Healthier habits

in #health3 months ago

That time of the year, went on a checkup recently and let's just say the doctor was surprised when I told him I don't drink at all as he was looking at the lab results. It kind of gave me a kick to start doing things differently moving forward so yesterday I went on the first walk in a long time where the focus is just walking to get that breathing going.

I've yet to install @actifit but will try doing so today so you may see some posts on there from me moving forward.

I'm usually the kind of person to focus on one thing mainly when I enjoy and like seeing progress being made, which for the past 7+ years has been this chain and the people here but not so much myself and my own health. I realize I only have myself to blame but the fact that that doesn't bother me has become a bit worrisome lately. As I was talking to the doc about my other bad habits, some of which I've posted about here before, like my sleep, he mentioned that that may be one of the main things that's created some kind of bad spiral for my health.

Basically for the past few years I've had this sleep cycle where I wait until I'm completely exhausted to go to sleep, which after doing no exercise can depend when that happens, some days I'd go to sleep the same hour as the day prior, but most other days it would be a couple to a few hours later. Once I am sleeping I do sleep full 7-8 hours which is good but apparently the change in when I get to sleep confuses the body which can lead to different consequences. Exercise should technically help me fall asleep easier at the time I should go to sleep so from yesterday on forward I'm going to try my hardest to make it a habit to fall asleep around the same hour. He also mentioned that it's kind of a combination with the things I should be doing, i.e. if I exercise then my body is tired and helps me fall asleep easier, sleeping regular hours would give me more energy to want to go out and exercise, or at least get started to do so which is the hardest part usually cause once I'm out I do okay.

Motivated by the "if you keep this up these lab test results will only look worse next time" I went for a walk yesterday. Wasn't a long one cause I didn't want my legs to hurt the next day cause I knew I'd use that as an excuse not to go again but it went fine. I guess not having known the results in the past may have also given me some kind of anxiety about my health as in "oh something feels weird, I better stop" so knowing now there's nothing wrong with my heart or whatever it went a lot better.

Screenshot from Samsung Health app


image.png

As I said it was quite a chill walk, nothing far but from now on I intend on increasing the distance daily to ease into it. It's been like 3 days since I logged into the Samsung Health app so I guess it has started tracking other steps where we went out to take care of some other things downtown, so while this doesn't count as fitness I guess steps are still steps so I intend on keeping it going daily and you guys can feel free to hold me accountable to do so. :P

image.png

While I won't be aiming for 6k steps yet, depending on if we go out today during the day or not, I'll be aiming to walk longer than 1.5km in the evening when the sun isn't as harsh and not too many can see this fatass walking down the street. xD

My current weight is 110.4 which puts me in a 33 BMI range for my height, I need to bring that down to something like 90 preferably with muscles instead of just fat, if no muscles then it should go lower to 82.

Anyway, I guess other motivators lately to get my health in order have also been @holozing, this isn't to undermine other people I care about in my life but I guess if you really enjoy something and want to see it through it helps being alive to see it get there. Exercising should also help me clear my head and think clearer when it comes to the project which I'm looking forward to.

Thanks for reading, wish me luck!

I realize I've posted similar posts before then just ghosted on the follow-up, this time will be different.
I promise.

Sort:  

Take it from an old gal, best to start looking after your body while you're young!
It's hard to break old habits but once you get moving and feel the benefits, it becomes part of your daily routine.
You're so right, baby steps in the beginning will make your goals achievable. No good hurting those muscles and then having to stop the momentum.
Wishing you well with your journey to health and a good sleeping pattern! Mine is very bad, my health app keeps on warning me!
Thought I'd share the fascinating 72 hour sardine challenge with you. It kickstarts your metabolism. My son, the diehard Warcraft player😉, lost 3kg during that challenge, and chose to move to a Keto diet afterwards. The feel-good benefits and weight loss is amazing.
This is the basics of the sardine challenge:

I just went in for my annual physical today too. Needless to say my numbers weren't great. Believe it or not I work out about four or five times a week. I'd like to say it gets easier once you get in the habit, but it doesn't. The doc wants to do a sleep study and they tested my testosterone level since I am down one from the cancer. Hopefully between those two tests I can get some answers why the exercise isn't working.

