Growing Strawberries In Gutters OFF GRID ~ YUMMY!

Growing Strawberries In Gutters

We have tried growing strawberries in a couple different ways in our garden. Each time we ended up with some disappointing results. Mice. Weeds. Insects. SNAKES! Not anymore! We found someone using gutters and decided to try that method. And so far, this has been the best method we have tried.

Use good soil. It can be a mixture of compost, manures and just topsoil. But each year you will need to add nutrients back in the form of more compost, animal manures and topsoil to replace what the berries have used up.\

The results will be happy red strawberries.

ENJOY THE VIDEO


resteem.jpg
Visit Us Online: http://AnAmericanHomestead.com


Sort:  

That looks so good and easy - want to try that then we get a homestead :-)
By the way - are coming over from YouTube :-)

Glad you are here! You are appreciated!

Cool idea I would of never thought of growing strawberries that way.

Beautiful and practical thank you very much

Upvoted, resteemed and followed. I've been trying to figure out what to do with my strawberry plants!

Well there you go! Give it a try and report back!

I tried this because of watching your videos, didnt work out with the strawberries I had. Could have been the type or the soil. Now I have greenbeans and other stuff growing in mine


I still really like it, its a great idea


Not sure how to show the pics of my version.
https://steemit.com/photography/@markcampbell/my-garden

Anyway... love all your posts!

Thanks for the update. We used a good amount of manure in the gutters so the plants had plenty of nutrients. Try again maybe with another variety. Thanks for commenting!

I love your ingenuity, very creative. When I owned a home in Florida, I always had a garden and was always reading up on new, fun, and unique ways of doing things.

I'm a believer that the modern day way of living is not only destructive in many ways, it's not sustainable. About 3 years ago I moved to Ecuador with the plans of buying land and starting a homestead lifestyle.

After a short while I abandoned that idea and realized that my true self is being a perpetual traveler, and I'm going to stick to that. I've been traveling around the globe living out of a backpack for about 10 years. If the world or country I'm in goes to hell. My strategy is to pack my bag and get on out!

I'm new here on steemit, and I have A LOT of travel info to share. I'll be publishing my first travel report later today all about Ecuador. I'd love for you to check it out.

Thank you in advance- World Travel Pro

Up-voted and following you!

I had heard of a lot of people moving to Ecuador. That sounds like a good blogging idea here. I'll be sure to follow and keep an eye on your posts! THANKS!

Thank you! Yes the Ecuadorian government has one of the best attitudes towards retirees looking to immigrate. And even promotes itself internationally in this regard. Very intelligent I believe, as it's bringing in a lot of money and raising the standard of living across the country. Another note on their government, from my perspective it seems like one of the more organized, secure, and less corrupt in this part of the world. Which goes a long way!

awesome idea!! how do you keep the greenhouse temp from killing the plants? mine died the first day in the greenhouse

You need to keep them watered and moist...watering maybe 2 times a day.

I've seen pictures of this and wanted to try it out but I didn't know if it would work as well as the pictures. You proved it works.

That is so awesome.

A few years ago I tried something similar, as a proof of concept I tried growing strawberries in a few cutout 2 liter bottles suspended by string so I could hang a couple of them from the garage. It did work, and nothing was lost to the rabbits. I decided not to continue doing this as they were growing in plastic. This would be an acceptable alternative. Zac are you growing any this year? I though I saw you were not doing any this year.

Hey AAH,
I've been doing a similar thing with PVC Pipe tied to the fence. Works a treat, very nice setup in the greenhouse!

Looks good Zac. I had some trouble this year with strawberries not only from insects but also a lot of rain making many of berries rot. I don't have a greenhouse though so not sure I can make this method work for me.