Easy 5 Minute Tostada Recipe – Gluten Free, Wheat Free

in #food4 years ago

One of the things that make clean eating so easy for me is being prepared.  My fridge is so full of food containers all the time.  If  I didn’t have yummy stuff ready to heat and eat, this eating lifestyle wouldn’t work for me.

I have a tendency to get so involved in writing or simple techy stuff in my internet business that I forget to eat until I’m famished and ready to go on a feeding frenzy.  I’m sure you’ve been there.

Well, today was no exception.  It hit me like a ton of bricks.   I needed to eat.  As I opened the fridge, there was a variety of quick and easy things to throw together.  I chose healthy gluten-free, wheat-free tostadas.

Here’s why it’s so quick and easy…

I always have browned seasoned ground turkey cooked.  I season this with my “house seasoning” which consists of generic steak seasoning, onion powder, and garlic powder. I grind all of this together in my coffee spice grinder and use it on absolutely everything I cook.  Then salt and pepper to taste.

I also always have some kind of beans cooked as well.  I love pinto beans because they are versatile and have a very creamy texture. Great to eat alone or to add to lots of things protein and filler.





Then, of course, there’s my quick homemade salsa – I use petite diced tomatoes in a can, finely chopped cilantro. Then lay it out flat in a ziplock and freeze it. I always have fresh herbs all year long. 

A couple of times a week I use coconut oil to fry a few organic corn tortillas and store them in a Ziploc in the cupboard.  I break them up to use as chips with salsa, make healthy nachos or in place of bread sometimes. There’s a variety of ways I use them.

So, after poking my head in the fridge, I decided to eat tostadas for lunch.  Here’s my ridiculously easy recipe:

Remember, I rarely measure unless baking.

Approx. 

- 1/2 C.  browned turkey

- 1/4 C. cooked beans

- 1/4 C. salsa

- shredded cheese

- Cumin and chili powder to taste

Stir the turkey, beans, salsa, cumin and chili powder together in a microwave-safe bowl and heat. Stirring a few times as it heats.

Sprinkle with shredded cheese, serve with corn tortillas.

Enjoy!

_________________________

If you are a diabetic, remember the carbs! Because there are both beans and tortillas in this meal, be mindful of them.  Here’s how it breaks down

Carbs:

- Ground turkey – 0

- 1/4 C pinto beans – 22

- 1 organic corn tortillas – 11

- Shredded cheese – 0

- Homemade salsa – 2