One beer a day keeps diabetes away

in #health7 years ago

We all know drinking a glass of (red) wine a day is supposedly healthy for your heart. But recent study says beer is also healthy!

You could stop reading now and start raiding the fridge for beers

I could stop writing now and start drinking beer... hmm... I guess some of you would like to know more though, so I might have to choose to drink while writing or don't drink until the workday is over... That's probably the smart thing to do ;-)

Anyways...

Some scientists in Rio de Janeiro from the Federal Institute of Education Science and Technology decided it was time to give fifteen healthy adult men (from 20 to 57 years old) 330ml of beer a day.

The first 30 days they didn't get beer though (poor guys), so that the scientists could get numbers to compare with.
The 2nd 30 days they got 330ml of non-alcoholic beer.
The 3rd 30 days they got 330ml of alcoholic beer (6%).

Free beer! yay!
But only one a day :-(
Oh... and not for us, but for the men who participated in the study.

Of course they took blood samples during the study so that numbers could be compared.

Here's the gist of it:
Drinking alcoholic beer significantly reduced insulin levels, fasting glucose levels and insulin resistance

Side-note: All carbohydrates we consume (grains, pasta, rice, sugar, etc.) get converted to glucose (blood-sugar) in our bodies. When glucose levels go up, so does insulin. Insulin tells our cells to store the glucose (in fat and muscle cells).
If someone has high insulin resistance it means the cells respond poorly to the insulin and doesn't store the glucose properly. This causes high levels of glucose to remain high, which can be dangerous. This is called diabetes type 2.

Thus drinking an alcoholic beer a day significantly reduces the chance of getting diabetes!
Of course it doesn't stop there as having better insulin sensitivity means it's:

  • harder to get fat
  • easier to lose fat
  • easier to build muscle
  • improves quality of sleep
  • speeds up recovery (from training or injury)
  • reduces heart disease risks
  • etc.

So there you have it, drink your beer and feel good about it!

Cheers

Study referenced: Schrieks, Ilse C., et al. "The effect of alcohol consumption on insulin sensitivity and glycemic status: a systematic review and meta-analysis of intervention studies." Diabetes Care 38.4 (2015): 723-732.

If you like beer, please...

Sort:  

Definitely worth the Upvote!

Thanks! Awesome gif by the way :D

You´re welcome! Beer is important! :-D

I would never expected beer to be helpful to a diabetic. Interesting!

I'm a bourbon drinker mostly, but I'm tempted to drink a beer a day just so I can yell, "I'M HEALTHY!" at people who call me on it.

It always makes me feel better when I read that I can drink beer and it's healthy to do so!!! Thanks!

Some of the oldest people alive still habitually drink alcohol. Great article. Now we all can relax and have a beer.

I'll say cheers to that.

one beer aday....this cants be true

That's what I thought, but it is true :-)

beer.... i gona be a pig

Haha, I have diabetes but I am not sure I would do the beer a day thing :-)

Type 2?
The study is done on healthy people (so no diabetes) and thus indeed not a recommendation for anyone who already has diabetes.

Type 2 diabetes can be improved (and sometimes 'cured') by changes in diet, but I'm sure you've ready about that or looked into that.
For example: I follow a cyclical ketogenic diet where I only eat carbohydrates twice a week, which also increases insulin sensitivity a lot!

@bartjan jip type2.. mainly triggered by PCOS.

I do think it is mainly my own fault too although there is a long trace in my genetic material of diabetes..

Haha.. the carbs are just simply soo tempting at times though! :-)

Especially donuts... man I love those :-)

oh my word haha yes.

having little kids in the house also doesn't make it any easier!

my little ones favourite is glazed donuts from a certain grocer and boy o boy can they make a donut :-)

Do you by any chance have any info about the eating plan you are following that works for you? I am constantly looking for tips that might make it a bit easier to work out mealtimes etc..

I do 'carb nite solution' when I'm leaning down and 'carb back-loading' when trying to gain muscle, both books from John Kiefer (link).
Summarized carb nite = only eat carbs one day a week, the other 6 days stay under 30gr carbs per day (max 10gr per meal). It forces the body to mobilize fat and use it for fuel.
First week is the hardest, after that it's easy.
Summarized CBL = no carbs (well... under 10gr per meal) for breakfast and lunch, then if there's weight training that day (I do 2-3 times a week) have carbs for dinner and late night snack. If no training, no carbs.
Easy to do from the start as you know the carbs are only 1-2 day away.

If not used to eating carb free the first time can be harder, cos the body needs to get adjusted to the lower glucose levels and can take a while to increase fat metabolism.

@bartjan thank you for taking the time to write it out for me. I am definitely going to see if I can also follow it.

It's my own stupidity, because as a teen I cut all the sugar and grains out of my diet and I did really well like that. After having my second little girl I just got too lazy to care about the meal plans I suppose lol

BEER!!! Yes I love my beer in the early afternoon after mowing the lawn. Beer with lunch. Beer after a long day after the other two beers. Don't forget about those nightcaps. ;)

I don't often drink beer, but I like the way the bottles sound when you hit them together and say "cheers". Fascinating. Upvoted (plus diabetes runs in my family and I need to be very careful. I walk to buy groceries instead of drive, at the expense of losing face in my home town as I walk home sweating and hunched over with a sac of groceries swung over my back, which will now be heavier with cases of beer.)

Wow. Beer can be healthy. Thanks.

I had three last night 😂😂😂

Nice, just don't expect to get three times the benefit ;-)

I used to like beer now that I have diabetes I don't! Lol great and funny article:)))

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jun 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $17.73 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 19 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Good, I have been drunk sometimes. That's great!

... If you don't have problems with health :)

Actually you need to check your body before drinking. As for me I have some gallbladder issues so it's bad to drink this tasty drink... Argh.. Good beer with Frankfurter Rindswurst... it's like yin and yang. Completes you )

yeah, good point. The study is done on healthy men, it does not say anything about health benefits if there's health problems already.

ah! too late for me, already crossed the line

Very hopeful news for us Dutch people. Tonight I can safely drink a few! :D

Hehe... in regards to health more is probably not better in this case. But you never know until you try ;-)

Good to know

Type 1 diabetic LCHF diet and 1 or 2 beers a day really does help control my diabetes. I can attest to it!!