Mad Science of Growing Seedling [Gardening]

in #gardening6 years ago

This post is my seedling update for March 3, 2018. Inside you'll see photos of most of the garden plants I am growing. Even though I am not an expert, I am a hobbyist who has been dabbling in various gardening #experiments for the past five years or so. I invite you to check out what I've been working on.

The intent has been to start these plants off very early in the year so they will already have a well-developed root system when they are ready to be planted in Spring. Many of my seedlings were started in January, or a few weeks ago. Currently I have a whopping list of 411 vegetables I want to grow this year, so let's get crackin'.

20180302_091231.jpg

#Turnips are still growing. The leaves have more of a yellow color this week. Not sure if that is normal. They have been under the artificial light constantly, and the light runs on a timer. They keep growing new leaves and are not wilting, so I'm not concerned.

20180302_091149.jpg

The third #pumpkin for the patch I'll be planting is growing nicely. This year looks like a great start for my #pumpkins.

20180227_080838.jpg

Two of the pumpkin plants are making #buds like crazy, and reaching almost 10 inches. No signs of weakness or #leaf problems like I had last year.

20180302_091217.jpg

Banana Peppers. So glad I started these in January. They are growing so slow. I fed all my plants some organic #fertilizer, so hopefully that helps the leaves green up a little bit more. They look yellow right now.

20180302_091107.jpg

#Arugula is rocking out. Central leaves are starting to form. The older leaves are looking slightly red-green tinted.

20180302_091051.jpg

#Cabbage is looking so healthy today with bigger leaves forming, I decided they should be promoted to front row sunshine seats on the windowsill.

20180302_091102.jpg

Last week I started a new batch. Top left, #Cilantro. Top right, #BrusselsSprouts. Lower left, #Anise. Lower right, Yellow #Onion.

Somebody gave me organic seeds for the yellow onion, so I decided to plant them. They got the seeds for free from Burgerville, which is a fast food chain restaurant. I am glad they were so easy to grow.

20180302_091129.jpg

My friends, let me introduce you to Lady #Lavender. I planted these seeds back in early January in a plastic dome, and it wasn't doing anything. A few weeks ago I decided to dump in the rest of the seed packet, and that proved to be a good idea, because it is finally growing. The #sprouts are very little, but they do reach towards the light whenever I turn the dish around. I decided to put these on the windowsill once I saw a few more sprouts emerging, as this plant loves full sun.

20180302_091308.jpg

These are store bought #GreenOnions. They are also called #chives when served as finely chopped #green herbs, as a seasoning or garnish. In the UK, they might call them #scallions. I decided to #plant them this way because I was having so much trouble getting them started from seed. This is excellent. Now I suddenly am seven plants closer to my goal of 10 of these. This is what they look like after the first 24 hours. You can almost watch them grow in real time the instant you give them some water. Look at how much the cut line has shifted in the center!

20180302_091322.jpg

#Moonflower opening up its first leaves. These #leaves are so thick and leathery, it is hard to believe they could ever fit inside of a seed the size of a pea. To the right, you can see the #tobacco plant is enjoying the sunshine.

20180302_091328.jpg

Two types of #tomatoes on this window ledge.

The #peas on the left are starting to get root bound. That is one of the advantages of growing in a clear cup. You can see what the roots are doing. Even though it is still very cold out at night, I decided to chance it and plant this one directly into the garden today. Tomorrow we'll find out if it was able to survive the slugs and the temperatures.

Peas are a good plant for testing the season conditions. They do not suffer transplant shock, and they do well in cool temperatures. You don't even have to harden off peas because even young leaves and stems are tough enough to tolerate heavy sunlight. Most #vine plants also have this super ability.

20180302_091141.jpg

This is the other tobacco variety I am growing. It is growing so slow. At least new leaves are starting to form in the center.

20180302_091243.jpg

Even the #turmeric and #ginger are slowly growing on the far left.

That's what's been going on so far. Been re-arranging many of my pots, because I am trying to make more space to start more seeds.

Here is a list of #seeds I started #growing tonight:

Quite a bit accomplished.

