Awesome Salad Rolls with Spicy Garlicky Creamy Dip

in #food7 years ago

Salad Rolls with Spicy Garlicky Creamy Dip IMG_2879.JPG

You HAVE to try these awesome salad rolls!

Every time I make these, everyone loves them.

They're totally convenient - bite sized. (Or two).

Plus, they're stunningly gorgeous. All by themselves. (No plating experience required.)

I happened to make these salad rolls last night, and remembered to take some photos, (umm taking photos is HARD when you're cooking by yourself!)

The garlicky dressing / dipping sauce?

Heavenly. Luscious. Oh so yummy.

And perfect for these warm summer days. (No slaving over a hot stove required!).

I'm an avid foodie / YouTube Viewer, and I first saw these on hot-thai-kitchen.com's YouTube site: Pailin'sKitchen.

I made it that day, and was hooked.

Definitely watch her video first.

Then you can go shopping afterwards, with her printed recipe in hand.

The ingredients list isn't all that hard to find:

  • Vietnamese Rice Paper (I found this in the asian supermarket, but you can pretty readily find this in the asian aisle of most supermarkets). I had never used this before, but it was extremely easy to use. Just have to be somewhat quick. Like I suggested, definitely watch the video first).

  • Dipping Sauce: garlic, dried red chilies (1-2), sweetened condensed milk, lime, salt, and good mayonnaise
    * (I doubled the amounts, since I never seem to have enough dipping sauce)

  • "The Filling" - You can basically use pretty much anything. But, the "base" vegetables are usually baby salad greens, cucumbers cut into 3 inch sticks, and julienned carrots.

This time I used:

  • Thinly sliced cucumbers, carrots, jicama (for an added crunch), spinach leaves, arugula, red lettuce leaves, sprigs of cilantro, imitation crab (sliced thinly lengthwise), and smoked salmon. (oh yes, and an addition of some pickled ginger that I had left over from another recipe).

    (Basically, I may have thrown in the kitchen sink).

Here are some of my photos when I made them!
IMG_2871.jpg
IMG_2872.jpgIMG_2880.jpg

Anyways, definitely, try these!

I would LOVE to see how yours turns out!!

Here's hot thai kitchen's video below!

Sort:  

awesome!!! Love the pictures these look great!!

Hey thank you! Let me know if you make these!