Check Out What People WASTE & I SAVE - Free Upcycling Income - Strolling Around For Free Strollers

in #freedom6 years ago (edited)

I just sold another perfectly fine baby stroller I found on the curbs by my apt, so I thought I'd show some examples of what I've saved from being crushed in a garbage truck -- and passed on to families who need them!

I find a lot of high-end strollers. If they're not in perfect condition, I sell them online for parts. For example, the frame may have a crack in it, or the brakes don't work, but everything else is perfect. This is a strong income stream for me. Parts make a lot of money.

When strollers are appropriate to sell for cash on Craigslist, I list them and they move fast. People are happy to get a good deal, or a same day solution when they're in a bind.

The most important thing to me is the pride I get in saving these from being wasted to help the environment, others and myself at the same time.

It's a triple win.

People either want to or talk about helping, or they take action and help. Everyone can make an impact if they choose to.

Here are just SOME complete strollers I've sold for cash, usually in the $75-$350 range:

City Mini Baby Jogger #1

City Mini Baby Jogger #2

Yes, City Mini Baby Jogger #3

Jogger.jpg

Yessss, City Mini Baby Jogger #4

Bugaboo Cameleon 3 - got $350 cash for this one to someone living two blocks away. Found three buildings from my doorstep. Easy.

Maclaren Triumph

IMG_8236.JPG

Maclaren Triumph Twin

IMG_9373.jpg

Maclaren Volo

IMG_6208.jpg

Maclaren Major Elite Stroller

IMG_3315.jpg

UPPAbaby G-Luxe (very common)

Maxi Cosi Stroller Taxi

Peg Perego Pliko

IMG_0048.jpg

Let's not leave the pets out with a Burley Tail Wagon DOG Stroller/Bike Trailer. The woman was thrilled to get this for her dog at the beach that day. I found on the curb nearby with a note saying "trash" on it.

Burley.jpeg

Here's a recent example of when I take a complete stroller apart and sell it online for much more. These were initial estimates. Most sold for more. I find countless strollers to sell as parts.


Sometimes I take larger accessories or parts that I prefer not to ship and try to sell them for cash

Bugaboo Cameleon Chassis With Wheels

City Mini Baby Jogger Second Seat

IMG_6410.JPG

Britax Stroller Ride On Board

IMG_8245.jpg

I've sold hundreds of stroller parts sales. Many parts go for $30, $50, $75, $100+, etc., ALONE because they're from discontinued models. These are just a few for ideas and inspiration.

Parts Ideas:

  • Front Wheels
  • Rear Wheels
  • Canopies
  • Seat Cover(s)
  • Undercarriages
  • Belly Bars
  • Car Seat Adapters (can be big $ for small parts)
  • Seat Straps
  • Frames/Chassis
  • Seat Frames
  • Bassinets
  • Brake Mechanisms
  • Spring Loaded Release Systems
  • Locking Mechanisms
  • Etc...

Most importantly, I make sure I test and inspect everything to make sure that everything is safe. I also clean (rubbing alcohol does wonders), hand wash the fabrics, and oil things as needed.

I also find a ton of car seats and their adapters I'll post another time.

Thanks for reading. Don't be shy to share this post if you feel it'd help others.

@steemmatt

Sort:  

Excellent! Just like finding money on the street.

I've been watching scrapping videos on YouTube and they have a totally different mindset! They are jumping over $10 to get a nickel!

Like they go and cut electrical cords off things to scrap it for a few cents when the thing itself is worth like $50 or $60! Crazy to me.

Thank you. I just got back in from 90 minutes of hunting and pulled in some decent stuff I'll post on soon.

I know the feeling all too well. A lot of the electronics or appliances I don't take (can't part out) have had their cords cut by either these fools, or the building maintenance guys who are complying with the city recycling rules (respectable). There's one old guy who walks around and just snips the wires to strip for the copper, and leaves the rest ruined (worth exponentially more of course as you said). Whenever I see him out, I get in front of him and make sure I get to anything before him.

Population density ftw.

Both definitions of ftw could equally apply here.

Wow! Some really amazing finds! It's crazy what people will throw away - and look at the great condition on those strollers! They should at least offer it for free to friends on facebook if they're not willing to list it on craigslist. But if it is taking up space...

EXACTLY. Some thrift stores don't accept strollers, but some do. It really bothers me, so I do what I can and also make some dinero.