This time I also made sure I pre-soaked all of the seeds in water to help them sprout faster. The biggest seeds I soaked close to an hour, and the smaller seeds I waited only about 10 minutes. Longer soaking time would have been better for fast #germination, but it doesn't really matter.

__
I went back and looked at my spreadsheet, and I am 10% complete in my total goal of #vegetables I want to grow this #summer. More specifically, I have 42 already growing out of my goal of 411. How will all of this fit in my yard? Not sure how many of these I will have to start indoors, but I have a little bit more window space in the next-door room. Wish me luck!cold-159379_960_720.png
-Source

Many people seem to enjoy my #seedling updates. Hope you found something worthwhile in this post.

Juicy comments can always be found below. Remember, people often share really helpful information in the comments, so be sure to dig through a little deeper if you can spare some time.

See you around!

CreativeTruth.png

Sort:  

ohhh @creativetruth I think it's great that you can be planting the special and functional times in our home, I currently have some sown and onions in the same onion family, very rich to cook, and also oregano, I love cooking with oregano, one is very rich in aroma and flavor, the best of this trend is very similar to the growth and development of the plant, and it is excellent because you take more love to the legumes of your daily use and valoras more jejeje. .. here in my city the weather is very sunny and I have to be on the lookout not to overdo the watering and do not miss a great task.
Good thing we can exchange ideas, I try to plant them in a wide space so that they can develop, here I have rubbers already without a useful life.
IMG_20180306_115138.jpg
IMG_20180306_115123.jpg

I love the simplicity you have when you sow them! 😊☺🌿

I love to do gardening....Gardening is my favorite work...
I hope you succes this work..
Keep it up.

It always makes me feel happier to take care of the environment where I live.

wow, amazing.. I want to know about soil composition.. I think you should write a blog about soil too... :)

I get asked about soil a lot with my bonsai trees. Vegetables and trees need totally different soils. I try not to use peat moss for my needs, because it often develops fungus or moss. Coconut coir, perlite, and vermiculite are all excellent choices for starting seeds.

I am glad I just stumbled across this post. I wish more people would focus on growing plants, thank you for your service to humanity. Everything looks healthy and loved, it is very apparent that you genuinely care about your health and take your gardening seriously.

Thanks also for sharing such an inspirational post, I think I'll spend a little more time in the garden tomorrow.

Glad it made a positive difference.

very beautiful and beautiful plant photos I will always follow you @creativetruth and I will upvote and resteem.

Sir, you are back with another great post. We need some pictures of the flowers too.

I was thinking of doing a whole post on Flower-Palooza. Getting new flowers almost daily. It is fun to see what kind of flowers grow around the world here on steemit.

20180303_160932.jpg

Great photos and a great blog with excellent information. I will definitely go to this
place one day. This is the first post of you which I read and I loved it. I am going to read every past and future posts of you. I hope every
post will be as good as this one.

Glad you enjoy it. I try to make it easy for people to immerse into things. Show things viewers might not otherwise get to see. Teach about things people have always wanted to try.

Great post, great research. Garden Grove, natural green.

this is your name painting I made
IMG20180223104349.jpg

someday I'll see it all grow up with you friends, lots of work you do, doing gardening treatments is not easy, you have to think about different treatments as to what is planted, you have to memorize their attitude one by one, I don't see anyone else in there, are you alone doing it @creativetruth?
I want to see you plant coffee, I love coffee, do you like coffee?

Coffee would be a fun one to grow. It is a very tropical plant though, so I could not grow it outside after Summer in my climate. Most of my veggies I keep a label on the side of the pot. Once they get planted in the garden, I have a drawing that labels where everything goes in the yard. I do it all by myself, so I can do the way I like to do things.

yeah, it will be fun to grow a coffee, but sometimes, are you will make a plan for coffee ?
are you like coffee @creativetruth ?
are you have visited Indonesia ?
indonesia love coffee like mineral water, so many of the best coffee seeds in there

I do like the smell of coffee roasting in the air. To drink it, I like it best mixed with some chocolate and steamed milk.

