Simple & Delish Apple Cake

in #food5 years ago (edited)

I am not much of a cook.
Or baker.
Kitchen is not my favorite territory.
But I get inspired sometimes and get myself to work.
Especially if I notice there is some food that needs to be used before it goes to waste. I certainly want to avoid that!

This time, as I had some apples and eggs to use, I've decided to make some cake using those ingredients.
I came up with an idea to make a simple sponge cake with apples added. That could actually work well since I am not good at making cakes at all!!!
The idea was to simply mix apples with the sponge cake mixture and put it to bake.
Sounds simple to me!
Why not Good Old Apple Pie?!?
Because I tried to make it a few times and I failed! Yes, I did. So no more wasting of everything (food, time, electricity etc!) , thank you very much!

Here is what I used:

  • 5 apples - peeled, chopped up in small pieces
  • a handful of raisins
  • lemon zest
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 6 medium sized free range eggs
  • 150g of flour
  • 150g of sugar
  • 8g of baking powder

Baked in an electric oven on 180C for cca 50 minutes.


Peeled & chopped apples, raisins, lemon zest, cinammon powder.


Making of a sponge cake butter.


Mixing in apples & raisins.


Putting it to bake!


Out of the oven, cooled, half eaten already!

I could not imagine but writing this post made me hungry again. 😄
I might fool it with some coffee first. 😏
(Just talking out loud! Sorry!!!)

Have a wonderful day! ☺