The hardest thing is always to take that first step to take that habit of walking, I have 3 months if doing it I'm honest I'm lazy, I also have the same problem with sleep maybe that's why when it dawns I have no mood, you definitely have to take care of your health, I was listening to an actor say that every time he went to the doctor for any pathology the recommendation was always the same walking and healthy eating these two activities serves for all ills, so he decided to make this part of his daily routine, I hope you recover soon blessings 💚❤️

"Healthy body, healthy mind" That's what the ancients used to say, and it's still true today. So, I don't understand why we are so foolish. Reading you, I realize I must also change some bad habits: Walking and having a routine, a bedtime ritual.

I hope your health plan doesn't remain just good intentions. So, lots of encouragement, as much as the one you have in the projects you are involved in.

Greetings.

I realize I've posted similar posts before then just ghosted on the follow-up, this time will be different.

It's ok just don't ghost on holozing :P

On side note hope you get healthier, it's definitely our greatest wealth

I went on the first walk in a long time where the focus is just walking to get that breathing going

Great first step! They say it takes 2 weeks to establish a new habit, so if you can walk every day for a few weeks then you'll likely keep doing it. Good luck! :)

@actifit is cool, even if you don't post. It brings out the gamer to try and hit targets or beat records. Even with no specific exercise, it's surprising what the baseline is simply moving about and doing chores. Actifit also motivates (most) people into creating a nice post around the step count daily which is an added bonus!

Stay well and best wishes :-)

It is very healthy to exercise. I hope I can make it a habit, which is difficult for me. I see him looking forward to it, which is very good. Set your mind to it and you will see that you can. Health first.

There are certain rules we must follow for good health including sleep and exercise. There is a saying that sleeping very early and waking up early is very good for health.

Nothing compares to a healthy mind and body. Sadly with the times when we get to spend a lot more time inside than outside and in most of the cases sitting in front of a computer, changes our health condition without even realizing it. It's sad to find out about it only when seeing a medic, but definitely not too late to do something.

I realized this on my own a bit over a year ago when I started going to the gym regularly and it does give me an energy and mood of happiness that no other activity brings. And I guess that's the feeling of doing something to stay healthy.

I wish you luck and success. Make these walks and exercises a fixed daily routine, e.g. always at the same time. That might help to establish them as habit.

a little self care is all you need!
!luv

acidyo, crazyphantombr sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/10) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

I realize I only have myself to blame but the fact that that doesn't bother me has become a bit worrisome lately.

Often we don't realize the impact, until it becomes a bottleneck after which it makes us serious. I have gone through a hell lot of health issues, and exercise is the only thing that makes me alive. Gone to many doctors, and I personally believe, we are the best doctor of our body, if we listen to our bodily symptoms. Once you start thinking about it ( which you do based on what I read in this post), you will be able to care for it again in some time. Good luck to you to achieve your goal sooner.

Bro! No point in being CEO if you ain't well enough to enjoy!

I recommend Plank Workout and Home Workout apps. They start with just 4-5 mins and will slowly build up. Even if you can't hold or do whatever for the allotted time, just simplify or wait 'til next exercise.

10-15km steps should be minimum for a day - get some headphones and escape the screen. Good luck!

Health is wealth. And exercising is no doubt a great way to feel more aliveness and help keep us more focused on tasks at hand. As a suggestion some meditations also won’t hurt, it all adds up.

so I intend on keeping it going daily and you guys can feel free to hold me accountable to do so. :P

Yeah right! Like that has ever worked 😜

On the other hand, you can track your walking with Samsung Health, by setting your walk as training. You can stop the "training" or end it when you're done. This is how you can have your training walk tracked separately, while you still have your total daily steps as well.

This reminds me of the saying, the best time to start was yesterday, and the next best time is now. It's good that you started exercising, and I hope your lab tests get better the next time you visit the doctor.

The most important promise

It is really necessary that we actually keep healthy in our habit as it needs to be and keep going no matter what as it ought to be and continue to do to stay fit

Good luck, and remember, you are designed to walk, its a great way to be active.

A good way to lvl up your walk ( and something I do), is to walk to the supermarket and buy your groceries, then walk home laden. I don't buy a full weekly load, but enough to fill two bags ( for balance), the walk home adds a bit of resistance training :-)

Hello, it's good that your heart is, we need you well, healthy and strong because this project has to reach the top guided by your hand. Greetings from Venezuela

The way I am reading this, I actually felt I need to start working also on my health badly by taking some good healthy habit which is quite needed

All the best with your health goals! :)