How to Yoga - Reclining Pigeon

in #health8 years ago

Good day, Steemians!

"Each morning we are born again. What we do today is what matters most." -- the Buddha


Routine is a double edged sword for me;
I benefit from structure,
but I get bored and restless.
Thankfully, my life is extremely interesting,
so even within my framework
I'm doing something new every day.
Plus, there's always a fresh way to look at yoga.
It is said that when Shiva's wife asked him how to do yoga,
he spent the next many years demonstrating 84,000 poses for her--
we can do this on the daily for a cool minute, Steemit.
I have a bazillion things to do
for the success of Eden 2.0
and to prepare for Steemfest with @everlove,
but right here and right now, I'm sharing yoga
and celebrating one of the best contributions
I can make to the day's success.
I hope this helps you feel better than ever! 


This is Reclining Pigeon Pose

AKA Supta Kapotasana in Sanskrit

(supta = reclining, kapota = pigeon, asana = pose/posture


Reclining pigeon is an awesome stretch for the legs.


Oh my god, this one feels really really really really
really really GOOD!!
Seriously, please try this!

This is a great pose for the warm up or cool down
phase of a challenging physical practice, OR
it's a wonderful one to include in a decadent,
slow, restorative practice.

It lengthens the IT band,
which helps strengthen the knees.
It's a deep stretch for the quads and hamstrings,
and it can feel super incredible for the hips as well.

For real, Reclining Pigeon is golden.
Treat your body real nice and chill out for awhile! 


How to RECLINING PIGEON POSE:

  • Lie on your back and draw the knees to the chest.
  • Cross the left ankle over the right knee.
  • Thread the left hand through the gap between thighs; right hand wraps around right thigh.
  • Grasp the knee and bring it closer to the chest.
  • Shoulders stay on the ground. 

Breathe in, breathe out. 

Breathe in, breathe out. 

Breathe in, breathe out.



💛  Sara!
We make custom Steemit gear!
Thank you @everlove for the lovely photography (super stoked to play with you in Amsterdam!!),
and thank you @quinneaker for living YOGA and showing me a better way! 


>:<>:<>:<>:<

You can still get a ticket for STEEMFEST! Reserve your spot in Yoga!

Thank you @quinneaker & @roelandp for making my dream to teach at STEEMFEST a reality! 

Sort:  

Very nice pose or if I am correct -asana-
Each pose in yoga has a deep purpose and some of them can really save our lives!

Truth! They all have physical as well as energetic benefits. In some traditional practices, every asana in a series even has its own mantra. There are infinite levels to yoga!