In The Kitchen -Morrocan Lamb Stew

in #food6 years ago

I have quite a few standard dishes which I enjoy making, and as we have just come out of winter these are basically dishes I have already covered , such as Spicy Lentil Soup, Fresh Tomato Soup, Basil Pesto Roast Chicken, Smoked Chicken and my signature dish Lamb Stew so I have been quiet on the cooking front.

This past weekend I really felt like cooked food as the salads and pasta dishes are getting a bit tedious already (hot, dry weather being the order of the day here) so I made an awesomely delicious Moroccan Lamb Stew….


Imgur

I will as usual just give a breakdown of what I did without exact amounts as I do not usually follow a recipe. However I cannot take the credit for this awesome dish as I found this recipe on themeditarraneandish, where you can get all the details as to quantity etc.


Imgur


The main ingredient, beautiful free ranging lamb from my boss’s farm, knuckle and shin


Imgur


1- Beef Stock 2- Himalayan Salt and Black pepper 3- Tomato and Onion mix
4- Chopped Carrots and Potatoes 5- Chopped Onions, Garlic and fresh Rosemary from the garden 6- Chickpeas 7- Chopped dried Apricots 8- Spices (see recipe)

Imgur

I made my own version of Ras El Hanout after googling a substitute

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit

I heated some olive and coconut oil in a heavy based oven proof pot and sauteed the onions, garlic, potatoes and carrots for 5 minutes and removed from pot.


Imgur

Add oil if required and brown the meat well.


Imgur

At this stage add the spices and stir to coat, then pour in the stock, tomatoes and apricots and bring to the boil over a medium heat and allow to simmer for 5 minutes, then place in the oven.

Imgur

Cook for 1.5 hours, checking at regular intervals that the dish does not dry out. I added some stock after an hour as I was a bit concerned it was going to be too dry. After the time is up, add in the chickpeas and return to the oven for 30 minutes


Imgur


Voila, the food...she is cooked !!


Imgur


We served it with a jasmine rice and a side salad

This is really and truly a stunning dish. I was concerned the spices were too little for the amount of meat but that fear was unfounded.

Big bonus is there was plenty to spare so last night @fempower made us this delicious meal...and it tasted even better than the first night

Imgur

Moroccan Stew Pies - nyummy!!

Thanks for reading and the continued support. I must confess the amount of work doing this for $2’s is difficult to motivate.

Sort:  

Love a good Morrocan dish, and using stew leftovers in open top pies is a great idea.

As for the work:reward balance, it's certainly tough with the depressed price at the moment. And those that don't cook don't realise how much goes in to making a post with pictures during production as it kind of breaks up the normal flow of cooking.

I'm just hoping my posts are at least building my future readers for when things are better

And with a decent response like yours...... I can only go and check your blog out !! Thanks for taking the time to read and comment. {thinks}...Ah, what the hell...100% comment upvote

you're welcome, and thank you :)

Looks everything is Yummy and Delicious ! Mouth watering my friend !!

nice pecture
great post

Great post, and instructions.
The amount minnows earn on posts, is nothing.
You are doing VERY well to get $2.
I am hopeful this is being looked at.
So many new users get turned off by the disconnect between whales & minnows.
The Steem platform are the losers in the end, they just have not realised it yet!

I have been contributing for more than a year... original content.... 2 dollars shared with curators does not make it worth my while... My time is more important than that. So let the minnows also pay their dues ....

I agree & have been saying so
My view is for each "author" there needs to be 10 or 100 "viewers"
ie the number of viewers needs to grow for the platform to work
otherwise it is just a top heavy $$ pyramid the same as MSM.

The value of votes should be 10-20% to author & 80-90% shared between viewers.
Authors earn via volume or viewers.
Viewers earn by reviewing/commenting / participating
ie the flipped version of MSM

The only way I can see this happening or starting to happen is to stop whales voting wales so whales can earn for basically (in many cases) Sh!t posts of zero value, all due to bot voting.
So much minnow content is a great read. But with zero rewards & such slow growth they don't post very often after the first few.
this means we end up with single pic posts or YT links with zero value added. ie more cr@p clogging the chain. All the while the whales keep promoting the concept of "post great blogs & earn" .....
blogs are so 1990's anyhow. Who will really care in 2,5,10 years what someone ate for breakfast anyhow?

Despite a GREAT basic concept, that could really be HUGE, Steem does not seem to have current 'direction' that is sustainable IMHO.

Time will tell.

You make some good points. I personally do not believe that Steemit can scale to millions of users. It is evident that the comments and replies are not kept in the same place as the blog account.... the feed for those always takes a while to catch up.
Also yes, the ability to retain quality content posters is low in the current format.

I do a similar recipe based on a lamb tagine recipe. Except I replace the lamb with venison, and use pumpkin or swede as the starchy veges as we can't do potatoes. I use cashews instead of the almonds in the original recipe. So it has venison, onions, pumpkin, carrots, maybe some swede, cashews, grated fresh ginger, cinnamon, dried apricots or prunes or both, some beef stock. Actually if I have to be completely honest, by the time I finish with it, it has only the vaguest resemblance to the original or to yours! But 6 -8 hours in the crockpot, it's good the first night and better the second night. Those pies look yum. That's one thing I miss, is a nice pie. GF ones are not that easy to find.

Hmmmm, venison and morrocan spices definitely a good fit. What is a swede? As opposed to a Swede being a native of Sweden .....

Also known as a rutabaga

OK, I shall google images of a rutabaga...

Morroccan flavors are so good. I love the way they use fruit in their dishes, so tasty.

Thanks for a wonderful post with photos. I prefer to cook without exact recipes as well. Obviously, I can't bake! LOL

I upvoted, resteemed and shared your post on twitter. Followed you too, @themagus. Wonderful to meet you.

Thank you kindly for the actions you took, and for taking the time out to comment. Much appreciated.