The first step to exercise and lifetime fitness

in #health6 years ago

We all want to look better, feel better and ultimately be better. The question remains how do we achieve this in the hustle bustle that is everyday life?

In my experience becoming a fitter, more active version of yourself starts by being mentally content with who you are.

Resist that cake
Mental well-being will make it easier to stay motivated, to go for that run or to resist that last piece of cake.

How do I go about feeling better about myself? The answer lies in how we treat the people around us. Making the world a better place in turn makes us feel better about ourselves.

Life as we know it today is extremely busy especially so with social media inviting thousands of people into our living rooms. Work life is hectic with people demanding the impossible and often getting upset if a deadline is missed.

In an undesired situation take a step back, move away and once you have thought things through return to the person involved and calmly talk the situation through.

Respect
Once you see how the approach of staying calm can change the attitudes of the people around you, you will start sensing a new found respect in the way that you are treated.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not always easy to stay calm in a difficult situation. I am telling you, however, that it is possible. We can take control of our feelings, of the thoughts we entertain.

Stay positive
Eventually you will get to a place where any negative thoughts will be recognized and cast out immediately. Replace it with positive thoughts, believing in yourself and that you are good enough.

The question I ask myself is how can I be better tomorrow? The answer I believe lies in taking control of my emotions and how I react in difficult situations.

Anger
As I am writing this I hear the questions in my head: “how do I do this if the people at my work make me angry?”. I have news for you, you are the only one who can control your anger and we decide to become angry. It is best to deal with a situation once you are calm.

When you start feeling better about yourself, looking after yourself becomes possible.