Fellow Steemers, I Need your Help : Climate Change Expedition to Antarctica

in #help6 years ago (edited)

Bikergirl needs your help!

2000 SBD needed to get on the expedition boat to Antarctica.

I have never asked anyone for money before, but it breaks my heart that after putting in so much effort and having been among 5,000 people that applied from all over the world. To Me being selected for the Antarctica mission for climate change...
My mission has always been to Do Good As I Travel. But no matter how much I try to do, there is absolutely no support from any organization or the government here in India. It is a constant struggle for me or any women here to constantly prove ourselves, to achieve more and more, but with no help. Same with this case where I put in my best to get selected, was super excited until I realized I have to raise funds for this expedition.

What is IAE 2018?
The International Antarctic Expedition 2018 is a leadership program hosted by Robert Swan to bring together 80 individuals from across the world to experience the effects of climatic change in real time and brainstorm solutions to combat them. This mission will come a long way in building sustainable & resilient communities across the world.

About Me:
I'm Candida Louis a small town girl from South India, having been the first women from India to ride alone on a Motorcycle in 2015 covering 32000kms around India spreading the message to more women out there that India is safe.
To breaking barriers by teaching many more women to ride a Motorcycle and be Independent, confident and strong. To riding across Cambodia with a team delivering laptops to remote villages and teaching the kids how to use them...

Less than 1 Bitcoin is all it takes to send this girl to Antarctica :)

Why am I actually going?
As I watch documentaries and learn more about climate change, I have started to understand that this is the single largest and most important issue.
● I want to see and understand the huge impact of climate change due to human activities in the most delicate and crucial place in the world. Because as things get worse in Antarctica, they will get way worse everywhere else.
● By participating in ‘Leadership on the Edge’ program, I want to learn to be a better leader, grow businesses and communities, and help make sure that our economies grow, people grow, create new technologies but by saving humanity from effects of climate change the world over.
● I will get an opportunity to meet many young leaders working on climate change across the world. We will share ideas and brainstorm on what we can do in our own communities to build awareness, promote recycling, renewable energy and sustainability to combat the effects of climate change.

What’s the plan, once I’m there?
Once I get there, I want to make a documentary film that will impart the knowledge and awareness of effects of climatic change. I will be posting it first on Steemit and then, it will be shared with children, schools, and corporates through seminars all over India and abroad.

What’s my plan, once I’m back from the expedition?
● I want to encourage others to really understand the devastating effects of climate change and take action.
● Educate leaders in corporates to consider the effect their decisions can have on climate change
● Based on my experience, many working in corporates are interested in helping to ensure sustainable development
but don’t have the time to figure out how to. I want to make it easier for them to do their part.
● Based on my learnings from this expedition, I want to create programs/ modules in my workplace and other corporates/ organizations that help drive environmental conservation and are also easy to follow.
● I want to incorporate small changes into people’s daily lives that will go a long way in collectively creating a more sustainable world.

It's a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity and my participation in it would mean the world to me. Believe in me and I will make a difference:
• Make an effort to save the greatest wilderness - Antarctica
• Have an impact on creating a leadership program for the under-privileged children.
To find solutions to combat the effects of climatic change
• Enable the kids, the school and the community that I impact, to build sustainable and resilient communities.
Not to mention that I also have other exciting giveaways planned for you Steemers.

What are the risks and challenges associated with this project?
The International Antarctic Expedition 2018 is a highly selective leadership program hosted by Robert Swan and an organization called 2041. Every year, only 80 people from across the world make it to the ship to Antarctica, to experience climatic change real-time and brainstorm solutions to build sustainable and resilient communities to thereby preserve the pristine continent. While getting to be one of the chosen few was a challenge in itself, the tough weather conditions in the southernmost part of the world will definitely be another uphill task! As of now, money is my only barrier.

How am I going to prove that I won't just take all the money and run away?
I am a passionate and committed individual who gave up my high-paying job to follow the calling of my heart and I have been working hard towards building the sector for women safety and travel here in India.
I have been on Steemit since June 2017 and have been blogging mostly about my travels and experiences. My life's mission has been to not just ride around but to Do Good As I Go... I value what I do immensely, and I value your faith in me even more!

