You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Make Seed Bombs and Grow Food Everywhere!

in #gardening7 years ago

I'd have to find plants that the deer won't eat and use those seeds. I've tried to start raspberries in the empty lots across the street and the deer keep finding them and eating them down. I think I have one raspberry plant that is still surviving, and it's in the middle of a brush pile that I piled there to protect it.
I think I could use marigold and black eyed susan seeds and have some success.

Sort:  

I hear ya! In my year spent in the Arkansas Ozarks, I dealt with quite a bit of deer. My best advice is the more diversity you can grow, there can be abundance for the animals and people. I found that the deer left my moon and stars watermelons all alone and made out with a great harvest. I got some deer resistant heirloom seed mix from Eden Brothers Seed Company. They are awesome.

Also, if the deer eat the seeds, their digestion tract isn't 100% efficient, so you might still get those seeds growing out of their scat elsewhere.

That's true. It's like the birds around here spreading the wild grape seeds all over the place.