You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Urban Garden 2015: Highways, Occupied Land and Community

in #gardening3 years ago

It would be nice if we could get back to more intentional growing. It was always remarkable to see the reaction of young kids to this project. They got down and dirty and very busy. We had so many visits from children who wanted to grow things and was fascinated with eating a tomato off the vine or planting something and watch it grow weekly. Then there were the neighbors who would stop by for green tomatoes as that isn't often sold in stores and its a big part of southern US food culture. Really remarkable. I do hope to get some growing down. My wife just bought a package of Thyme seeds. I've never grown that. So I am curious to see how it works out.

Sort:  

I hope it works out and you can get back to it.

I/m a fairly prepared dude but there's a few areas I lack in and growing is one of them. Ask me to hunt, trap, snare, navigate in the wilderness, defend myself, build a shelter, do some first aid, make a fire, make ammo and so on...Yeah, I go it...But grow some stuff? Hmm...It's that I can't do it, it's a lack of opportunity, room mostly. We're rectifying that though as my wife loves it in the garden. We're working on it.

Good luck with the thyme...Having fresh herbs in the garden is so nice...Nothing quite like fresh herbs in cooking.