Show Me The Money!! More Free Stuff Found On Curbs To Resell (Including An Electronic Drum Set!)

in #freedom6 years ago (edited)

More free stuff out on my neighborhood's curbs I've found to sell/have already sold in only the last week or so:

How about a Yamaha electronic drumset I can sell for parts for about $500?

FullSizeRender (1).jpg

As a drummer, this was a cool find. I left the mounting rack and took the valuable stuff. It was a heavy downpour, so I didn't find the hi hat or bass drum triggers. I didn't care though as they're heavy to ship and not that profitable.

The nice building doorman came out to talk while I was assessing it, and told me that he currently owns and maintains a flock of 1,200 tagged pigeons on a rooftop! He started when he was 10 years old and sells them for breeding, pets, or homing purposes. He led me to a film documentary about him online. Mind boggling.

After seeing the hardware blatantly out on the curb, I had to feel around in a few bags to find the good stuff I knew would be there. I usually don't go in bags, but it had to be done this time. The doorman eventually verified that he knew the person who tossed the set was simply going away to college.

I'll easily sell this all for $450-$500. The module is $100-$125. The set of 5 tested toms will be $125+. The pair of cymbals and arms will be ~$50. The clamps are $10-$20 EACH depending on which type. The 5 mounts in the drums are $15 each. The 4 rubber stabilization pads will probably be $25, other parts a few bucks, etc...

I sold an entire much larger drum set similar to this style in the past when I first started selling (my electronic set from college bought with poker winnings), so it's a nice full circle.

...A nice save from the compactors!

Other Finds:

  • Vintage Polaroid Land Film Processor - it works, but I can't swear it's tuned up, so I'll sell it for $100 as is for parts to be safe. It'd be $200+ if I knew how to fully test it with photos.

  • iRobot Braava - Valued at $55 only because I can't test the spray function without the special pads. (sold) It operates fine with the dry pad, but I listed it for parts to be safe. It'd be $100+ otherwise. I should've dug deeper when I saw this, but I didn't know how it works at the time. I could've bought the pads to confirm functionality and make more money, but chose to just flip it as is.

  • Medical Textbook - Valued at $25 (sold)
  • Medical Textbook - Valued at $40
  • Cuisinart Blender Parts - Valued at $30, $20, & $15 (sold)
  • New Balance Cross Trainer Shoe - Valued at $30 (sold) - It's only a single shoe, but it's factory new with tissue paper still inside. Seeking solemate!!
  • Stroller Wheel - Valued at $30 (sold)
  • Complete Nintendo Wii Setup - Value TBD (have to test it and another Wii setup I found a few weeks ago)
  • New US Marines License Plate Border - Valued at $20 (it's an insult to our military to toss this) *UPDATE: sold for $15 to a veteran I thanked for their service.

  • Dyson Vacuum Cleaner - Valued at $125+ for parts with motor issue (fast sellers - 2 parts already sold for $43 & $13)

  • iRobot Beacon - Valued at $20
  • iRobot Power Adapter - Valued at $20
  • Bose Left Speaker - Valued at $20, tested and perfect (sold)
  • HP Printer - Valued at $150 (has plenty of ink and in mint working condition - will likely keep)

Example:

All in all, about $1,275 in free revenue from roughy 4 evening/night hunting trips. The trips range between 45 minutes and 2 hours if I take my time.

Keep in mind, this is all free stuff I casually stroll around for to sell in addition to my daily thrifting efforts. It's a good hedge and way to diversify if either source is slow on a particular day. If both are lucrative, then it's a good day. I'm starting to wonder how well I could do if I devoted more time and resources to hitting more recycling zones because there is simply too much out there to let slip away.

My brother should be coming to my city next week with his car, so we may experiment with an all day thrifting barrage, with an evening recycling assault to top it off (for 1 or 2 days). That'll be a good experience to feel out how much ground I could cover with better transportation and another set of hands/eyes.

Time to go out and get some food and a beer, and then stroll the curbs on what's most often the second best night of the week.

Please resteem when possible to help me expand my outreach. These posts often go overlooked and I feel strongly that some of these ideas can help people be more creative about generating their own income to achieve more freedom in their lives, or simply help the environment.

@steemmatt

Sort:  

wow dude!!! the vacume itself is around 400$!!!! nice!!!!

Maybe new. Used, I can usually get $150-$200 from them when I take it apart. Since this one has a partial issue, $125 or so, but it's free $$$ either way and helping save stuff from being wasted. I like knowing that parts were shipped all over my country to live on.

considering the rest of items, it's still a big win! :D

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Thank you so much. This is a great boost to the morale. I'm a bit shy for radio talk, but I'll try soon enough. If there's anything else I can do to help promote or educate others on whatever you think is valuable, I'm happy to contribute. It's good to know caring like-minded people are on this platform.

Thank you Matt. You will be welcome on the show anytime. I am launching a new news show today - Here Comes The News - to promote independent and citizen journalism on steem in case you know anyone who might want to contribute.


Host of Here Comes The News on MSP Waves Radio.

Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Great finds, Matt! You certainly are living in a great area for it.

Resteem? Sure!

Thank you very much. Some new upvoters came in that must be by your doing.

These posts are mind blowing concerning what people will toss! My mom always used to hate it when I'd go dumpster diving. ;) We found some really cool stuff. Once a super fancy house got rid of all of their fancy silver (heavy) door knobs. Worked great, but they just must not have liked the color or design or something.

Finding things of value to use or sell/repurpose/recycle is a great feeling. Moms will be moms. I've never hopped in a dumpster before since there really aren't any on my city streets. It's more of just piles of stuff on the curbs, loose, or in boxes or clear plastic bags. The only shame you should worry about it that on those who toss things like what you found out! Thanks for sharing.

I was packing eBay Coin Sales while I read this post..............@getonthetrain.