Games in JavaScript with Babylon engine

in #gaming4 years ago (edited)

Insys 2.png

What's up hiveans,

It's been a while...
So I'm taking this moment to share my latest projects.
I have left @inkito aside this month, as there hasn't been any interest for it right now. I'll definitely revisit the design and work on some more features later on.

For the most part of the month, I have been coding on another project (Non related to Hive or crypto currencies) with React native! This would allow me to publish as an app for IOS and Android at the same time. The progress goes slowly as I'm getting used to the slightly different framework and figuring the app design and functionalities.

Finally, the most interesting thing is that I've been playing around with the Babylon.js game engine, making coding games possible in JavaScript. This could also be a great project to implement Hive in.

Games like SplinterLands or dcity use NFT to make their items collectibles. But I discovered NFTshowroom which makes art collectible as well. This made me think outside the box on what other things could be minted this way.

I brain stopped at miniatures sculpts!

Unique figurines sell like crazy on Kickstarter because no one wants to miss out. There is actually a whole resell miniature market on ebay. But those plastic things take space, they take time to paint, and they take friends to play with!

Insys 3.png

Bear with me on the graphics here. I experimented on this for just a couple days. Various miniatures, environement and cover mechanics will come.

My vision would be an exclusive miniature market powered by NFTs. Once bought, minis from the same army could be used to form a team and battle turn by turn with friends online. On a technical stand point, the game is not so difficult to make, but the live multiplayer aspect I have never implemented.

I might be on an even smaller niche than comics but I'm pretty excited about this one. It's been fun incorporating wargame mechanics into the code and testing it out as I go.

Insys.png

Here we can see colored bonus or handicap depending on range. Each army has different bonues applies. I was inspired by the Infinity miniature game rules but I used 6 sided dice and reworked all the army statistics to make it balanced. Yep, just for fun!

Have I said I've been a little obsessed by this?

Armystats.png

Armies and units I imagined are based off a story idea I have called IN/SYS. I wrote more about it here.

So far I have 1 player turn playable, with move actions, range and melee rolls, saving rolls if hit, and minis set aside when defeated. Style wise, my approach is minimilistic, inspired by Hitman Go. I'll add animation, logos, stats and markers to guide the players going forward.

Insys 2.png

No visual indication of targeted result or effects but all the stats are in the browser console for now. I'd be cool to see part subtly appear above the dice.

Insys 4.png

Cool idea, right? What do you guys think? Go try one player turn here

I would definitely be more successful with an FPS powered by Hive, selling collectible digital skins and power ups. Who knows, I might come to that ?! But my silly wargame idea don't require as much animation and I like unique concepts. I haven't seen 1 to 1 digital replicates of miniature wargames. The closest three I've seen are "Wartile" which is impressive visually but plays in realtime.

ss_9fa5773e83b00efd48ec491417b04b47e8e74653.1920x1080.jpg

Warbands Bushido, which is 2d isometric and set in the japanese era.

download.jfif

Or Xcom which tends closer to a strategic video game.

xcom.jpg

Tabletop simulator does have unoffical miniature set up. It is often taken down by game publishers because of copyright. One thing is you actually have to move all the piece yourself and know the rules. Not so easy!

warhammer.jpg

Stay tuned for more infos on my current projects.

Thanks for reading through this.
You can try out what I've done so far here. It's laggy on mobile though.

See you on the other side,

Jrej

Sort:  

This is a pretty cool idea! Given how popular Warhammer is I’m sure you could do something with it. More people play these types of games and read comics than make comics 😜

You are right! I hadn't seen it this way. I can't wait to add the cover mechanic and polish it a little more. It will be much more fun to play. I think this has some potential. We'll see where this takes me. ;-)