Golf Rehab - Step 1, Getting Back in Shape

in #golf6 years ago

images.jpg

After last week’s golf round of 92 where I hit it nice and straight but was 10 to 20 yards shorter on all of my clubs, I realized it probably had a lot to do with my current physical conditioning. I’m not a strong as I was when I was playing regularly 9 years ago before kids. I’m not as flexible as I was in my 20s. And my technique was likely off some as well (i.e., I probably didn’t hit the center of the club face as well as I usually do.)

As a result, I’ve committed to a 12-week golf rehab program that includes regular workouts and playing more consistently.

My workouts so far have consisted of running a mile warm up, pull-ups, push-ups, lunges, crunches, core exercises, squat jumps (with a twist) and sprints. I’ve done three workouts so far and am definitely sore at the end of them.

My next golf outing will be on next week sometime. Not sure exactly when, maybe on Monday. On the course I’m going to working on my distance…trying to hit the ball farther but within control. I’ve also been working on my short game a bit around the house…putting in my living room and chipping in my yard. The feel is coming back!

So, I’m excited about the program I’m doing. It’s nice to give myself a reason to get back in shape and take care of myself. It’s interesting to me how GOLF is the motivating factor behind me doing this. Why can’t I just do it for myself? It’s like I need to give myself a challenge…interesting indeed.

Anyway, I’ll update everyone as I progress.

1 week down! 11 to go!
Chris