Mango Pie | From Scratch

in #food4 years ago

Juicy, savory and delicate in every bite, this mango pie is ready to break your busy workday.
I made an apple pie once in awhile but I never think to make a deep fry pie after my husband mentioned me that he's craving for some mango pie.

main mp.jpg

Since I have some frozen fresh mango in the fridge and all other ingredients are ready to roll up, this morning I started to begin with the dough.
Because I'm not a huge fan of any shortening, I substituted with some unsalted butter in room temperature.

bd1 (2).jpg

2.5 cups of all purpose flour, 3 tbsp of butter, salt, 1 egg, 1/4 cup of sugar, 3 tbsp of butter milk or heavy cream and some water. Mix it all, add water as little as needed, kneed it until it's smooth and let it rest for 30 minutes to an hour.

Cut 2 mangos (as you need) into a small cubes, then cook with a stick of cinnamon and 3 star anise for about 20 minutes or until the juice evaporated then let it cool. mix it with some sugar.

bd1 (1).jpg

On a counter top, roll the dough and start to wrap the mango filling, use bitten egg yolk to make the dough stick, then tap all sides by using a fork.
Deep fry in hot oil over medium heat. Serve with some sprinkles of icing sugar.

mp.jpg

Juice and succulent Mango Pie.

pp.jpg

This one is Pineapple Pie, I made some pineapple jam the other day and still have some left so I wrapped an extra mini pie with pineapple jam filling.

Thank you for visiting my blog.
@lugina.

Sort:  

Looks delicious 😍😋

Mangoes are one of my favorite fruits @lugina I also eat them with rice, a very good side-dish either ripe or raw :D

Thanks ..
I've never tried mango with rice, I'll ask my philippine's friend for some recipes.

This delicious for eat