Corn On The Cob-errific

in #food7 years ago

Or: There's Nothing Like Growing, Harvesting, and Eating Your Own Food!

IMG_8432.JPG

Corn takes a lot of time and resources to produce, but there is nothing quite like sinking your teeth into a helpless row of juicy, buttery and garlic dripping kernels of starch ecstasy. So, yes, I grow I few rows of corn each year.

IMG_8425.JPG

Ever since I read @aunt-deb's Hoosier style roast corn post, I have been anticipating my corn harvest like a bunch of Game of Thrones fans awaiting the next season. I had this vision of plucking some ripe, plump ears of sweetness off of the stalks, soaking them overnight, and roasting the daylights out of them in my outdoor oven that I built earlier this summer.

IMG_8426.JPG

Nature had other plans.

IMG_8427.JPG

To say that our surrounding landscape is dry is like saying that Houston is only a little bit on the wet side right now. Understatement city! We have been under an extreme fire danger warning for a LONG time now, the air is reminiscent of a young adult dystopian novel setting, the sun has been blood red from smoke haze for days, and any idea of building a fire is so high on the stupid scale that only a few humans have actually engaged in flame construction. Thankfully.

IMG_8428.JPG

So, until it rains, no roasted in my outdoor oven corn enjoyment for us. I think I will try Aunt Deb's method on my gas grill, but tonight I just cooked my corn the way my grandma always did, boiled it for a bit.

To say that the ear that I inhaled was corn-tastic would be doing it an injustice. It's like eating an entire mish-mash of summer in one blissful bite. Sigh.....

IMG_8429.JPG

Tonight I kept it simple, for I find that fresh, homegrown food doesn't often need a lot of adornment. I just whipped up some melted garlic butter, brushed it on my corn, salt, peppered, parmesan, and paprika dusted my ear, and went to kernel-stuck-in-my-dratted-teeth land.

IMG_8443.JPG


You'll have to pardon my lack of exuded corn on the cob ingesting excited-ness. I am still recovering from fair and I had a co-worker quit and another have emergency family health stuff, so lots and lots of labor makes for a deflated @generikat. I promise I was squeeing with joy on the inside!


Yum.


I've had a hankering for some corn with cilantro-lime butter for most of the summer, so I am going to visit that flavor town, but honestly, I'm open to any recipe or corn eating method suggestion from ya'll. What are some of your favorite flavor accoutrements to add to corn on the cob? Lay it on me like buttah on my corn!


And as always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's camera lens steamed from corn deliciousness iPhone.

Want to read more @Generikat posts?



Click Here!

Sort:  

valuable information of food.
This is a very sweet food.

I totally agree with you! Sigh, I miss it already, gonna have to pick and cook some more!

amigo #resteemia at your service

'There's Nothing Like Growing, Harvesting, and Eating Your Own Food' absolutely correct. nice harvest & feeling yummy @generikat

ReSteemia
'UpVote ReSteem Comment'

I am glad you agree, amigo! Thank you so much!😊

Luckily the corn from my family's farm is pretty sweet the way it is so just a little salt and pepper for me. Lime butter sounds awfully good though, I never thought of that.

I hope you have better luck with your co-workers tomorrow.

I usually just go the salt and pepper route too, but there is something magical about lime juice and butter!

Today I got hit on by a drunk and yelled at by a complete jerk regarding our business hours, but my one co-worker in attendance is awesome, so there's that 😆

wow how good is that looks yum my fav.

Thanks @blazing! It was amazing, hope you can find some to snack on too!

Hahahh that's ture mate
"I have been anticipating my corn harvest like a bunch of Game of Thrones fans awaiting the next season."

Ha ha! Hang in there!!

I say whether going with minimal style as in just butter or fully laden with all the adornments, you can go far wrong with fresh corn on the cob---its kinda like pizza and toppings now I think about it!

I've never thought of it that way, but corn totally is like pizza in regard! Sometimes you just want it plain, and other times your want more add-ons than are available on the Pizza Gut app! LOL!

Lady you haven't seen international game of thrones fans waiting for their next meal yet. I tried using your method for germinating the kernels. They germinated but I had some black mold growing over them, I didn't dare running hydro experiments with it. Looks good, have fun eating.

If you would have said, "You know nothing, @generikat" I would have choked on my dinner salad! LOL I only want to see Game of Thrones fans waiting for a meal from a long distance, or even via a screen. Yikes!

I am so sad that your corn sprouts were marred by mold. I have never experienced that, but I do live in a very low humidity climate, and I don't keep the sprouting seeds too moist, those are the only two things that I can think of as to why that happened. Or the corn could just have been being a jerk to you, that's what I claim when things don't work out like I intend😜

Mmm. Looks so delicious, I want one. I don't think I have had proper corn in years.

Thank you! And you must remedy the lack of proper corn in your life sooner rather than later! Everyone needs corn on frequent occasions!

I Like This Corn Food. mmmm Really. 100% like and resdteem

I liked it too! LOL! Thank you!!

When you can cook them on the grill that is our favorite way to have corn on the cob. Cooked right in the shuck so it steems and gets very sweet . Lime cilantro butter sounds great . Gotta try it. Thanks for the post. Be well! 🐓🐓

Delicious, well done!

MMMMMmmmmm, Good! Now I'm hungry!!!

😄😇😄

@creatr