You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Must Read Before Your Next Dentist Visit: Is Your Dentist Poisoning You?

in #health7 years ago (edited)

According to the FDA. Not that they're always right or share eeeeverything but they say

Dental amalgam is a mixture of metals, consisting of liquid (elemental) mercury and a powdered alloy composed of silver, tin, and copper. Approximately 50% of dental amalgam is elemental mercury by weight.

Now, the only reason I bring this up is because

  1. Silver, tin, AND Copper.
  2. 50% mercury by weight.
    • Mercury is very heavy. So if we think about it, it's actually the tiniest amount because silver, tin, and copper, are all very light metals in comparison.

I did some research prior to my most recent work and went with the composite fillings (the kind that are the same color as your teeth). This is important to me because I read that with the metals fillings they can eventually crack your teeth, causing more damage. Other things that can happen with the metal fillings is NEW cavities that develop around the filling can be missed because the metal fillings discolor your teeth.

The composite fillings are double the price, ugh. So frustrating.

Sort:  

It is standard practice to use toxic levels of mercury in fillings, it doesn't really matter that it's lower weight than the other metals. Mercury is detrimental to human health in small amounts, whereas something like silver actually has antimicrobial properties in the body.

That's a great point that metal fillings can indeed crack the teeth, because they are unable to compress under pressure (like in biting), and the force is distributed to the surrounding tooth. They are really not a valid solution for protecting or activating health.

Composites may come down in price as more and more consumers learn about the dangers of mercury and demand an alternative.

Sure, any amount of mercury is pretty toxic. I'm not defending them. Haha

I really hope that the price doesn't come down because man, $200 a filling is killing me! Haha

If you ever need dental work done get it all done in Mexico. Its WAY cheaper so much so u can often afford a plane ticket and a hotel and food for the same price as getting it done locally. Plus you then get to have some fun in mexico!

I understand how frustrating it is. I had to have 15 fillings replaced and removed. I ended up having 6 of the teeth just pulled because of cost and how much damage was around the mercury fillings. It ended up costing about $4,000 total and took me and my family almost 4 years to save up that money in addition to the $1000 a month in supplements it was costing just to keep me alive.

Yeah I went to the dentist earlier this year and found out I needed about $8000 in work, two root canals in that! I got one done and some fillings but I have a ton more to do. Just can't spend the money! Ugh

I'd recommend you give the book "Root Canal Cover-up" a chance and be able to make a better decision regarding having more root canals.

Great advise @teamsteem
Thanks for your contributions to this important thread!

  • quit sugar (to increase alkalinity)
  • gargle with warm salty water after meals (to reduce acidity in the mouth)
  • brush only after 30 minutes from meal (the teeth are tender after meals)
  • try oil pulling ( to kill bacteria)
  • mineralize your teeth (vitamins and minerals are constantly protecting your teeth via the saliva)
  • brush only from the gums up for the lower teeth and from the gums down for the upper teeth ( always brush in those direction because you would be going against the teeth enamel micro structure also you are doing a better job cleaning it this way)
  • always keep you teeth clean of food remains
  • do all the points above as a routine and you shall heal and maintain/protect your teeth from even the dentist
  • now smile
  • :D

Thanks for this info. Have you tried oil pulling?

Oil pulling is truly fantastic. Highly recommended!

I agree. What do you use for oil pulling? I use coconut oil! Have a wonderful day OK? :-)

Yes coconut oil is the BEST for that!

There are other uses for it too I think like shoe polishing! What do you do?

It is useful for SO many things! I could com up with hundreds in an hour probably.

I know about hair, skin, and shoes! Thanks for engaging and have a WONDERFUL day!