Fat Down, Money Up (Resolution Report #1)

in #goals6 years ago

Fat down, Money up

Working my way toward my New Year’s Resolution.


B271CB17-5676-488B-9D8B-3B1EF60443E5.jpeg


So how am I doing?

Well, I seem to have reached a new weight average of 82.3 kg, which is slightly higher than when I began exercising on January 4. On that day, my weight was exactly 82 kg, and that was after eating and drinking quite a bit during the holidays, so I’m guessing that even 82 kg was a little above normal.

At two weeks in, contrary to my goal, I’ve gained a little weight. But that’s okay. I expected this to happen. Or, to be more honest, I thought that this might happen.

When you begin working out, even if only for nine to ten minutes a day like I am trying to do, you build a little muscle. With muscle being heavier than fat, it is not unusual for sedentary people who start exercising to gain weight before they begin losing it.

What I am happy about is that I have continued exercising now for two weeks.

And while I haven’t yet met my goal of exercising daily, I did exercise more this week than I did the week before. So, even though it is only a small improvement, I do feel like I have accomplished something.

During my first week, I only exercised four out of seven days. This past week, I exercised five out of seven days. One of those days I even exercised in front of my son. And, though it may not sound like much, that is a big accomplishment for me.

Typically, I prefer to work, write, exercise, and do a number of other things in private. When somebody suddenly appears or something suddenly comes up, I almost always postpone my plans until later. As I’m sure many of you know, in most cases, that later means never.

In other words, if I don’t do what I set out to do in the morning, ninety-nine percent of the time I don’t get around to doing it afterward. Being aware of this habit of mine, when my son suddenly woke up early and came downstairs at 5:30, rather than talking to him and engaging him in some sort of play, I asked him to wait for me and then I went ahead with my exercise routine while he watched with curiosity.

The first time I tried doing this exercise routine it destroyed me.

I couldn’t even do one of the abdominal raises at the end of the routine and some of the other exercises like The Mountain Climber and the One Minute Plank were very, very challenging. The first time I did the Plank, I had to take two breaks during the allotted one-minute time span.

Now, after only two weeks of doing this routine, I can already do ten Abdominal Raises before needing to take a small break, I can get through the full minute of Mountain Climbers, though not easily, and on some days, I can even do the Plank for one full minute without taking a break.

This routine is very hard on my leg muscles and difficult for me. I can’t power my way through it by any means. I am getting better at it, though, and I do feel like I am getting stronger. I also feel like I can see small changes beginning to take place in my body, which, of course, makes me happy.

After two weeks, I have to say that I am pleased with myself for putting in the effort I have made so far and I am also pleased with the way that I feel.

This is just the beginning of a yearlong project and I know that the real trials are yet to come. I hope, though, that all of you will stick with me and give me the encouragement I will most likely need to push myself to the next level when things get more challenging.

As far as the Money Up part of my New Year’s Resolution goes, the only thing I have done so far is put the idea that I want to make more money this year out there for everyone to see and know. That was only a week ago and already it has resulted in an increase in translation work requests and a friend contacting me about a computer application that allows you to by US stocks from abroad at a low buy-in price and in a foreign currency. While these are most likely just coincidences, I will take them. Anything that helps me move in the direction of financial freedom I will accept.

I’m not sure where all of this is going to lead me, but I’m beginning to see a clearer picture of the life I want to live and pursue, and that is exciting!

Thank you for reading this!

And thank you also for participating in my quest to lose 10 kg, increase my earnings, and find a new direction for my life to take.


Part One: How I’m Making My Resolutions Happen

Sort:  

Great job my friend. The hardest part is starting. Hopefully you see these resolutions through. 2 weeks down and still going strong. If I may offer up some advice, maybe look more at your body composition rather than weight. 10pounds of fat is dramatically different than 10 pounds of muscle. Composition is far more important than the number on the scale. Either way glad to see you’re sticking to it. Keep it up

Thanks. Sticking with it has always been harder for me than starting. I definitely want to lose the layer of fat that seems to be spreading all over me Year after year. I’d also like to reduce the circumference of my waist a little. For me, the number is just something to shoot for and the real goal is receiving the other benefits that come from exercise.

Keep it up. It won't be easy, but then again, nothing that comes easy is worth doing

Very true!

Well, I think you are doing very well. I say that because (a) you are sticking to something and (b) putting your progress out there in the open. I don't remember the exact numbers, but it takes something on the order of 25 days to change a habit. So if you consider this a long term program, you're well on track!

25 days? That’s good to know. Continuing into and through February I expect to be difficult. I can already feel this blog helping. Just sitting down and writing this today made me realize how important including people in my goals and reporting my progress to them is. Thanks for the support!

It takes 21 days to change a habit but a habit is just an unconscious way of doing work.

So you’re training your body to do the work for you, is that it? I’m finding that all of this effort is putting the practice of exercise at the forefront of my awareness, which make it harder to brush aside and easier to continue with. Well, continuing is still difficult, but I can sort of see it getting easier as time goes on.

