Food Prep Sunday - Chili

in #food7 years ago

I recently bought a place, so I'm gonna have to pack lunch and cut out eating out for awhile.
That being said... My budget goal for food lunch this week was initially $20. Needless to say, I went over that goal ($80) and chalked it up to initial set up cost.

Groceries breakdown:

  • Protein - 500g Pork belly - $11.22 (ground beef was about $12/150g... so yea, not happening.)
  • Bell Peppers x 2 - 2.99
  • Black Pepper grinder - $7.90
  • Himalayan Salt grinder -$7.90
  • Paprika - $4.09
  • Condensed Beef Stock x 5 pack - $3.99
  • Cherry Tomatoes - $5.99 (Couldn't find plum tomatoes, and didn't feel like buying canned tomatoes)
  • 3 small onions and handful of green peppers - $2.00
  • Kidney beans (canned) - $2.69 (I know, I know... the guy who won't buy canned tomatoes but buys canned beans...)

The Total : $ 48.77 ($77.67 if you include the stainless steel food jar I bought to carry around and keep my lunch warm)

Food Prep

IMG_0069.JPG

So, since I couldn't afford to buy ground beef, I assumed I could just grind up my own pork in a blender. (My blender had a hard time, so I resorted to chopping up part of the batch by hand). And I had some ginger lying around drying up, so I just ground that up and mixed it with the pork. I have yet to find out if I will regret this decision.

IMG_0070.JPG

Chopped up the veggies

IMG_0071.JPG

Cooked in pot for on medium heat till the onions turned yellowish.

IMG_0072.JPG

Threw in the pork and cooked till I wasn't sure if it was fully cooked.

IMG_0073.JPG

Then I added the cherry tomatoes, that I halved... about 40 of em.

IMG_0074.JPG

The recipe I referred to called for Chicken broth. Couldn't find anything resembling chicken broth in the Korean store. I settled for concentrated beef stock, which I have yet to find out if I will regret using. I mean what could go wrong?

IMG_0076.JPG

Korean pepper flakes (gochugaru) so that we get that nice red orange color. Threw in Salt, Pepper, and Paprika. Simmered for 20 minutes.

IMG_0077.JPG

All done.

The Taste Test

So all in all I did alright I guess.... The ginger was a nice touch, but I kinda over did it I guess. I had put a thumb sized chunk of ginger (a whole thumb, meaning like 2 notches) in there after all..

Didn't taste as rich as I'd thought it would. I'm contemplating putting in another packet of that beef stock... Meh I'm gonna do it...