, even at room-temperature as well! I think it depends where the water is coming from and how mineral-dense it is to determine if it's worth boiling or not, unless there is abundance! Like waterfall/spring water is super alive and abundant! So boiling it can potentially ruin that aspect of it, though it can also in some cases make it safer to drink... yet either way, it's still water, one of the most optimal super life-filled "foods" haha.
Then it all goes back to being just a label, "raw" when essentially all we really seek is life-force/energy and whatever helps us thrive! <3

i know its crazy she never eaten garlic and living so close to the italian boarder aswell. actually crossing that boarder is really funny because they still speaking in german tyrol dialect but then can switch to italian just like that would love to be able to be so fluent in languages. i have a funny way of learning them. trying with spanish atm. im very slow but im still thankful i learned something cos spanish was like a whole other world i never i thought id get.

i had a go at sprouting my chickpeas some sprouted but some where hard i think because they werent covered enough in water. i tried some raw sprouted ones, they were ok but i decided to cook them gently, basically let them sit in warm water for a while. They were more palatable for me after that and actually alot tastier than if i just boiled them for ages. so id saw it is half and half.

i really like herbal tea, it seems to sooth and calm me, when i feel restless, cold or in need or some kind of treat, tea satisfy me alot, if u choose the right herbal tea it really healthy, ive been having moringa tea alot recently. really helps everytime i feel sick its gone straight away :)

From my own personal experience, raw garlic really doesn't feel good to eat. It doesn't taste good and sometimes stir up my belly.
I mean take a small garlic clove, and chew it raw. It's horrible.

I use to actually really enjoy it about 4 years ago xD Especially mixing bites of raw garlic with other foods!
Though now, especially after being raw, it feels unnecessary to eat raw by itself, and can relate to the sensation you experienced just by thinking about it! Hehe.
However, in the hummus it was delicious and felt great! <3

Post for more foods article that maybe getting some source of nutrient.

Raw foods are the best source of nutrients! <3

You have an articles like foods rich in eye nutrient?

Mmmm none that I've made, but I can make recommendations if that helps!
I feel that (intermittent if not full on) fasting or eating all raw, resting as well as functional movements, and juicing is the best combination for super healing anything though! <3
Though more specifically, I've also heard carrots are rich in nutrients for the eyes!

Okay thank you for that godbless.

Yummy! Always nice to fresh up the raw-lifestyle with some tasty add ons!

Indeed! I take it you're also into the raw-life? :)
When I started I was only eating fruits and salads, but a couple weeks ago after my parents rawnniversary when we went to a raw vegan restaurant I decided to start spicing things up, literally! Haha! <3

Yes, I eat mostly fruits and salads :) Haven't tried raw hummus yet though

Definitely recommend it!
Along with raw vegan cheeses, crackers, breads, sauces, and meats!
Then you can combine them with raw dips like the hummus and/or other creams, to make sandwiches, burgers, pastas, pizzas, and much more!!!! <3
Infinite possibilities of RAWsome deliciousness!!!! <3
Even though, personally I find that fruits and juices feel the best (and second best would be salads!)!
However it's quite nice to be able to switch it up every now and to enjoy the pleasures of eating "normal" foods, yet still being raw!! :D

is it included in fruitarianism, or just for special occasions?

Depends on your definition of fruitarianism, from what I just googled it says fruitarianism can consist of purely fruits, or primarily fruits and possibly nuts and seeds, as a subset of veganism.
I started off being raw with the intention of eating only fruits, but being raw is way more fun hehe.
Looking forward to living in an epic fruit forest jungle where I can climb trees and harvest fresh fruits year round! <3 Next to a waterfall (and hot springs)! <3

what an epic vision :) :) :) what is your sun, moon and rising sign? if i had to guess Aquarius and maybe Sagittarius/aires

raw hummus? makes me want to make one!

You can make some! :)
There are infinite different ways to do it, this is just one example! :P

I didn’t know you prepare hummus this way. But I didn’t anywhere raw chickpeas to buy. I guess you have to grow them yourself?

Well it's only one of infinite ways to prepare it!
Chickpeas are the same as garbanzos, you can use either! I didn't grow them myself though I did sprout them, and just like that, you can use infinite alternatives! ;)
You can replace them with anything! Some examples; lentils, beans, zucchini, and beets! However, there are really infinite more possible choices! <3

I never thought to try raw hummus before! That's awesome (and "rawesome" 😉).

Definitely recommend it, I bet you'd love it!
I find that it's actually way less effort/work and just as (if not even more!) tasty! <3
Plus you can make it out of so many different things to switch it up instead of only sticking only to chickpeas/garbanzos! <3

niceeeeeeeeeeee my dear friend , me too i like hummus , good luck @fmatinata

Hey man!
I'm not writing this to offend or anything, just telling my sincere experience.
I did everything you said in the recipe, even added more of the other things than you said. But used regular tahini intead of raw.
But it turned out so disgusting! I couldn't eat a spoon of it :( Eating plain sprouted chickpeas is ok for me, but this mixture was something I just couldn't put into my mouth!
Next day I tried to fry it (because I never trow away food which is not rotten), and it took a looot of oil and spices to make it somewhat edible :(

maybe people who've been eating raw have different taste buds? cause I'm mostly into cooked food, just trying to incorporate some raw...