Strawberry and Elderflower Syllabub - A Simple yet Extravagent Summer Dessert for that Very Special Event.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Its early summer and the elderflower bushes are now in bloom; strawberry beds are producing masses of luscious red berries.  Lets incorporate them into an 'old fashioned', 'traditional' dessert with a modern twist.  Simple yet delicious – a real dinner party treat!  I serve this with 2 butter shortbread biscuits (cookies), it goes down so well with everyone.

Source

This post will show you how to make the delicious syllabub, but also, how to make elderflower cordial. The shortbread biscuits (cookie) recipe will be in the next post so don't worry; you will learn how to make everything and stun your friends with this 'heavenly' trilogy.  So lets begin with the Syllabub:

Strawberry and Elderflower Syllabub

Ingredients for the 'Syllabub':  

400g (2 cups/ 14 ozs) strawberries + 100g (1/2 cup/ 3.5 ozs) for decoration

100g (1/2 cup/3 ½ ozs) sugar

4 tbls elderflower Cordial

300ml (1 1/3 cups/ 10 fl ozs) double Cream.

Method: 

1.  Put strawberries, sugar and elderflower cordial into a pan and gently simmer until strawberries are soft. 

2.  Pass the strawberry mixture through a fine sieve to remove the seeds.  (It is better to use a plastic sieve here as a metal sieve might react with the acidic content of the fruit and could be tainted by it).

3.  When the puree is cold, whip up the cream to soft peaks. 

4.  Retain 1/4 of the puree for decoration.  Fold the remaining puree through the cream leaving a ripple effect. 

5.  Put into ‘stemmed’ glasses and place in the fridge to chill. 

6.  Toss the remaining strawberries and puree together until the strawberries are covered.  

7.  When the syllabub is chilled and set, decorate each glass with the remaining strawberries and puree.

8.  Serve with two shortbread biscuits (cookies)

A really simple and delicious dessert.  You can use shop bought elderflower cordial to make this dessert but it is so easy to make your own and homemade has infinitely more flavour; so lets look at how to make:

Homemade Elderflower Cordial

Source

Ingredients required:

2½ kg (12 1/2 cups/5lbs 5 ozs)  white sugar

2 unwaxed lemons

20 fresh elderflower heads, stalks trimmed

85g (2/3 cup/3 ozs) citric acid (You can easily obtain this from chemists) (Nb. The conversion from grams is based on icing sugar conversion, the nearest commodity I could gauge it with, so be aware)!

Method:

1. Put the sugar and 1.5 litres (6 cups/2¾ pints) water into the largest saucepan you have. 

2. Heat gently, stirring now and then, until the sugar has dissolved.

3. Slice the unwaxed lemons into rounds about ¼” (6mm) slices.  (If your lemons are waxed, which most are, just put them into a bowl and pour boiling water over them from the kettle. Leave for a minute and pour off the water, your lemons will now be unwaxed).

4. Once the sugar has dissolved bring the pan of syrup to the boil.

5. When at boiling point turn off the heat and add your lemon slices, and citric acid, stir to dissolve and disperse the citric acid.

6. Fill a washing up bowl with cold water. Give the flowers a gentle swish around to loosen any dirt or bugs. (Please shake them well outside before putting them in the water bucket; lets allow any insects chance to escape first).  Lift the flowers out, gently shake to remove excess water, and transfer to the syrup. 

Source

(When you are picking the elderflower heads, go for the palest flowers which are fully open.  If they are slightly colored they will be older and not have the same flavor.  It is best to pick them on a sunny day; earlier in the morning, preferably when the dew has dried off them).

7. Cover the pan and leave to infuse for 24 hrs.

8. Line a colander with a clean tea towel, then sit it over a large bowl or pan. Ladle in the syrup – let it drip slowly through. Discard the bits left in the towel. (Do not squeeze the towel out let it drip through slowly, otherwise your cordial will be cloudy).

9. Fill sterilized bottles with the elderflower cordial (run glass bottles through the dishwasher, or wash well with soapy water. Rinse, then leave to dry in a low oven). 

10. The cordial is ready to drink straight away and will keep in the fridge for up to 6 weeks; or, freeze it in plastic containers or ice cube trays and defrost as needed.  This is my preferred method of keeping the elderflower cordial as it is always fresh when required and you do not run the risk of contamination if sterilization was not successful.

A very simple summer treat which lasts as long as your stash does!


