ADSactly Fun - No Hard Feelings

in #fun6 years ago (edited)

_IMG_000000_000000.jpg

source

I have always had an interest in photography. To the disgust of most DSLR owners, it started with camera phones. Even the rubbish 0.3MP efforts that first came on the market were a revelation to me.

I started taking photos of just about everything. This of course didn't go down to well with the good lady who was not yet my wife.

It was not unusual to hear cries of...

What the heck!?!? Get out of the toilet whilst I am showering!

or

Why are you looming over me when I am sleeping?!?!

Although that second one wasn't always about a sneaky photo. However, I digress.

Eventually, as both cameras and my skill got better I bought a DSLR. For those not in the know, they are those big stupid cameras that the professionals use.

ghrdpes_20180404144936473_20180405115809966_20180405233857456.jpg

source

I started taking photos in earnest. Blogging and posting them on Facebook. Such was my perceived skill, some people paid me for some of my photographs. As I am such a happy soul I would easily have given them away from free but they insisted.

Eventually, someone asked me to do their wedding photos.

I was very reluctant. There is a big difference between taking photos of a tree or a horse or even better, a horse underneath a tree and taking photos of a couple on the most important day of their lives.

So I said no.

They offered me a giant wodge of money.

So I said yes.

It went remarkably well. I ended up doing several weddings. Then of course, came Mad Rab's wedding.

ghrdpes_20180404144936473_20180405115809966_20180405234207860.jpg

source

Mad Rab was a guy I had known since childhood. He wasn't that mad, just typically Scottish. He phoned me and said he had seen some of my stuff on The Facebook. He then asked if I would photograph his wedding.

I said it would be a pleasure. We met and discussed what kind of photos would be required. His brief was worryingly vague.

Just take some excellent photos mate. We trust you!

Well. That was a help.

I arrived at the grooms house armed with all of the stuffs that were usually required. Mad Rab shook my hand and introduced me to his wee pal, Stuart, who was also going to be taking photos. I thought this was a little odd but fair enough. It was his wedding.
Pal - Scottish term for friend - often of the small variety.

I spoke briefly to his wee pal, Stuart and asked him if he had done much photography. He assured me he had. I asked him if the zoom lens his camera was toting was the one with image stabilisation. He looked confused. I left it at that.

He asked if I could go to the bride's house and take photos. Off I trotted to the bride's house. The door was answered by one of the bridesmaids who, when I introduced myself. Gave me the strangest look and shouted upstairs...

Marie. There's some pervert pal of Rab's wants to take photos of you in yer knickers.
Knickers - British term for underwear of the small lower variety.

ghrdpes_20180404144936473_20180405115809966_20180405234320213.jpg

I made this

Eh, no I don't.

I replied. I really did not. After all, I was hardly a wildlife photographer.

Now he says he doesn't want to see you in yer knickers!!

Shouted the bridesmaid furiously upstairs.

He doesn't? Right. I'm phoning Rab. Cheek!

The upstairs voice yelled.

The door was slammed on my face. I was a little perturbed. Still, I wasn't someone to be daunted. I returned to Mad Rab's house.

He apologised and we smoothed things over, I set about taking pics like I was being paid for.

We got to the church and I started taking photos. So did the wee pal, Stuart. Shortly after, the smiling bride arrived. As soon as she saw me, of course, the smile dropped from her face.

Which wouldn't have been an issue except she didn't smile any time I was near. She smiled for the other guy though. Even those were fleeting things, like a timid badger peeking from its burrow. Stuart happily held his big zoom lens up and took random photos with one hand like a wild cowboy.

ghrdpes_20180404144936473_20180405115809966_20180405234515678.jpg

source

At the end of the day, I approached Mad Rab. Despite the lack of smiling from the Bride, I knew I had got some amazing pics. I smiled and shook the now married, Mad Rab's hand.

Congratulations again Rab. I will get the photos to you during the week. You said you would pay me before that?

Rab looked a little sheepish.

Ah, sorry Boom, we have decided not to bother. You know, save a bit of money. Besides, Stuart took lots of pics. No hard feelings though eh?

What else could I do on the man's wedding day but laugh and tell him it was no bother. I looked over at the other "photographer" and his big zoom lens and smirked.

That would have been the end of it had not Mad Rab phoned me in a panic some days later.

Boom, you know my wee pal, Stuart. All his photos are blurry and terrible?!? I need the photos you took. I need them pronto or the wife will go mad.

I thought of his herbivore of a wife and answered with a smile.

Of course Rab. That's no problem. It will cost you double though...

What? Are you at it? No way man, you can't charge double? That's outrageous!

You know what it's like mate... No hard feelings though eh?

Aaahh, revenge is sweet!

------------------------------------

What about you? Have you been dreadfully messed about and got sweet revenge? What do you think of those people who renege on a deal??

Tell us your best tales in the comments. I will be there to listen!

Authored by: @meesterboom

Click on the coin to join our Discord Chat



Go Adsactly

Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!
Witness proposal is here:


Witness Proposal
Witness Proposal Update


Go To Steem Witness Page
In the bottom of the page type: adsactly-witness and press vote.
witness vote.gif
Use small letters and no "@" sign. Or, click here to vote directly!
Thank you!


Sort:  

No hard feelings indeed. It's just business. They should pay a premium for it. As always @meesterboom love your style of narration and thanks to @adsactly for always delivering. Happy weekend.

@meesterboom is a good guy. I like his posts ^^

Well done to you. I think it is extremely unacceptable to renege on a deal especially when it has cost you your time. Revenge sure is sweet.

