Learning Golf for First Time

in #golf3 years ago (edited)

img_6572.png

Being at the age of now 42 and been looking at the computer monitor for my entire career as a product designer I have noticed my neck is not as flexible as it used to be.... head banging to rave music is not as easy as it was back in college. hehehe.

I been looking for some sports that can help me turn my neck more smoothly at the same time my eyes can rest by looking far out the horizon. It seems like golf was a good choice to give out a try.

So I started without any knowledge and visited a golf practice range near my home.

img_6555.png

I have only seen people play golf and try to mimick the good ol 'monkey see monkey do' trick. I felt like "ok... i guess this is how you hit a golf ball.". However obviously I wasn't sure I am doing it correctly. So I asked a friend who does play golf and showed him a picture of my swing to see if I am doing it correctly. As you see the picture below, he mentioned my swing is too vertical. To be honest I had no idea what he was talking about.

img_6557.png

So he showed me a picture of how Tiger woods hit an iron golf club, text book style.

img_6559.jpg

This.... is easier said than done.

I tried searching on youtube... I was getting even more confused because everyone was saying something different from one another.

After trying multiple times on my own I realized my glove was wearing out very quickly and part of my body was starying to hurt (palms, wrist, rib cage, waist.... ect). Surely I knew I wasn't doing something or perhaps everything right.

img_6560.jpg

I understood at the moment the best way is to invest in myself and learn from a golf instructor... and practice through milage.

img_6575.png

img_6572.png

After a month (10 lessons) I have begining to improve as well as my body was now more flexible. I realized the art of golf is to know how to relax the body and let the club do itsthing.

I realized I was doing everything wrong in the first place. While my skills are improving I have also been enjoying the sports itself... its kind of meditation in a way.

Now my neck feels a lot better and I feel more healthy as well. It seems golf is good for both the mind and body. :)

img_6574.png


Click the link to see full slo-mo video... I dont hit the ball everytime like this, but this one out of 1000 hits maybe was the best one. hahahaha.

I highly recommend anyone who wants to give golf a try to bettering both mind and body. Plus, its gets more fun as you improve. Its never too late to try something new.

Happy golfing!~

Sort:  

I have a lot little over a decade over you, and yes, it's definitely more challenging in the mosh pit these days!

(yes I'm kidding... mostly...😂)

In all seriousness, I'm here because @solominer indirectly pointed me in your direction, and I'm glad he did. While I never got into golfing (the only thing I do passably well is the golf clap 😆), I used to have the same meditative relationship with tennis years ago. I'm long overdue for finding something to replace it. That slow mo video was pretty cool too.

I also saw your reply to @adamada that you're still pretty unfamiliar with how things work on Hive & figured I'd mention that if you ever need assistance, feel free to tag me. I've been working with the OCD @lovesniper crew (essentially a newbie welcome wagon) so I could probably point you in the right direction.

Hope you're having an awesome weekend!

Hi traciyork~ Thanks on your comment and I totally understand what you mean when you mentioned "meditative relationship with tennis". I played tennis a little bit in high school and when the tennis ball hits the sweet spot of the racket.... it just feels and sounds so nice... :)

I am relatively new towards blogging and I am here thanks to @solominer. He is a good friend of mine for like 15 years... great personality he has. :) I will for sure need guidance not only in Hive but also mentorship in life as well with like-minded individuals. Thank you so much in reaching out to me.

Hive platform I am still trying to understand its pros & cons.... and most importantly I would like to also find a way to contribute towards a great community. The world really needs it...

Lets keep in touch~ and have a great weekend as well!

Loading...

@traciyork

Glad my reblog brought your attention to my friend @whangster79. I onboarded him a few months before the whole steemit drama started. Glad he has joined us over on Hive now.

Thanks for giving him some tips, I have been educating him as well and glad he is now flourishing now on this platform.

Says a lot about the role of teachers, mentors, guides, in our lives. Acts as catalysts to make the reaction faster.

Congratulations on mastering the act of golf👏

Catalyst.... is the best word to describe it. You are absolutely right. Thank you~


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thank you for sharing~ So wonderful to discover new people and share new ideas.

😊

I take my hat off to you at your perseverance @whangster79! I am the same vintage as @traciyork and am a sport fan. From the couch and in my kitchen. No, not on the kitchen table 🤭🤦🏼‍♀️ but rather standing for hours on end, chopping and cooking. At least once a week. My feet and back let me know all about it after 14 hours... Do pop in to our @hive-106316 community where these and other challenges antics of those of us who are somewhat less flexible and who miss the still aspire to doing the head banging dancing...

