TURNING BREAKFAST BURRITOS INTO KID-FRIENDLY HAND-HELDS

in #food6 years ago

This is an easy way to do it!


We had another gathering with some of the neighbors for breakfast again recently. I wanted to make something tasty and good, but hoped for leftovers too, and wanted it to be kid-friendly.

If you saw my post last week featuring my Beef Brisket Breakfast Burritos then you’ll know that I like a tasty breakfast. However, breakfast burritos can be a little difficult for small children for a few reasons. For one, they can unroll and everything can fall out. Also, once they are bit into, the scrambled eggs and other things may try to make a break for it. This week, I went a different route to see if I couldn’t solve these problems.

CHILD-FRIENDLY BREAKFAST HAND-HELD BURRITOS

INGREDIENTS

Keep in mind, this is a recipe for 40 hand-held “burritos.” Yes, forty, really!

  • 40 Small Flour Tortillas
  • 20 Eggs
  • 40 Pieces of Pepper-jack Cheese
  • 20 Slices of Beef

Begin frying the eggs in a pan, breaking the yolk to make sure it cooks thoroughly.


Begin heating the tortillas on a griddle.


Get the slices and pepper-jack cheese and beef ready. Halve the beef slices and heat them in a separate pan.


To prepare the hand-helds, place a slice of cheese on each tortilla, and then add a half egg and a half slice of beef.


Fold each side into the center to wrap the contents with the tortilla. The finished result should be square in shape once all four sides are folded in.


Heat the hand-helds with the folded side down. This will help it to keep its shape once finished and make it easier to eat than if it popped back open.


Brown the other side of the hand-held as well. Then remove them from the griddle and serve.


WHAT AND WHY?

The idea originally was presented to me when a fast food restaurant, I think Burger King, added “breakfast burritos” to their breakfast menu. I had ordered one, and then was shocked at what I saw. Basically, they just took the square egg, square cheese, and round sausage patty from their regular breakfast sandwiches and wrapped it in a tortilla, that happened to be square when they were done with it.

At the time, I wasn’t sure what to think. Now, though, I have my reasons. By keeping the egg intact, other than cutting it in half, rather than scrambling it, it is less likely to escape the tortilla, even after it is bitten. Additionally, by placing a solid half slice of beef on top of the cheese and egg prior to folding and heating the tortilla, it acts as a barrier to help keep the other ingredients intact. If the cheese was last, it would melt and leak out when the folded side of the tortilla was heated.

By ordering the ingredients this way and by folding the tortilla this way, the ingredients do an amazing job of staying in place, even as the hand-held is eaten. Check out that one in the photo above.

Also, unlike my 30 burritos last week that all disappeared before the day was done, apparently 40 of these was a good number, because we had enough to cover breakfast the next day! I love it when breakfast is already made!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-little-hand-held-“burritos”

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

This idea is good for a brunch bbq party! I would use different fillings and voila you can even make it more gourmet! Thanks for sharing :)

Awesome, very smart!! Thanks for sharing @papa-pepper! Those beef slices look AMAZING!

Thank you for checking it out!

The pepper jack cheese and beef is a deadly combo...

I love the kitchen you are in!! My mother has always wanted one of those flat grilling surfaces!

These breakfast burritos look delicious and good call with the pepper jack cheese!

Thanks man! I was just thinking about you.

You're welcome! I hope you and the family had a Merry Christmas! My girlfriend got some 1 million scoville pepper extract that was delicious! It made me think of you!! :D

I like it too, I'm moving into an apartment actually now that has one of those, can't wait!

That is sweet! The next place I live I want one of those!!

Since you like to experience with new things. Have you ever thought about making arepas or empanadas? They are typical food of South America but very easy to make.

You can add them a little bit of sugar and after frying them, fill them with cheese and it’s delicious.

Whoa, the way you explained it makes me want to try it, sadly I can't get the ingredients here 😐 well nice work, thanks for sharing. Wishing you a prosperous new year, more life.

wow the dish is a delicious fella. Enjoy

Dear pal, massive accumulation. I am a totally destitute boy, if you revolutionize a say, as well as I have benefited each and every one much. I am in the entire financial problems, you can overcome this disturb, come going on plus the child maintenance for me a tiny sympathy by now this lead. @papa-pepper

food is very tasty @papa-pepper, I really like about your food.

Looks yummie! Wonder if you could make a big batch and freeze them?

You sure could.

Might give that a try, my guys would love an easy to grab/fix/hold/eat breakie 😁

I love a good "power breakfast." Double the protein with the egg and beef. Double the power!

My kids love breakfast burritos. This is a great way to make them so they don't fall apart! Thanks for the idea!

Breakfast efficiency!!!

wow @papa-pepper can also be a chef, amazing

LOL OK that made me hungry! Guess I will need to give this one a try!

Nice tips from @papa-pepper

I hope you can share many useful this for us

I would be glad to resteem your post, let me resteem your post

wow this is very delicious my friend @papa-pepper,

Awesome idea! I may have to try this!
We do love our breakfast burritos here, but like you said, the scrambled eggs fall out. I like to just eat mine with a fork, but the littles like to pick them up and it is quite messy.
Thanks for the great idea!!

Unbelievable I like the photos, you I also definitely follow you because you are a successful person in steemit, and I also hope you follow me, I want you to post my photos, thanks for you

A great idea. I am wondering what would happen if you made a omlet without folding it and then cut it into squares. I guess I will have to try it and see what happens.

good post friends. delicious and tasty I like that food. please support my upvote resteem friend @aamaksal.

eso se ve delicioso y facil de preparar pero... en venezuela no se consigue algunas cosas! suerte

Amazing Papa -pepper I will try your recipe for sure!

Oh wow, now I'm hungry...

I enjoyed the read. I'm an old country poet from central Louisiana now living south of Bham Al. I'm looking around trying to find a place to fit in here. I saw that you are from Arkansas and have some interesting post so it felt like home. I don't have the photo skills to enter the contest but I will follow and resteem cause it looks like you do good work. Peace and Love and Liberty.

Awesome idea, @papa-pepper! I like this idea even for adults and use a larger tortilla and perhaps some hot peppers added to the mix. I imagine that these could be frozen and reheated too, if the need arose. But my family, much like yours love burritos and they would likely be gone in the first sitting! I have a large family!

Man those look tasty and awesome! You have some of the best ideas brother! God Bless!

Thanks man! I appreciate you saying so!

Just in time for Christmas. Love burritos. Got to try this sometime.

It looks really delicious

Thank you, we all really enjoyed them!

Nice @papa-pepper..... I like you..

Wow very smart post....loved it thank you for showing the procedure of making it will surely try someday.

You think like I do! Great recipe, Papa!

This is a fantastic idea. My boys would certainly love this as I bet it ain't messy to eat and tasty too. Thank you for sharing :-)