MY NEW FAVORITE ICE CREAM TOPPING!

in #food6 years ago

Why did I wait so long to figure this out?


Ice cream is probably one of my all time favorite desserts. Above all, I usually enjoy vanilla, or vanilla bean. Chocolate chip, Mint, Cookie Dough, and others all have their place, but for some reason Vanilla is my favorite. Recently we somehow began adding toppings in a way that we never really had before.

I'm not exactly one for dumping a bunch of sugar syrup on top of ice cream, so I tend not to go the "sundae" route, but these two simple toppings have become my current favorites. Interestingly enough, this post also gave me an opportunity to try out some #foodphotography with my camera. I am really enjoying the results... and they last longer than the ice cream did!

PECANS

Crushed pecans have be a common topping as of late. I used to love the pecan pralines that some of the neighborhood ladies in New Orleans would sell and as far as nuts go, I think that they are one of my favorites. While I have had "pecan praline ice cream" before, I never really thought of adding my own as a topping. Often peanuts are added to hot fudge sundaes, but I guess that I always enjoyed plain vanilla ice cream enough that I never really tried topping it.

As an added bonus, Pecans are a healthy choice too. Pecans can help boost brain, bone and heart health, and also contain many vitamins and minerals including vitamin A, vitamin E, potassium, calcium, magnesium, and phosphorus. I like foods that are tasty and good for you!

SHREDDED COCONUT

This one has now become my absolute favorite ice cream topping. I like coconut anyway, but mixed in with ice cream it is even better. I think that the flavor compliments the vanilla well, and the texture of the dried coconut adds another layer to the dessert as well. When added with the crunchy pecans, it is a great treat. These two topping also work well together when the ice cream is soft and they can be stirred in.

Coconut is another healthy option too, as they are known to be a beneficial source of several vitamins and minerals. With a helpful amount of things like potassium, calcium, and magnesium, coconut is a great snack even on its own.

Again, I really enjoy the shredded coconut as an ice cream topping right now. I'm even having ice cream more often just so that I can enjoy the toppings. I think that it is a simple "recipe" to make the dessert just a little more healthy and tasty. Have any of you ever tried shredded coconut as a topping for ice cream? If not, would you? Also, what is your favorite ice cream topping, if you have one?

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-coconut

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Coconut flakes, great idea! My current favs are peanut butter and raw cacao. The salt from the peanut butter cuts down on the sweetness of the ice cream. And raw cacao, well is just the right amount of bitter, with awesome health benefits. Good ways to turn ice cream into a nourishing tradition ;)

yuumy

Okay, we will head down that way once we finish our bowls up here!

Yum! We will have to plan a family ice cream topping event. Though preferably when the temps are above freezing :p

You're making me want more ice cream!! Just had some this afternoon, my favourite toppings are caramel fudge and cookie dough....delish! :)

That sounds great!

Ever tried coconut ice cream? There's a thai grandma ice cream.....coconut ice cream, peanuts on top and warm sticky rice underneath. You'd probably dig it.

Never had the chance.

Well shit! We've gotta find you some.

Try toasting the pecans and the coconut ;-)

I can almost taste that!

You will never go back to plain...

I agree with you on that @weetreebonsai!!!

Yummy, good choice!
I was just visiting Denmark and enjoyed licorice crumble topping :)

Oh wow! That sounds amazing! I love licorice!

Try out pistachios or almond toppings as well, so good! Sometimes I just put a scoop of peanut butter as well mmm

That sounds great! Thanks for the tip!

For an instant I thought you were gonna say parmesan cheese, which I think it might actually be good, I'm quite the ice cream maker myself and my all time favorite is vanilla bean, not plain like people might think but full of complexity

Yes, vanilla bean is at the very top of my list! A wonderful flavor.... especially with cheese. LOL!

I can see where it looked like it!

I've actually had cheese ice cream, it's good!

When I clicked I totally thought he was going to say cheese!!! I’m really glad it wasn’t!!!

LOL! - I'm glad too!

wow what a beautiful ice cream, make me wanna eat them ...more of this please my dear wild man and greetings to your tribe.

Feel free to see my latest post on how I caught a thief using kingscrown name to scam people...your advise is needed on how to stop such issue...blessings to you.

yummy tasty and delicious Hope it is easy to cook happy new year

Oh my. You are really giving those new years resolutions a hard time @papa-pepper 😉

Right, I forgot about those. Sorry folks.

Mmmm... se ve delicioso! Me dio hambre 🤣

Somos dos

Wish I could have this.. I have water in my mouth please share this with me :)

OMG! i loooove ice cream too! and coconut is indeed a yummy fruit. which is very abundant here in the Philippines, we also call it the tree of life coz almost every part of the tree has a purpose.

