The Art Of Intermittent Fasting

in #health6 years ago

Intermittent fasting is a form of diet/lifestyle where you eat in a certain period of time(usually a 8 hour window) and fast for the remaining time.

Fasting for 16 hours!?
Yes, the standard method of intermittent fasting follows the 16:8 pattern. You fast for 16 hours a day and eat in the remaining 8 hour window(usually 2~10pm). There are a couple more methods to intermittent fasting such as, eat-stop-eat method and the 5:2 method where you massively restrict your calories for 2 days( eating around 500-700 calories) and eating normally in the rest of the days. Personally, the 16:8 kind suits my lifestyle as i'm a student and feel lazy cooking early in the morning.
AN267-Clock-On-Plate-732x549-thumb.jpg

Advantages

  1. Upto 5 fold increase in the production of growth hormone which leads to enhanced fat loss and increased muscle growth
  2. Lower insulin level/level spikes which leads to fat being used as fuel to perform body functions.
  3. Anti-aging( too controversial to discuss), but many people have mentioned about being on IF(intermittent fasting) and experiencing reduced aging rate. I'm a 20 year old student, so i cant exactly comment on this.
  4. Huge food portions: If youre like me, i like to eat huge portions and often get hungry if i stay on the 3 meals a day which leads to craving and breaking my diet. Since i get to have huge portions, my cravings are drastically reduced and makes me stick to my diet consistently.
    images.jpg

images (1).jpg

To summarise, IF has a lot of benefits and makes you a fat burning machine. If you have high body fat composition i would 100% recommend, but always consult your doctor before following a specific diet.

Please let me know in the comments if you have any questions regarding IF and i'll try to help you out in any possible way i can :)

Sort:  

You got a 50.00% upvote from @bid4joy courtesy of @devitech!

Congratulations @kaushikp1997! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

This sounds super interesting to me, but tell me what kind of meals would you recommend? Does your morning flow normally or are you craving massively?

so in the morning i usually wake up a bit late around 10ish and i grab some coffee(black). coffee is a hunger suppressant and it keeps me satiated for around 1-1.5 hours. I just drink water till 2pm. the 1st week is the most difficult after that i get used to it. Regarding meals, i like to keep the carbs for the later part of the day cos i usually crave food late at night, so carbs at night make my cravings go away. just try to get a gram of protein per body weight, but the key thing to remember is calorie restriction. You must be in a calorie deficit!. Hope this helps :)

if you're planning on losing weight/fat you should read my next article which is regarding cardio(HIIT Vs liss)

Intermittent fasting can be really great for you, but it depends so much on the individual. E.g. I could never do it, I need my breakfast in order to get the day started :D

I agree. It depends on your lifestyle too. I'm a college student and usually wake up a bit late and only have to wait a couple of hours before lunch, but i do miss breakfast bacon haha.