Gamification and how you can use it to your advantage!

I have recently been reading a book about learning and how you can become better at learning and studying. That is when I met the concept of gamification. I have heard the word several times, but I have never really taken the time to understand the concept and think it through.

So, what is gamification about and how can it help you in your learning process?

Gamification is about bringing forth a game in the process. What do I mean? Have you thought about the process when you ask your kids to clean the house? They all feel sad and get grumpy.

But, then you tell them that if they manage to finish the job in 10 minutes, they will all get popcorn and pizza later. What happens? It has turned into a game, into a challenge, and suddenly the motivation will change drastically in all of them. That is the concept of gamification in housework.

Of course, kids should be able to clean the house without getting a "bonus", at least I feel that way. But you can still see how gamification, turning it into a game, will help you motivate other people.

But, you can also use it yourself!

chess-g787d85498_640.jpg

Motivating in my personal life!

When I was younger, I remember that as I came home from school, I wanted to sit down and read my Bible and pray for 30 minutes every day. And at my table, I had a jar with candy. I knew that while reading my BIble, I could grab one or two every day. That was like a bonus, a reward, for doing diligently what I knew I wanted to do.

That is just a minor concept, but it can turn much more like a game thing. For example, if you study together with a friend, make it a game to see how much you can study within an hour. It is a competition, and suddenly, the motivation will come as well.

There is so much to say about gamification, but I found it really interesting, and I look forward to further implementing it in my own life as I aim to learn and grow in new areas!

Sort:  

Congratulations @unbiasedwriter! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 80000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 85000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁶ Meetings Contest

Gamification is very helpful and applies to many industries. It's really worth looking into this issue. The right gamification strategies can be really effective.

I really love this @unbiasedwriter which means definitely in every areas of our lives there's always a part where gamification will come in place