Chef Lorenzo's Food Blog

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Greetings

Hello Steemit community! My name is Lorenzo and I am new to this social media platform. I guess this post is my way of testing the waters to gauge interest in a food blog on the steemit platform.

My Cooking Style

I have been cooking for as long as I can remember and have always been fascinated by cuisine. Some of my fondest memories include my Nona (Italian word for Grandma) teaching me how to cook. My Nona's kitchen was capable of turning out Michelin capable cuisine along with some Gordon Ramsay style berating on my Nona's part (often directed at me for fucking up the canoli). In terms of my cooking style my roots are definitely in Italian and Mediterranean cuisine. However, through my curiosity for other cultures, I am always seeking new cuisines to explore. The most unique aspect of my cooking is that after dabbling in another culture's cuisine I take the next step to fuse one culture to another on the same dish. The result is always something new and exciting.

My Food Philosophy

My food philosophy is extremely simple; in fact it can be summarized in one word: Real. What do I mean by real food? Well real simply means the food I cook uses the freshest ingredients in their most unprocessed form (when possible). Having a "Real" food philosophy is the best way to eat right and stay in shape. The biggest challenge to this is getting the food to taste good enough to the point that a sugar crazed 5 year old would enjoy it. Folks, great tasting food doesn't need to be loaded up with sugar, salt, and fat. In many of my dishes the main flavorings are high quality spices and even the main ingredients themselves such as vegetables or fruits.

My Work

The following are my latest creations:

IMG_3834.JPG

Pictured above is my take on a French classic: Ratatouille. This version derives some influence from the Italian dish caponata as well. On top is a finger of polenta for added sustenance. Surrounding the Ratatouille on the bottom is a vinegary roasted pepper sauce. This sauce was necessary in balancing with the rich olive oil roasted vegetables.

IMG_4245.JPG

Above is my interpretation of the classic short rib. I braised the short ribs with red wine and beef stock for about 4 hours in the oven. In making the side gravy I separated the fat from the drippings and added roasted garlic for a rich yet clean sauce. My twist was the raspberry wine reduction and the parsley foam. The tart, acidic reduction paired nicely with the fattiness of the short ribs. In addition, the parsley foam added more vibrancy to the dish.

If you are interested in my food blog please show your support by up-voting my story, following me, and resteeming thank you! Also please comment and I will do my best to reply to everyone :)

Sort:  

Hello Lorenzo, I've always wanted to cook too but I just cant do it the way you guys are doing it. I get envy everytime, I see people who cook and prepare foods amazingly.

By the way, I noticed that you haven't posted an introduction post yet, suggest that you do. On that post put a picture of yourself holding a piece of paper with the word steemit, your name and date. This is not required but if you wanted to grow in the platform, this could be an advantage.

Thank you so much for the advice @juvyjabian
I believe with the right resources, anyone can learn to cook. Furthermore, I am a good resource for that :)

@juvyjabian please check out my latest blog post, thank you

it looks very yummy

Thank you so much for your feedback! Please resteem? :)

Wow ! Looks great , thanks for sharing ! As promised , upped and im now following you ! 👍💕✌

thank you for your support :)

Your welcome ! You too !!! 👍👍👍

@laslas01 - there are a few people that post recipes and such regularly that are doing very well now. @gringalicious and @allasyummyfood are examples.

Hello @scaredycatguide and thank you so much for the insight!

It looks amazing

Thank you! Please follow as I am just getting started :)

hi welcome to steemit community :-) Your food looks so mouth-watering, I would love to learn cooking and be a good cook like you hence I am not good enough , needs time and more practice to make it perfect hehe :-))

Thank you :)

you're most welcome, have a wonderful day ahead ;-))

Looks amazing @laslas01, I've followed you :-) Stop by and checkout my posts! @bruckdashel

thanks for your support :)

I look forward to seeing more food and being inspired by you!

Upvoted and followed, this looks absolutely amazing, however I do believe you should introduce yourself in an Introduction post so the community can welcome you properly to Steemit. Most people include a picture of themselves if you are comfortable doing so, but I look forward to your future food posts. Nice presentation skills. Welcome and best of success to you

thank you for the insight and I am glad your into my food :)

Yes it looks delicious you're most welcome

This is great, thanks for recommending this post.

Your very welcome

Wow it's look so delicious, ty for sharing @laslas01

no, thank you :)

Nice blog dear and you gonna be success in steemit, just be original.
Upvoted you, followed and resteem @laslas01

Thank you so much for all the support :)

Very nice intro. You should consider making an #introduceyourself post as your first tag so you reach more people here. I have some other new users tips on my wall. Good luck.

Welcome Lorenzo!
As someone mentioned, please make an introduction post in #introduceyourself. Also, you have to stop advertising yourself to a 3rd person in comments of someone's post. You can do it if you address the original poster, but make sure your comment bring some value and is related.
I know you are new so I'm sure it is not bad intentions from your side. But you could lose a lot of reputation doing that. I saw you have been flagged at least once, hence your reputation score is down to 18. If you have any questions please let me know.
Wish you best of luck. Take care!
Ciao, Daniel

Congratulations @laslas01! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

looks amazing! i love your style!!

Welcome @laslas01...following you already :)