Until the next time, adios Amigos

From very sunny Almeria Province, Spain. X



Sort:  

Looks simply delicious! I would upvote but have no power right now for some reason have to figure it out.. But oh my goodness I love strawberries and that looks sinful🍓🍓🍓🍰🍰 you have a beautiful day great steem! I'm going to needle the strawberry desert for my husband! Xx

You have used up all of your steem by voting. Write some more to earn extra. You can still vote though and that means more to me than 1c. If you can't get elderflower cordial add some orange juice and put the zest in when you cook the strawberries, it will sieve out when you pass the strawberry mixture. To make it really yummy use a good dash of orange liqueur - grand marnier is good. Yummy. You have a good day too. Scottish shortbread post to follow and they are fantastic. X

Thank you so much for explaining to me about upvote I was not understanding it at all. Yes I will do that it's going to be yummy!

Thank you. Do not use this site as it has been stolen by @jennswall @finleyexp ! If I get it back I will contact you. Previous support most appreciated. A friend is posting this for me. X

Oh no that's terrible! I hope it gets fixed quick!

This woman is a con artist @cecirod1218.

So do I Doll, so do I! This link will go someway to explaining the cause of this catastrophe. https://steemit.com/life/@get-baking/life-it-must-get-better-now-part-2 . I have only posted through my friend, to stop others upvoting and commenting, to the benefit of the two mentioned. They initially set me the account up as a 'fait a compils' and are now saying I have to pay them for it? What! Why when I used to teach IT in school would I need them to do this for me? I am setting up a new site and it took me all of two minutes! Why would I ask them to do paid work for me when I am chasing every penny to buy my house.....? Are they mentally challenged? Hey ho, I can always start again. I am afraid for them, it is the Police! Speak again when I have a new account. X

Ok! I'll be here! Glad you could make a new account🌸

This is a lie. The @get-baking account has not been stolen.

Absolute joke. These two recon I have asked them to do work of 5,500 Euros in 3 months. Not likely when I needed every penny to buy my house. I even sold my Audi Q7 car to do this. I am also an ex Applied Computer Science teacher and Head of Department. Why would I pay them to do this amount of work on Steemit development? I can and have done it myself. It really is so pathetic just to try and scare me into not persuing the fraud committed against myself which I am involving the police here in Spain. A full history will be my first post on my new site. I will forward it to all my followers. Please view this pathetic attempt to explain their actions. My replies below might interest you. https://steemit.com/scam/@finleyexp/warning-a-serial-slanderer-and-con-artist-is-spamming-steemit-with-lies#@nannyjoan/re-finleyexp-warning-a-serial-slanderer-and-con-artist-is-spamming-steemit-with-lies-20170626t191027239z . X

I'm sorry to inform you that you've been flagged by another user (not me! I'm just a helpful bot keeping you informed. Please upvote this comment if you appreciate it.)

@cecirod1218 The @get-baking account is being held in lieu of payment for services rendered from March 2017 to present. The outstanding debt falls just under 4000 euros.

I do not make it a policy to speak against others. I had continued to help this person even after the initial slander was introduced to the community of Steemit, but in this case I feel the need to defend these accusations with the proof that I have at hand.

Here is the link to the outstanding bill: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1-jkKuiB-6vmR4I_UVDGijb3960dUrL37qjbtA8ZVZcw/edit?usp=sharing

Oh my I do not want to be involved in that at all

I am sad that you have been pulled into this as well. The recipes on the get-baking account are good though: Life has varying levels of terrible and if one looks hard enough there is always a silver lining!

Absolute joke. These two recon I have asked them to do work of 5,500 Euros in 3 months. Not likely when I needed every penny to buy my house. I even sold my Audi Q7 car to do this. I am also an ex Applied Computer Science teacher and Head of Department. Why would I pay them to do this amount of work on Steemit development? I can and have done it myself. It really is so pathetic just to try and scare me into not persuing the fraud committed against myself which I am involving the police here in Spain. A full history will be my first post on my new site. I will forward it to all my followers. Please view this pathetic attempt to explain their actions. My replies below might interest you. https://steemit.com/scam/@finleyexp/warning-a-serial-slanderer-and-con-artist-is-spamming-steemit-with-lies#@nannyjoan/re-finleyexp-warning-a-serial-slanderer-and-con-artist-is-spamming-steemit-with-lies-20170626t191027239z . X