Never been to Indonesia. Most of my time is spent working to pay off debts and taxes. Maybe one day I can afford to visit.

I've never drink coffee with chocolate mix, but, I've ever one time mixed a coffee with milk.

ohh, you work in taxes ?
how you can do anything what you do on time ? you have a lot job for your life, you working to pay off debts and taxes, do your hobby on gardening, write on steemit, I think you should have many time to do all your work.

best man!
you are a hard worker!

you do that all alone ?
you must be tired, but I think you not tired because you love that work right ?

Cup seedler all the way here! I suffer almost every day the "millions" of plastic cups I see people throwing out. Every time I buy an ice cream, soda, whatever that comes in a cup I save it (after empty of course) for home, and mosly for seedlings and whatever small enough to plant on them! have you tried to grow tomato from cuttings? I have a really big tomato and I'm thinking throwing a couple of branches and see through the cup how the roots develop!

I am very surprised by your goal, that is a lot to handle but I see you're keeping everything flowing over there. More than 400 species, I want to be a part of that challenge! I don't think I'll reach 50 anytime soon, but I'm finding my fair share of new seeds and plants as well. I was buying some groceries yesterday and didn't pass the opportunity to buy rosemary and a couple of really big green onions, both with big root system to se what I can do for them here and viceversa! I would love to find new varieties as your yellow onion and other tomatoes (Only grown the pear/apple type I think and the tiny cherry), but it isn't as easy as people don't grow many species around my region. Mostly bananas, papayas, plantains, canteloupes, squash and watermelons. The vegs are brought from far to shops here and there I can find some but no seed bags at all lol, just the vegs to work my magic on!

I'm currently soaking many seeds as well, but because of the warm weather I don't see really much of a difference, maybe larger and stronger roots, but straight in a pot or in the soil I get stronger and larger plants, in less time. What I can say is that with my sunlight and a small piece of land I can grow many things. And I'm not using trays anymore for its spaces are too small and I have to prepare a sort of table to have them in that way. I don't have many windows for that matter either, or at least ones that I can use for starting seeds. I have some tangerine (corn too, but it doesn't matter, there are seeds that grow real fast here, but ones that don't even start because they need a way cooler region, maybe a fridge) seeds soaking right now and I will plant all of them in a single small pot. I'll try to make a decent post for that one. What about citurs fruits? Have you tried or do you have some more than the lemon tree? I have a lot of guavas and grapes, from a technique I'm working on, It mixes runners, cuttings and rhizomes. What I do is I leave the root system of the mother above the soil, or dig enough so I can fool it and runners start sprouting. When they reach a certain development I cut them and plant them in cups, so the roots have less space to grow to, and that way the transplant can be even more succesful. I also aim to grow oranges, but currently I have maybe 12 lemon trees (various types), 10 guavas, 3 grape trees (My goal is the complete vineyard!), passionfruits and oh I forgot about the pineapples! I recently found a red variety, and dind't spend much thinkig into bringing two of them to my house. They are white inside and the peel is like a dark magenta. I also have maybe more than 10 regular (two types) pineapple plants, and only one harvested. 2 1/2 years growing it and I didn't watch the flower bloom for being on a trip! I have one that I think will bloom earlier, or maybe this year, hope it does! Passionfruits and pineapples have beatifully strange flowers.

I'm sorry for all the words lol, but I will say this: maybe you're already feeling happy for all of these babies. but more that a comment I hope you take this as a felicitation, or an applause. It takes a lot of commitment and selflesness to be a part of a plant growing, imagine hundreds (or thousands) of them. I'm really happy for you and for the world. You're making right decisions towards a happy lifestyle and I'm following and learning as much as I can from your experience doing almost the same! It would seem odd but there are many and many more like us, putting water where it really belongs, natuer! Kudos to you, have a great weekend, cheers!

What's funny is I think I refill my water jars almost as often as I have to use the bathroom. The only tropical fruits I have growing are lime, and two types of lemon, all from seed.

Last year I pruned the crown off a tomato, and planted the cutting. It did well and made fruit. Easier than fostering another tomato from seed, and less space used up indoors.