Twin Cities Taco Tour - Taqueria La Hacienda

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Taqueria La Hacienda makes the bold claim to have the best tacos al pastor in Minnesota. Do they live up to their self-hype? Let's find out.

This taqueria started from humble beginnings in a small Mexican mall's food court. It's now slightly larger, having two more independent locations just down the street and in Burnsville, a Minneapolis suburb. They also operate a food truck. You can't be successful in this business without making good food, so growth is a good sign.

The Place

The front door of the standalone Minneapolis restaurant is tucked away behind the local main east-west drag called Lake Street, sharing a parking lot with a bank. It's easy to miss if you don't know it's there. It is connected in the back to a street-facing building and shares a couple bathrooms with it.

This is a fast-casual counter serve Mexican joint. On the menu are tacos, quesadillas, burritos, tortas, alambres, soups (on the weekends), and platters. There are also juices and horchata. I'm here for the tacos of course, but I may stop back for the alambres. Behind the counter, at the back of the food prep area, is an actual trompo or spit of al pastor meat. The restaurant is clean and bright. As you can see they use festively painted chairs and tiled tables which is an awesome touch. The wait time from ordering to getting the food was quick.

The bathrooms as mentioned before are shared with the attached building, and you need to ask the cashier to press an unlock button behind the counter to get in. The men's room is clean and adequate. The tables and floor are kept clean. The last two times I've been here there have been local cops eating there, also a good sign in my opinion since they know the neighborhood well.

The Tacos


Left to right: carne asada, barbacoa, al pastor. Presented as served

Carne asada

I usually won't get carne asada because it's usually too boring, but I gave theirs a try. Sometimes restaurants can do it better than average, but the only one I know that did is gone (before I could do a review, drats!). The meat did turn out to be a bit boring. The meat was pretty tender though the marinade is weak and it could be better with a bit more grill-added crisp. With the jalapeño salsa verde I asked for, the taco was much better.

The tortillas used are on the small side but are fresh, soft, and are grilled with just the right amount of oil to bring out the best in them. The tacos were served with a ho-hum red salsa and a single lime wedge.

Barbacoa

The barbacoa here is a roasted and shredded beef that is tasty and tender. It has a juicy sauce that is incredibly rich with a sweet tomato flavor. No salsa is needed to augment the flavor on this one. It's a great filling for a taco. The fresh onions and cilantro melt into the meat and sauce stew and balance the flavor wonderfully.

Al pastor

Ok here's La Hacienda's bread and butter, the pineapple and chili marinated pork known as al pastor. The color and texture are promising.

click4extremecloseup

And it delivers. The first bite to the last is tender and moist meat. The flavor of the marinade melding with the pork makes it very savory. The smell is just as pleasing. The meat isn't as sweet as other places' al pastor, but no matter, it still tastes excellent. The texture is a little bit crispy. It could be crispier but if overdone would detract more from the meat than being underdone. The salsa verde goes well with the pastor meat in small amounts. Overall, the pastor here is slightly off perfect for my own tastes but that's an achievement. It's well above the average taqueria!

Conclusion

Adding it up, I've had a middle of the road "meh" carne asada, a unique and delicious barbacoa, and an upper-tier al pastor taco on this visit. The value of the tacos is average. They cost $1.90 plus tax each but are slightly smaller than other taquerias' tacos. I did find that I got an ample amount of al pastor meat but there was room for more carne asada in the small corn tortilla shells. I ordered three when I would have had a more satisfying meal with four. The restaurant's flagship al pastor meat is great but I'm not sure I'd call it the best in the state. Something should be said for it actually coming off a rotating spit. It's damn good though, so I can't blame them for making the claim!

4 ½ Pineapple Piggies out of 5


#tctacotour - #pfunkblog

Sort:  

Hum, I just had a huge and very delicious taco salad yesterday. This post definitely reminds me of its goodness. Thanks for sharing and namaste :)

You're welcome Eric! Have many more delicious taco anythings :D

That Al Pastor looks great, you can usually tell with a marinade if it has that bright orangey redness that it's gonna be good!

Yeah, the red just solidifies the experience as like eating candy meat. Did you click the meat shot by the way? :D

Haha, I hadn't but just did!! Extreme close up!!! Lol

Ummmm... I miss tacos and Mexican food. Looks good!

Oh yes. And it is good! Where's the closest Mexican restaurant to you?

Actually, there's one that's pretty close to me, but I've never been. My normal routine doesn't bring me by it very often, so I always forget that it's there.

Nice review! Sounds like a very cheap meal to me, wow!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Thank you @kus-knee! Yeah fairly cheap for the deliciousness I suppose. Maybe I'm just spoiled.

Ugh, I'm hungry now! 😊 My wife and I need to try this place. We tried Jefe in St. Anthony Park on Sunday. It was pretty good, portion sizes were on the small side for the price though. I got the chicken tinga tacos. The margarita was decent too.

Thanks for the reminder of El Jefe! Another Twin Citizen told me about Catrina's. Their Google review score is crazy high, there might be something to it. There's one in Oakdale and one in NE Minneapolis.

RS and UV!

Of course I scoured the post looking for the #ScovilleUnit factor from you lol. I am starving now, like I want these really bad.

I am getting pounded by snow likely like you. Great photos in here too. I would sleepwalk all the way there hoping to find you, these tacos and your homemade jerry rigged hotsauce/ketchup any day!

Thank you! Well this meal wasn't too spicy. The jalapeño salsa was the only thing to provide a little capsaicin. Stay tuned though. Got another sriracha post coming up.

I cannot wait til the Tag Notification on here comes along, feel free to tag me in every one of your posts that has the least bit of .... heat to it brother lol.

Have a nice weekend!!

Thanks, you too

the food was delicious, good friend