New Avatar/Signature?

in #graphics2 years ago (edited)

My avatar has been the same ever since @fraenk's googly eyes contest inspired me to decorate a 20-sided die (d20) and snap the photo here. I finally got around to making a stylized graphic based on that photo in Canva and GIMP, and now I need to decide how I want to use it here. @ryivhnn's signature also inspired me to explore using this as a comment embellishment, too.

The quandary: I still manually curate the intro posts highlighted by @lovesniper, but today I experimented with a boilerplate reply, and it feels a bit off-putting to me. I am averse to seeing or making copy/paste comments. Then again, I often find it difficult to come up with a clever personal comment, too.


Hive Divider Bar Centered.png


Welcome aboard! I'll delegate some Hive Power for a couple weeks to help you get started. This means you will have more resource credits for commenting, voting, and posting. Learn more here.

Be sure to write down your keys and save them somewhere offline. Click here for an overview by another author on which keys do what. Beware of scammers, and don't enter your keys anywhere carelessly.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask!


Hive Divider Bar Centered.png


What do you think, is this crass or classy? After trying it out, I'm not convinced I want to keep using this text block. The image and links to the main trio of frontends is probably worth making into a comment template of sorts, though.

It was fun to take another look at my overall online persona. I still use my original HIVE graphics as seen in this post, but they are also probably due for an update with better tools and skills now at my disposal. I'm also thinking about dropping the FreeBitco.in referral. Here for my own consideration more than anything else are the contrasting current template (left) versus what I am considering (right).


Hive Divider Bar Centered.png


468x60-3.png

You'll more likely win just a few Satoshis per hourly spin, but it's an easy way to dip your toes in the Bitcoin ecosystem. Referral link.

PeakD Signature Bar.png

If you're not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through PeakD. If you use my referral link, I'll even delegate some Hive Power to help you get started.

dizzy d20 small.png
HIVE - PeakD - Ecency

If you're not on Hive yet, I invite you to join using PeakD through my referral link. I'll even delegate some Hive Power to help you get started!


Hive Divider Bar Centered.png


Anyhow, that's probably enough late-night rambling as I try to sort my own thoughts on the topic of templates and boilerplate in light of some new avatar experimentation. Chime in with a comment, and let me know what you think of my design draft and my inner struggle about balancing new user acknowledgement comments and active engagement.

Sort:  

Yay I'm an inspiration!

OH CRAP I'M AN INSPIRATION NOW I HAVE TO KEEP UP APPEARANCES.

I do not keep up appearances in the slightest

which signature my comment one or the upgoats? XD

I love the googly eyed dice!

if it's any consolation, my username/avatar combination has been the same for at least 18 years

I can relate on the use of text blocks, I tried it while moderating and didn't like using it x_x

The one in your comment here. Also, no pressure. Begins applying social pressure

!PIZZA

I love the new graphic!

And I hear ya on the whole impersonal auto-comment vs. personal engagement thing. I am struggling a bit on that front, as I always do in the summer with my outside the blockchain workload hitting its peak.

That said, maybe do a bit of both, as in you can reach more people with your ready made welcome wagon graphic in a post but at the same time make sure you are doing some real life commenting/welcoming too?

I don't know, I probably shouldn't have said anything, I've inhaled entirely too much lavender to be useful at any cognitive pursuit this morning. lol!

!PIZZA

Maybe it's time to take a break and have a !BEER? Better yet, see if T. can be persuaded to brew a lavender-infused batch next time!

I think I might get a break after fair...maybe? Ugh.

Anyway, I have dreams about a lavender and orange peel infused Hefeweizen, I think it would be splendid. This needs to happen!

Thanks for the beer!


Hey @generikat, here is a little bit of BEER from @jacobtothe for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I think your intro post comment is really friendly and helpful. There is so much they need to learn, I think you offer of further help is especially kind.

Hi @jacobtothe. Nice graphics. untitled.gif

NEET!

Heh. I have been thinking about adding some curved cartoony wobble symbols on either side to slightly enhance the effect.

What do you think, is this crass or classy?

The graphic is good. A 3d touch will transform it just close enough to the real thing.

I am averse to seeing or making copy/paste comments. Then again, I often find it difficult to come up with a clever personal comment, too.

I don’t know what kind of intro posts they’re making but the comment you made on my intro post was clever to me. And helpful too. If you’re finding it hard to come with a personal comment, maybe you just have nothing to say about what you read. People will be more than grateful for just an upvote.

I have this problem sometimes too where I read a post and want to leave a clever comment, but whatever I think of just isn’t it, so I end up passing but I really wanted to show that person they made a great post.

Your post got a personal response. I wasn't feeling brain-dead that day. !PIZZA

Lucky me. I just got a notification about getting pizza from you. I’m a little confused:/

It's a token on a HIVE side-chain used for fun. Accumulate enough, and you can send it out, too.

Mmm interesting.

I like the graphic a lot! Its fun. I know what you mean on the template comments. They can be a bit meh without that personal touch but its whetheryou have the time/patience for a lot of them if it comes to a personlised one

I have also tried just upvoting and delegating without comment, and that resulted in a few replies when people sought me out to offer thanks. Perhaps that is a better barometer for long-term active users who intend to engage, so that may be the way to go instead.

!BEER


Hey @meesterboom, here is a little bit of BEER from @jacobtothe for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Nice... for a second there I was worried you're dropping the dice completely, glad to see it's just making an evolution.

I feel honored to be a part of this story!

Ha! No, for better or worse, I think the dizzy d20 will remain for the foreseeable future, and it's entirely your fault!

!PIZZA

Good day, I just dropped by to say thank you for delegating me some Hive Power! It will help me a lot to explore this platform since I'm still a newbie and I'm in the process of learning how to manage my account well. Thank you for being a part of it! Have a great day!
Sincerely,
TeacherLynlyn :)

You are welcome! What is your perspective as a new user when it comes to these less-personal generic welcome messages?

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
jacobtothe tipped ryivhnn (x1)
@generikat(1/15) tipped @jacobtothe (x1)
jacobtothe tipped depressedfuckup (x1)
jacobtothe tipped fraenk (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

I think the design is really cute. I did not realize at first that it was a d20 with googly eyes🤣

great work on this it looks great

Congratulations @jacobtothe! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 26000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 27000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!