Garden Journal Early October πŸŒ±πŸ‘©β€πŸŒΎπŸŒΏπŸŒ·πŸ₯¦

in #gardenjournal β€’ 3 years ago (edited)

I have no idea of how to start this gardening journal for November, 2021. I'm not the most methodical or organised gardener! The end of October saw a massive storm with huge wind gusts that toppled many trees in the area. We only lost two, but a lot of the garden was looking rather frazzled. Needless to say, we couldn't even get in the garden for a few days!

Things are quite humid now after all the rain and with lots of lovely sunshine. The tomatoes are doing well. Most people say to put them in on Melbourne Cup day, which is today - you know, the day everyone gambles and contributes to animal abuse, that day. I always plant mine a good few weeks earlier!

20211101_133537.jpg

I've been pulling lots of broccoli and snowpeas. I think I prefer the harvest after the first heads - the offshoots and the leaves feel like a secret abundance to me.

I've planted out two beds with a summer green manure so they'll lie largely unused, except for some beans around the edges. Last year I got a huge crop of yellow butter beans so I'm hoping the same this year. I planted borlotti and some others as well but I've already forgotton which was which. I really must get better at labelling.

I'm a bit puzzled about this elder still. It was sold as a 'native' elder, but google isn't helping me at all in this regard. To me it still looks like sambucus nigra - what do you think? The pink one. It smells nicer than the golden one so I'm keen to use the flowers as well as the berries. It's proper big and provides beautiful shade for the chooks.

20211101_134417.jpg

Speaking of chooks, the gold laced wyandottes are the noisiest birds I've ever had. They'll tell you all about it and the neighbourhood as well, but won't come near you AND will jump fences. Might get rid of a couple when I see how these babies grow up. And yes, I used the cute fluffy butts as clickbait. I think I have too many chooks as I'm spending far too much time keeping them off my garden.

IMG_20211024_191753_214.jpg

I'm also loving the irises. The white ones appeared first, but any day now should see the deep yellows and burgundies. Whilst they don't give me food, they sure give me cheer, as do the little heartsease and my old fave, calendula, whose seeds I throw everywhere.

image.png

image.png

It really is a time of abundance. I'm more looking forward to next year though, when my garden time is uninterrupted by work. Also, mushroom farming - that's a whole new addition to the food self sufficiency I'm aiming for. It was super satisfying making a meal that consisted largely of home grown produce - mushrooms, artichokes, nettle gnocchi was a winner on the weekend - if I can get into cheese making with milk swapped with locals for produce I feel I'll have it made!

image.png

How are your gardens growing?

What garden projects are you thinking about?

What have been your successes this year? Tips?

Do share with us - find this week's challenge pinned in my blog!

With Love,

image.png

My Post.jpg

HG SMALL.png

Join The Hive Garden Community! The HIVE GARDEN COMMUNITY supports gardening, homesteading, cannabis growers, permaculture and other garden related content. Delegations to the curation account, @gardenhive, are welcome! Find our community here!

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here!


Sort: Β 

I'm happy to see your gardens progress.

Mine here is getting well even though we experience a lot of rain.
I'm also planning by next year I will be cultivating the rice field to make it a vegetable garden since I think we don't have a chance to do rice planting anymore.

Why don't you do rice planting anymore? I think a vegetable garden is a great idea. Rain is good - we need more of it here as it can get really dry.

A lot of issues to consider like we don't get enough and equal water sources for the plantation and some landowners are getting strict where the water would passed through.

So maybe it's better to make something out of it.

Oh I'm glad you're finding a silver lining and making most of situation. Can't wait to read your garden journal!

Thanks, I will soon πŸ™‚.

Today I learned a new word: Chooks. I had to look it up because I wasn't sure if those chicks were from some weird Australian bird. 🐀

Hive: consistently teaching non Australians what 'chook' means.

Now, call chickens in a shrill voice, saying 'chook chook chook chook CHOOOOOOKS' and you'll get it.

Heeh! Awesome. The way I learned it was like this:

Totally got me with the fluffy birds that reminded me of when I tried to save 3 fledglings that had fallen.

He he he - yep, totally clickbaited people! Aren't they cute! I remember you saving birds, you're a good man. HOpe you are well xx

Congratulations @riverflows! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 25500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 26000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The new HiveFest⁢ attendee badge is waiting for you
Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day
Β 3 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

Beautiful elder and irises. Maybe identification becomes easier once they have black berries ? I really like the pansies. Burgundies. Never knew these. After you said Calendula I felt like Tea.

I think so - it smells amazing under the elder too - really beautiful. i could just stand there and sniff for days.

You're really doing an amazing job but these storm and rain is one of the most Gardeners have because when the storm comes it ruins plants which brings about a lot of work to put up the garden again. I see your plants are doing well. Weldone πŸ₯°

Thanks @teknon - at least gardeners know that things grow back again.. I'm glad my garden wasn't over damaged..

Aaaaa I was totally clickbaited hahaha yes I gave in to the fluffy chicks, you've got me lol. They are so cuuuteeee

Your garden look awesome you are one busy working bee

It's a way for me to deflect stress... I think if I was super calm I wouldn't have a big garden!

This is like therapy and you can see physical results! Gardening is powerful, anything plant related is powerful. Since I started to collect/hoard plants I am more peaceful. I love them and care for them as if they are my babies. So I can only imagine how having a garden must feel.

Ahhhh, spring in November, complete with fluffy butts. :))

Planting garlic in the cold here....