You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: FullTimeGeek STEEM Rant #2,3,4,5,6

in #fulltimegeek6 years ago

Around 15 out of the top 20 witnesses own or delegate to bid-bots.

I used one today to promote my 'hey i'll pay you to curate and engage league', but you need to use 47 of them to get anymore viewers.

And when I look a trending... naaa

Peace!

Sort:  

I'd rather have a witness run one, to be honest, and yes I am a witness and I run one. At this point though, almost everyone is involved in a bid bot of some sort, it's pretty much in the on-boarding. It's no longer 3-4 bid bots, there are even 7 cent bid bots with minimum bids of 5 cents. It's become a circus.

In the on-boarding? Maybe the tag needs to be changed to 'pay to play' then?

I'm sure I could find 30 Witness without Bot dealings... like, 50% sure :)

I'm sure I can find 30 witnesses that don't even login to steemit or even think of it as well.

Seems a bit off topic?

30 here, not bleeding the place dry.

how about we find a way to change that Asher! ;)

That is certainly an idea........ :)

just another way we can engage this battle from a different direction. @fulltimegeek is going at it direct, but there are many ways to support his efforts. By adding a few community minded witnesses that "understand" the issues, we might even wake a few of them up. Hint: we don't have to win all the seats, just enough to make them pay attention to what is important to the people.

This was one of my campaign banners when I ran in 2016.

trust corrupt politicians.png

Is there a way to find out the witnesses campaigns, so to speak? Most of the time I don't really know who to vote for because I don't know what they stand for. I currently vote for those who I've seen being supportive across the board.

I am so glad you asked that @minismallholding (love the name btw)... I completely understand, and that is why we are gearing up for a series of witness interviews. We already have 4 lined up and plan on having as many as possible. #newbieresteemday and several other groups will be doing the promotion. Keep your eyes open as it should be coming with a few weeks. If you have any suggestions or contacts, you may get ahold of our lead guy on this @mellofello ... Thanks for the question, I'm glad you brought it up!

Good to hear, thanks for to you all for taking the time to do this.

You're certainly welcome... And hopefully we help connect people to the witnesses they would really like!

@davemccoy I think we already have a way. We all stop using these bots altogether and we will do good.

Agreed, but my thoughts are that we get new witnesses that encourage community building behavior. Why fund the people that let the abuse occur? Threaten to cut off their source of money and they will modify behavior rather quickly!

I will check through my witness votes now and see who's naughty or nice. I really can't see these bots helping the network in the long run.

Is there a 'quick list' of which witnesses own which bots? I'm sure I could go and dig them bit by bit but it's 3.30am right now and I might not make it to the end...

Thank you.

No, the bottracker page doesn't list that :)

I got half way through a list before but I will try to finish one soon.

Do let me know when it is ready. Thank you.

Ready.

Got it - thanks for your work on that list.

No problem. May have got away without angering anyone :)

Maybe wear a disguise and a big hat for a few days...

Where is it? Checked your blog and nothing looked relative. Will gladly shift my witness votes from any running a bot.

but you need to use 47 of them to get anymore viewers.

Thank you for putting that out there. I already worked out that you're never going to do more than break even on what you pay for them, but wondered whether they were used more for getting on trending. I guess not unless you've got a lot to shell out in the first place.

no worries :)

For trending, you are looking at 150-200 SBD. And perhaps a 25% loss on that in returns. But hey, you'll pick up a load of clueless followers!!

Lol! Very good point!

You pickup a lot of this:

Good post.
I followed you, you follow me.
I like your picture so I followed you.
Thanks for this post!!

so others are doing it and some are even abusing it you could say, dunno I've bought upvotes, but I just feel sad this place is less and less "human" plus the other sad part is how it's built to favor just that, how people even enjoy it and like it...

It's grim - My last post got both @sndbox-alpha 'd and @curie 'd - $45.

While I'm happy with that on one level - it's a stark reminder that the 'financial clout' of these two massive communities put together is nothing compared to the power of a few people's capital.

Yes indeed.

Well done though! I may know who pushed that one to curie :)