Wow looks tasty 😋😋....nextime i get an icecream ill sprinkle some coconut flakes and eat it all alone (no disturbance ) 😭😭😭

Uyyyy eso si se ve delicioso 😋

hmmm... it looks really yami

It really is! Thanks @monjan!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 05:43:04
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 5.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Yummy looking. Control impossible.

Yammy post @papa-peeper

By reading your post my mouth get tweeted.

ice cream one of my favorite foods. what can I ask for his recipe, I see the ice cream you post is very delicious

very tasty food make me look at her @papa-pepper, i will upvote and resteemed.

Looking soo yummmmmmmy dear thanks for sharing this with us keep it up I always wait for you post

@papa-pepper you are not alone, for me, vanilla flavour is one of the best things that can happen to my taste buds. It's a delight for most people I guess.

I like the way that you put that! Well said!

The ice cream looks very yummy, @papa-pepper.

Man you got some tasty looking puddings there!
AND health tips too! . . .
I one of those will be great for breakfast today but I think I'll add a few soft fried eggs with ketchup and black pepper to the dish!!!

What's the topping right above the vanilla cream and below the coconut adding?

I googled to check pecans, and it seems it's not available in our side. I could neither find a Nepali name for the same.

Besides vanilla, I am also fond of pistachio taste in the cream.

Pecans are a type of tree nut in the hickory family.

I got to check more about this nut. Thanks for that information.

I’ve been avoiding dairy lately, but this looks good! I love pecans on salads so I’m sure I could get behind them in ice cream!

Thankfully, I found that Ben & Jerry’s makes an amazing (like on par with regular ice cream) almond milk “ice cream”—peanut butter and chocolate flavour. So, yeah, I’m kind of obsessed!

Very cool! Nice job Mr. Ben and Mr. Jerry to take care of that for you ahead of time! Nice!

ice cream very tasty. I really like that ice cream

Yes sir!! :-)

We do lots of vanilla ice cream here with toppings. When you have a family of 5 you need to find a common denominator and build from there. I think coconut will be going into the rotation!

delicious ice cream @papa-pepper I want to taste it.

Toasted wheat germ is good too. Family tradition for generations. :)

That sounds good. I just had some toasted sorghum for breakfast recently.

Mmm coconut! My favorite is vanilla bean as well. I went to Mexico 2 years ago and their ice cream was awesome. I regret not buying some of their vanilla before we came home.

I brought back a lot of vanilla last time! @allforthegood.... @essentialoilmom.... @mericanhomestead.... @
xtdnrymompreneur... I gave a lot of gifts away when we got back.

Without looking it up but I believe the US regulates how much milk fat that can be in ice cream, most other countries don't do this making their ice cream taste better than we have here!

That would not surprise me. As always, making it yourself usually yields best results!

Good idea. Looks delicious. I'll definitely try this.

love organic much! It looks yummy, definitely try this this weekend, even it's winter right now! Thanks for sharing this awesome organic dessert!

I like the shredded #coconut @papa-pepper! Good post!

Looks tasty. I was kind of hoping that based on your name it would have been pepper topping of some sort.

My wife got me into using Cacao powder on my vanilla ice cream.

Not a topping, but a flavor of ice cream that I really enjoy is Snoqualmie brand's Blueberry and Cardamom. It sounded weird, but after the first bite I was hooked. Too bad it doesn't come in the large tubs.

looks very good friend

Reading this had just let me with an whim for chocolate ice cream with peanuts as topping

Now everyone who knows me, know that I'm not one to politely turn down ice cream when it's being served to the kids as a treat at gatherings, especially vanilla ice cream! Am a big coconut fan myself but never thought of using it as an ice cream topping, sure going to try it @papa-pepper! Toasted coconut would be even yummier :)

Let me know what you think!

Woow amazing

This is gonna be bomb when i get stoned lol, thanks mate

Ice cream :) i liked ice creams but now a days it is winter thats why can't eat.;)😋

Solera steady @ papa-pepper .. but we can only see it .. So we are in a remote village with town .. If want ice cream that so we hard to get her .. Except young coconut.

@papa-pepper I'm a coconut oil freak lol. I love using coconut oil on: sking (as lotion) a bit goes long ways. Hair, put on my hair the night before washing it. Coffee, 1/2 tbs to help maintain steady energy. On toast :)' ... on face for makeup removing .... I think this is it for now :D

Now craving icecream at 8 in the morning, thanks 😃

There are 2 pages
Pages