Thanks alot for leaving a comment for my friend there. I was not aware of the HiveSilverBloggers community. I will review it and send some delegation its way when I have some surplus HP to spare.

You - and @whangster79 - are most welcome. Please do pop in to Silver Bloggers. We are still finding our way as mature novices in this community and management thing! I've just been lamenting to co-founder @lizelle that I wish I had more time to "work" on it! Any help you offer will be most appreciated. Oh, and you might want to consider participating in our current initiative Has the pandemic changed your future plans?... #justasuggestion :D

Congratulations on getting involved in the fine art of golf! Well, yes... because it is about as much an "art" as it is a "game."

Watching this makes me want to dust off my clubs and start playing again. I played quite a lot from age 14 to about 35 and then gave up because I just didn't have a work life that allowed for me to give up 5 hours (give or take) to play 18 holes. Now I have rounded 60 and the game is starting to look interesting again.

Have fun out there!

Good to see you posting again. Proof that YouTube vids aren't enough for the real thing. I learned something new, that golf club swings can do that to your gloves. Is it because of the natural intensity of friction or did it had to do with you not doing the right pose and swing?

Thank adamada~ Those you see in the photo are my first gloves, and yes it went through a lot of wear and tear. I bought some new gloves after I started my class and my instructor told me that I dont need to grasp the club so hard. The key to golfing he said was to know how to relax and let the weight of the club do its work.... just release it. Not swing it.

After numerous practice with knowing how to relax in mind, then my gloves stopped wearing out and actually started to get kind of a polished leather kind of look. I had no idea how such little things like thinking to relax can make such a huge difference.

Thanks!~

Glad to see you having fun and getting the most out of those training sessions. BTW I don't really use 3Speak but you can also upload your content there and it's visible here. Something to have as an option for your sharing your rides and golf activities if Youtube isn't. :>

Ultra thanks~ yes I will try on 3speak from now on. I am still new to this platform and I appreciate your guidance. I live this community. :)

Love~~~ I mean. Actually Live it tooo!!! lolz

@adamada

Yeah I am glad hes back too, he is my most successful onboard so far :-)

Congratulations @whangster79! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 1750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.
You received more than 1000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 2000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 7

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @whangster79.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

nice and clean field

Thanks roma94~ I found out the best time to go practice is in the morning as soon as its open. No balls.... and less people. When I go in the afternoon the the grass is just filled with white dots. :)

I like golf a lot but I'm not very good at it. I should learn more 😅

I started out not knowing what golf is and I still dont understand how the numbers of game works. I think once I am more comfortable I can challenge an actual course and learn about scoring. Lolz~ My friend once told me that golf is a mastery of skill you can improve till the moment of death. :)

Awesome! Never too old to learn a new trick! While I suck at real golf, I’m not too shabby at disc golf which I absolutely love.

Hah oh man I gotta play some disc golf, I see them around all the parks just have not played yet.

Oh I love it. As with anything like that, I’m sure your level of fun will depend on the group you are playing with. But it’s definitely something I’ve gotten into more throughout the years.

Oh man great post here on what you have been doing, I have never gotten into golf. Maybe you can take me out when you come back to Georgia and we can give it a try.

Ofcourse Solo!~~~ Its what I had in mind when I plan to go back. I miss Georgia~~ and I heard there are a lot of good golf courses around Georgia. Nice n Easy I like to take it~ I hope to play with you as well Solo~

One thing about learning is that, you learn to be acquainted, with what I am seeing here, you are not doing be at all, you are improving

Thanks Daniel, golf seems to be much more than what people see through their eyes.... Its what I believe a very personal sport. The hardest challenge I face is when for example my wife is watching and I want to show off a nice ultra powerful swing.... THAT is where I make all the mistakes and truly never happens. Only when I am alone and focused then I hit pretty good and wished my wife was there. LOLZ. :)

When you are fully conversant, watching you hit it will not beings any mistakes,

Lol I never practiced golf but I've been to a driving range and it does give everyone a good exercise. People were sweating for playing for hours. Apparently those clubs aren't light at all. Haha. Good job then since you got better at it. 👍👍👍

Thanks artgirl~ yea who knew swinging would be such a work out. lolz, in the beginning I thought it would be a total piece of cake, till I start sweating to the point my t-shirt color changed from dry to completely wet. :) and yes those irons are not as light as it looks. Hope you can enjoy it as well bits at a time~~ just like Art.

Loading...