Training your body to do the work is muscle memory. Although you obviously need it but still what I'm trying to emphasise is try paying attention to the technique or rather form and breathing while you perform your reps. Otherwise, lack of attention may lead to poor form and that could ( I don't want you to get injured ) but still you could get injured. And yeah, practice makes perfect.

Without working with a trainer it’s hard to tell if my form is good or bad. I am trying to keep what seems like good form to me. I can’t focus on reps yet. I’m just getting through each minute consistently. That in itself is enough to get me breathing hard and elevate my heart rate.

Lol. Put do it slowly then. Otherwise, you'll get injured.

so nice and good post plz visit

whether sports Climbers Mountain a type of martial sports boxing @boxcarblue

Very nic post

I’m glad you liked it. Thanks for reading.

Verry good post

Thanks for dropping by!

I like

I’m glad. Thank you!

Wow you have already gone through your plans, Good job friend it sounds great. Good luck for your great journey.

Yes. I’ve begun to implement my plans. Carrying them through to the end won’t be easy though. There’s still a long way to go.

That’s not what my exercise routine looks like;)

I'm right behind you on following through on my resolutions, I am currently vacationing in Hawaii so haven't eaten great here, but am going to crush this year when I get home, getting fit, making money, quitting drinking, and becoming the man I want to be. Awesome to see posts like this, keep them up, watch your progress and be motivated from it!

Yeah, I can imagine vacationing in Hawaii doesn’t make eating less and quitting drinking very easy to do. It’s seems like a great place to have a last hurrah, though.

It's been an excellent last hurrah, coming to a close with some hot pot tonight, once I get back I'm going to try to keep myself on track with a post once a week or so. I was also trying to talk to @exyle about doing a steemfat challenge for people, I think it could be cool to have like a 50SBD prize pool for the winner by vote at the end of 3-6 months or something, I'll try to get it started up

I haven’t looked at @exyle’s posts yet, but your the second person to mention them. A contest of some sort would be cool, or maybe even a prize of some kind for everyone who reaches their goal.

Posting helps tremendously. That’s where some real accountability comes in. I didn’t get my workout done yesterday or the day before, but I got back on the horse today. That’s the key, I think, just keep moving forward as best as you can.

If you are in need for motivation then I can certainly help. I have a series called Motivational Mondays on my blog that caters to this specific need of motivation. So if you like to then please do have a look at this. I'll be very happy with your presence over there. Thanks for contributing to the fitness initiative on steemit. Have a nice day.

I don’t realize there was a fitness initiative on Steemit. That’s good to know. Thanks!

Everyone putting in the required amount of effort in order to bring awareness about fitness is a part of the fitness initiative here.

Sounds like a good initiative to me. I’ll do what I can.

Awesome. Thanks for helping out then.

What a true inspiration! You're definitely going on the right track.
Thank you for sharing your journey and letting us tag along.

Thanks for reading. I’m remember when I quit smoking, it didn’t get easier for a long, long time. I imagine this will be the same.

Strong start. Keep it up. We talked about the weight versus inches (centimeters) and I’m glad to see you not getting discouraged. Cheers to continued success.

Thanks! I’ve still got to dig that measuring tape out of its drawer and get started on the measurements.

Since writing this post I’ve had two off days. I still have time to squeeze a workout in today, but I’ll have to do it when everyone’s around, which is a good challenge.

One of the hardest things so far has been being motivated to exercise in the morning. Yesterday and today I felt really drained and, I think, needed some extra rest (too much snow shoveling probably). But like I said, if I don’t do the exercises in the morning, it’s almost guaranteed to I won’t do them later in the day. I guess that’s something to work on.

Shoveling snow is an exercise equivalent ;-D

It definitely is:)

Fantastic idea! Its great that you're writing all this down and sharing it. Helps keep you on track and hold yourself accountable!

May have to try something similar!

If you do, let me know. I’ve found so far that it doesn’t make things easier, but it makes me more aware of what I have and haven’t done, which makes me better able to do something to compensate for a missed workout, etc. I think this awareness is an important part of being successful in the long term.

Hello my friend. Keep the spirit. :) As for the coincidences part. I believe that it is not a coincidence. You get where you put your focus on. The universe works mysteriously in that way for you.

It definitely does. I think materializing things in any form is really important: talking to yourself, wishing out loud, writing notes and letters, writing posts, etc. when you put the message out there, it seems to be heard in some form or another.

Keep it up. Body needs some time to adjust, but when it does, it will be much easier.

Thanks. I’m doing what I can to stay consistent and work through the good days and the bad days. It’s almost time to report on another week. Geez... Time flies.

very good friend carry on your task

I’m trying to;)

Thanks for this article. And thank you for resteeming me also. God will bless you.

You’re very welcome!



So now you are like this, are not you? ;)
arnold has and will always have the honor of being the physical body of a most perfect man of all times, well at least for me, I believe that his physique is art I would like to be like him.


it is very likely that you reach financial freedom with steemit at least I see that you are on the right track and I encourage you to continue as you are going well, I also have that goal, have financial and time freedom, I hope we can some day to realize our dreams