Food for thought #2 - Our inability to deal with failure

in #foodforthought2 years ago

This post was written in English and Portuguese


Source

(EN)

Failure is a word that carries a very heavy load of bad feelings in our society. Failing is bad. It's instantly associated with incapability, incompetence, lack of skill and all sorts of bad traits that can be attributed to people.

Having worked in education for some years now, I can't help but question all this negative aura that society created around failure. Failing is a fundamental step for learning and development. In fact, as one of my life mentors like to say:

The first step at being good at something is being really bad at it

image.png

Of course, it's natural to feel bad when we fail at something because it means we're not getting something we wanted but I found out that often we are more affected by the act of failing itself rather than the outcome of the situation.

Let me tell a story that happened to me to try and illustrate my point.

I was recently approached by a company that wanted to interview me for a job. I wasn't and am not actively looking for a new job but I thought I'd listen to what they had to say because I wouldn't lose anything by doing so.

Right after the first interview, it was clear enough that the job wasn't for me. The scope of the work wasn't something that I see myself doing, the pay was ok, but nothing exceptional and I wouldn't have the flexibility of working from home as I do now. Hard pass.

However, they kept advancing me through the process and for some reason I kept talking to them even though I was decided I wouldn't take the job if they offered it to me. At one point, I even cancelled an interview minutes before it was scheduled and when I thought they would give up on me, they told me they understood and would reschedule the interview to a date that was more suitable to me.

That went on for a while and when I got to the final stage of the hiring process, they sent me an email saying they were thankful for my interest but unfortunately they were moving on with someone else. And that's when things got weird because I was devastated by that email LOL

Look at how bizarre the whole thing is:

  • I was interviewing for a job I 100% did not want
  • I even tried to sabotage myself so I wouldn't get the job
  • I didn't get the job
  • I felt miserable

image.png

Source

I spent a good amount of time on a process that I didn't even want to be just because I needed to prove to myself that I was good enough to get a job I didn't want and when I failed at doing so, I felt like a failure.

Fortunately, while I was pondering this whole situation to write this post, I realized how ridiculous the whole situation was my sadness didn't last more than a couple of hours but the alarming lesson I learned from this whole ordeal is this:

We need to change our relationship with failure and the way we deal with it.

And that's it for this subject. I hope it helped you to reflect on how you deal with your failures and perhaps change your relationship with that concept as well. If it did, please consider upvoting and reblogging this article.


(PT)

Fracassar é uma palavra que carrega uma pesada carga de sentimentos ruins em nossa sociedade. Fracassar é ruim. O fracasso é instantaneamente associado com incapacidade, incompetência, falta de habilidade e todo tipo de traços ruins que podem ser atribuídos a uma pessoa.

Tendo trabalhado com educação por alguns anos, eu não consigo deixar de questionar toda essa aura negativa que a sociedade criou em torno do fracasso. Fracassar é um passo fundamental para o aprendizado e o desenvolvimento. Aliás, um dos meus mentores de vida gosta de dizer:

O primeiro passo para ser bom em alguma coisa é ser muito ruim nessa coisa

image.png

É claro, é natural nos sentirmos mal quando fracassamos em algo porque isso significa que não conseguimos algo que queríamos mas eu percebi que em muitos casos nós somos mais afetados pelo ato de fracassar em si do que pelo resultado da situação.

Deixe-me contar uma história que aconteceu comigo para tentar ilustrar meu ponto.

Recentemente, eu fui abordado por uma empresa que queria me entrevistar para um emprego. Eu não estava, e não estou, ativamente buscando por um emprego novo mas eu achei que deveria ouvir o que else tinham a dizer porque eu não tinha nada a perder com isso.

Logo na primeira entrevista já ficou claro que o emprego não era para mim. O escopo de trabalho não era algo que eu me via fazendo, o salário era ok, mas nada excepcional e eu não teria a flexibilidade de trabalhar de casa que tenho hoje. Não, obrigado.

No entanto, else continuaram me avançando nas etapas do processo e, por alguma razão, eu continuava falando com eles mesmo já tendo decidido que não aceitaria o emprego se eles me oferecessem. Em certo ponto eu até mesmo cancelei uma entrevista alguns minutos antes do horário agendado e quando pensei que eles e desistiriam de mim, eles me disseram que compreendiam e que remarcariam a entrevista em uma data que era do meu agrado.

Isso continuou por um tempo e quando eu cheguei na etapa final do processo, eles me mandaram um email dizendo que estavam gratos pelo meu interesse mas que infelizmente seguiriam com outra pessoa. E foi então que as coisas ficaram estranhas porque eu fiquei devastado com aquele email LOL

Veja como a coisa toda é bizarra:

  • Eu estava fazendo entrevistas para um emprego que eu 100% não queria
  • Eu até mesmo tentei me auto-sabotar para não ficar com o emprego
  • Eu não consegui o emprego
  • Eu me senti acabado

image.png

Source

Eu passei um bom tempo em um processo onde eu nem queria estar apenas porque eu precisava provar para mim mesmo que eu era bom o suficiente para conseguir um emprego que eu não queria e quando eu fracassei nisso, me senti mal.

Felizmente, enquanto eu ponderava toda essa situação, eu percebi o quão ridícula ela era e minha tristeza não durou mais do que algumas poucas horas mas a lição alarmante que eu tirei disso tudo foi:

Nós precisamos mudar nossa relação com o fracasso e o modo como lidamos com ele.

E isso é tudo sobre esse tema. Eu eséro que esse post tenha te ajudado a refletir sobre como você lida com seus fracassos e talvez mudar sua relação com esse conceito também. Se sim, por favor, considere votar e "rebloggar" esse artigo.

Sort:  

E como nós mesmos nos maltratamos com esses pensamentos de fracasso. Tem que ter uma inteligência emocional pra lidar com isso as vezes né!?

Fracassar é algo normal e todos vão passar por isso em algum momento, porém, da pra aprender muito com isso e pra mim as melhores lições vieram quando eu fracassei em algo.

Você disse tudo! Inteligência emocional é uma coisa que está se tornando cada vez mais importante em nossas vidas. Acho que ainda são poucas as pessoas que dão atenção a isso, mas será cada vez mais necessário desenvolver isso na sociedade.

!PIZZA

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
tfranzini tipped michupa (x1)
@tfranzini(2/5) tipped @purplesinger (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Yes you're right. Failing is something that has taught me a lot of lessons, but I still hate not doing something the first time.

Yeah, it's not the best feeling but I think it's important to learn how to deal with it!

Thanks for the comment!

!PIZZA