How To Start A Gardening Business

in #garden4 years ago

lawn-mower-2293876_1920.jpg

Think about this for a second, No boss, No shifts, and total freedom to do what you like when you like, sounds good right?

I never thought a year ago I would be running my own gardening business let alone highering a laborer.

A few years ago, I decided that I wanted my own takeaway, this was my number one goal but things have changed so much in this time and I wanted to share my story with you.

Back in 2018, I moved into a house with a garden, this was a big step up for us as we have never had a garden, and all we were used to was concrete towering buildings with nowhere for the kids to play out.

The problem with this house was the garden was so overgrown that I spent days cutting back brambles, I had no tools and no help, it was just little old me with a pair of scissors and a little bit of motivation.

I knew at the time I needed some tools, but I also had no money so I had to make do with what I had, and I continued for what seemed like a lifetime cutting away this overgrown mess that had potential.

As I worked through it a neighbor saw what I was doing and brought me some garden shires, this help as I was able to cut through things faster, and before I knew it the mess was then just a pile of sticks that needed to be disposed of.

My things have changed since then.

After adding a lawn, some massive raised beds, and a lovely flowered garden people started to notice that I had an eye for making gardens look amazing.

This was when my whole life changed, I got a family member ask me to come to them to sort their garden out.

It wasn't a big job, I didn't look at it as a job in all fairness, it was more I was to me like I was going to them to help out as they are getting older.

This job turned into two more jobs, but I still had no tools, no money, and no way of buying anything to get the things I needed.

The customers I was working for had tools and I was using them to do the jobs they wanted.

I finally had a little bit of money, what should I buy first? I decided to buy a lawnmower, but at £200 for a half-decent one, I didn't have that kind of cash.

I just happened to stumble on one while I was at a car boot, this lawnmower was my first investment, and cost me £30.

I was so happy, this rusty clapped out lawnmower was my first tool for me to carry on with the little jobs I had coming in.

I was so embarrassed about this lawnmower as it was really the pits, but it did the job and that was what I needed at the time.

I was then mowing lawns, making a few more quid I then invested in a 4 in one tool this had everything I needed to do bushes, this was something else I could do while on jobs, it was an amazing feeling.

I then went back out to work with the two tools I had and did what I had to do, with the next little bit of money coming in I ended up buying a chainsaw, and then I invest money back in another lawnmower.

And the more work I did the more people told their friends about what a good job I was doing and that meant more work.

You see, I never thought I was going to be a gardener, it just kind of fell at my feet, almost like good had written it in the stars for me.

The idea of a takeaway still sits in my mind, but with the amount of money I am making at the minute, and the fact I can hire a staff member says to me that I am doing something right.

I wouldn't change this for the world, I enjoy being outside, I enjoy talking to my customers and I am enjoying life.

I hope you are all staying safe, and until next time my friends.

Sort:  

That's a real bottom-up tale. Happy to hear it's going well for you. I can't imagine gardening with just scissors. We have a big garden and it's a constant job to keep it under control.

You can get someone to keep your garden under control for less than I charge, some people I know only charge £10 an hour, I'm having to factor in 4 months of no work due to winter. if I could work through winter I would lower my prices.
The great thing about this business is working for your self, and no one over your shoulder, if you do a good job they have you back, if you don't they don't tell their friends, that means a loss in money.
I like to treat every customer the same, but sometimes you find favoring certain ones, It could be just me been a soft touch. :D

We've had people do the garden for us, but now we share it with a neighbour it's not so bad. I just think I need a mentor to give me tips on what needs doing and what veg I should plant. Maybe I should put out a request for that.

Send me some pictures and I will have a look for you, quote you and then t give you an idea on what you should be paying someone to do the job.
I'm not saying I will be 100% accurate but it gives you an idea. :D

It's hard to capture all of our garden in a few pictures. We are not really looking to pay someone to work on it right now. Just maintaining it to keep it reasonable. We have some plans to re-arrange things a bit, but that may be next year.

Congratulations @artonmysleeve! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the last Hive Power Up Day