It certainly is! Never renege on a deal!

That's more like a @meesterboom stuff xD

I also love photography but i can't afford a DSLR. So often click photos via my smartphone.

Smartphones nowadays take great photos, keep clicking!

you're right my friend 😊

ahaha :)
once in every photographer's life
"Would you take my knot photo, my friend"
He heard the words. :) I never responded to this request. they never offered me good money: D
congratulations for your successful writing :)

I wrote a travel and photo block for the first time. and I gave a lot of effort for it.
If you have time, will you look at it? that makes me happy

I will because I am a man with a heart as large as the ocean in which we all sail!

thank you. I know you are such a person :)

Do you know even I enjoyed by your revenge while reading your story ;) I Am a kind of person who take either sweet or bitter revenge from people.. Because some people understand from that.. You can't explain your disappointment to them by words.. Years ago when I was sharing the same room with my collegue and so called best friend, one day suddenly I saw a big disrespect from her. I gave one day to her to make it up but she preferred to continue and even made it bigger. So just in the 2. day I collected my all stuff in front of her and told her I am leaving. She was shocked.. She just said all the best but her face was upside down...I took my revenge from her..

Well done. I agree, strike hard and strike fast! :OD

That is pretty funny! Every wedding photographer I know has too many "Bridezilla" stories, I'd stick with wildflowers lol!

Hahahah, well they are safer! :O)

Excellent story, I feel identified because I am an amateur photographer by accident, in my case it all started when the protests began in my country Venezuela ... since then I took love to the art of photography.

I think a lot of people fall into it by accident. I hope you put your photos on steemit

hahahahahhaha. i find this really hilarious. i hope you collected every penny??

well this is actually funny. i moved from a kinda remote part of my country, Nigeria to the country's capital, Abuja. i quickly made friends who obviously got more exposure than i do. but that didnt matter, i just did my thing like i was polished..lol..
my friend, Donald was the Game master, he supplied the whole school the latest games. being new to the gaming world, you can guess, i was engrossed and consumed by it.
he would give games freely to others, but to me his friend, he would play me around and i had to beg and sometimes made jest of because of how much i begged for the games. my first games were from him: devil may cry, GTA:vice city, Dead to rights and some more.
well i wanted to collect Max payne from him but he didnt give me and i pressed and begged but he didnt give me. i was angry and said he should eat his games and i told him, he would come at my door begging for games...
you can guess, two weeks after, his system crashed and his external back up system stopped. i on the other end, went searching for games..and heck yeah! i got a truck load.
you know what happened next, mehn....it felt so good to be begged. i actaully gave him but thats after much pleading and my vengeance was satisfied.
i really wonder why people especially friends take one for granted.

I appreciate this,, thank you

Hey ,good one mate. Thanks for your time doing this.

Your story about photography is lovely I think photography is one of the lovely activity that capture our lives moments and these moments we can enjoy later when we are sad thanks @adsactly for this lovely Post keep it up.

These things and more are correct. Thank you for your kind words!

Se inspira en el increíble trabajo

Nice sir :)

An expert start thing in a very simple way. This all you've done!
Keep it up❤️

great story.thanks for sharing.

Well photography is really cool :)

just gotta know where to be at the right time :D

You do indeed!

inspired me

I like your post. Your post so nice.

Thank you! I like my posts like I like my chocolate. Cold and dark

thank...... you? I know: you are; such a person????

Well done...

Nice story....

nice stuff sir but i think with hight of intrust in photography we always need all good and required stuff as well.anyway i enjoy your wedding experience nice writing.

Ha ha, i literally want to give this post a name as "Sweet Revenge Of My Camera", and i really like your journey from 0.3 Mega Pixel camera to DSLR and the funny aspect of DSLR is how you called it "Big And Stupid", and in my opinion i believe that if you have one resource then you will get hundred ways and same way when you started using DSLR it automatically opens many ways for you and i personally liked your DSLR journey. Thanks for sharing and wishing you an great day. Stay blessed. 🙂

Good@adsactly

Thanks for sharing

I like this post,,,,nice

Cool Story Bro

i resteemed it to my 30,500+ followers @dynet

so beautiful, i like this post

Good contribution friend to the platform, from # venezuela support your work ... much success continues like this ...

I love how you write your post! 😂😂 It was fun tp read. I'll definately will follow you.

excellent writing enjoy it from end to end

Business is business. As long as no one get hurt big time then everything's fine :)

Well done Really beautiful picture

Sweet revenge teach people how to behave better. Enjoy your story!!

Hi @adsactly, i've try many step to take a good result of photography, but i didn't get it. I was failed,,, would you give me the way to take a good photo but just using mobile phone camera???? Just that i have..

Wow!I can't believe he had the gall to pull a stunt like that. You should have made him sweat a little too. Told him that the pictures had been erased to make room for some good shots of zoo animals. Untrained monkeys would show more respect than he did. Glad you got your pound of flesh. Revenge is a can be sweet.

Good for you giving him his pictures and awesome that you charged him double, that deal breaking scrooge.

upfostee.gifI am with you by voting for you and you will be with me
😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍
https://steemit.com/@forgetsharif
😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍
✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌
✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌👌
☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺

upfostee.gifI am with you by voting for you and you will be with me
😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍
https://steemit.com/@forgetsharif
😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍
✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌
✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌👌
☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺

upfostee.gifI am with you by voting for you and you will be with me
😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍
https://steemit.com/@forgetsharif
😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍
✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌
✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌✌👌
☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