Browned Butter Toasted Coconut Magic Cookie Bars (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago

That’s right. I just put browned butter and toasted coconut into the same sentence.

This is the part of the post that I have to mentally switch to writing gear, which is sometimes hard for me to do because I’m not always in the mood. Um, today isn’t that bad. I can think of many days when I have been much less inclined to write about food. It comes with the territory though, and all of the days that I really enjoy writing make the other ones worth it.

Browned Butter Toasted Coconut Magic Cookie Bars (3).jpg

I know that you’ve probably all had magic bars before but these are a like the upgraded version of the classic recipe. Magic bars were something that my mom made pretty often when I was little because they were one of my dad’s favorites and they are such an easy recipe to make. She taught me how to make them when I was pretty young but I could never seem to make them as good as hers. Plus, you all know how I can’t help myself when it comes to tweaking recipes.

Browned Butter Toasted Coconut Magic Cookie Bars (5).jpg

Don’t get me wrong, the classic way is delicious and I know why they are so named, because they disappear like magic every time. It’s just, I always felt like they’d be better on a chewy crust over the typical crunchy graham cracker one and the coconut just needed to be toasted. As far as I’m concerned, un-toasted coconut is the equivalent of a nice car that never gets driven. Yes, it’s fine as it is, but there is so much potential.

Browned Butter Toasted Coconut Magic Cookie Bars..jpg

Then there is the browned butter factor. If I could get away with it, I would probably brown every stick of butter from this moment on for the rest of my life. It’s so, so, so good! Of course, that wouldn’t always work out, but you have to admit it’s a lovely thought.

Browned Butter Toasted Coconut Magic Cookie Bars (9).jpg

And you guys probably noticed that I’m on my coconut kick and used fresh coconut in these. However, you can totally just use dried coconut shreds for this recipe and it’s also fine if they are sweetened. I prefer unsweetened but it’s up to you.

Browned Butter Toasted Coconut Magic Cookie Bars (10).jpg

If you are a fan of magic bars, or so unfortunate as to never have tried them, then you need to make these. They could change your life…..or at least make your day.

Browned Butter Toasted Coconut Magic Cookie Bars (7).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Tuscan White Bean Ravioli Tomato Soup (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Basil Lemon Meringue Pie (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Loaded Turkey Enchilada Potato Skins (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Chocolate Pancakes + Honey Sweetened Cocoa Ganache (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)(with nutrition facts!)

  5. Salted Chocolte Chip Cookie Dough Pretzel Brownies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Chipotle Hummus & Fajita Veggie Taco Salad Bowls (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Chocolate Drizzled Black Sesame Popcorn Balls (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. Tres Leche Doughnuts with Dulce de Leche Icing (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Spicy Maui Turkey Burgers + Homemade Sourdough Buns (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. How To Make S’mores Snack Mix From Scratch (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  11. Roasted Sweet Potato & Black Bean Chilaquiles (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

Browned Butter Toasted Coconut Magic Cookie Bars (4).jpg

Sort:  

it looks delicious cake
@shamuel perle peng nyo ka vot kuh hy