How can YOU help?

Posts will be made every day for 7 days and all STEEM & SBD generated from this account will go directly to pay for my flights from India to Ushuaia (Argentina) and back, Insurance, Visa, extreme weather clothing and the expedition fee.
I will be 100% transparent with all STEEM and SBD transactions keeping all activity on the blockchain.

If you donate 20 SBD or 20 Steem

I'll send you three HD quality pictures of some of the most beautiful locales, clicked by me. You’ll receive a thank you note acknowledging your contribution.

If you donate 40 SBD or 40 Steem

You'll get a postcard from Ushuaia (the southernmost city on our planet).

If you donate 60 SBD or 60 Steem

You'll receive an autographed book from the man himself! Robert Swan is the only man ever to walk unsupported to both the North and South poles. He is the author of "Antarctica 2041: My quest to save The Earth's Last Wilderness"

For all the Minnows and everyone that supports me, don't you worry :) I will be sharing blogs, pictures and videos everyday on Steemit. Every vote counts and every vote is valuable to me... Thank you all again :)

Since Steemit has been of great help ever since I've joined and all you Steemians have been extremely supportive. I will carry a Steemit flag and hoist it on Antarctica.

To those who are kind-hearted while reading this, I humbly ask for your help. The income and savings from my full-time job and blogging are not enough to come up with such big amount of funds in such a short time frame. Any financial help or assistance from you will be highly appreciated.

I look forward to hearing back from anyone interested in helping me promote this important campaign...
If you happen to know some Whales who would be interested in supporting this, please do let them know.

Thank you and God Bless.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Follow me @Bikergirl " Each of us can make a difference now."

Sort:  

@bikergirl Good luck on this journey! I've upvoted and reshared so I hope that our shared contributions can make an impact towards your goal. I would love to see you be able to document your journey along the way!

Thank you so much @Patrickulrich really appreciate your help :)

excellent comment

This is so frustrating.... i'm not able to login to my steemit chat account. Says that username or password is incorrect and when i try resetting the password using my e-mail id which leads me to a link, it says "error changing the password"
Is anyone else facing the same problem? Any solution guys?

We are with you Candi, there are good people out here, we will all put up our best efforts to help you on this.

Thanks for the support @shonyishere means alot to me :)

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

hope your friendship to be a baek family for her.

keep forgetting your upvote ups on my blog ..
i really want your help ..

It's a Great effort a great expedition for you. As an Indian I ll be proud of you I wish you luck 👍.
God bless you.
I Upvoted commented & Resteemed ur post.
& I'll like to support you by asking everyone to support you and help you in every way.
I have even promoted ur post write now.
Regards @crafter

Thank you so much @Crafter

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Bikergirl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

congratulations tooimage.gif

dear friend
May I not like you
you can write very well
however I hope love me.image.jpeg

Good Luck and all the best !!!! I have upvoted and resteemed thearticle!!! Keep up the Good work.

Thank you so much for the support and your donation @free-ion...

Your welcome!!

Very nice initiative , i know how we are destroying our climate , recenlty their was a snow falll in Sahara desert now what else we want our mother earth to warns us.

https://steemit.com/nature/@adityajainxds/sahara-desert-turns-into-antarctica-climate-change

I will try to promote this post as much as i can .... ;-) and once again keep up this good work..

@adityajainxds

Wow, that's amazing! I wish you the best of luck :)

Thank you so much @sjennon ... Waiting to see your blogs from the world trip. All the best and stay safe :)

Thank you! :D Looking forward to bumping into you there :)

All the best for your journey...
I can't able to help you now but if I ever get a chance to help you in future than I will help you.

very nice Photo.. :)

wau very beautiful view you share @ bikergirl ....
thanks a have shared .:@bikergirl

Hello Candida @bikergirl! All the very best to you. I will donate to the cause when I can. Hopefully soon. Sunil G speaks highly of you...I am sure no one thinks you will run away with the money :) Again all the best ....resteeming.

I don't know why I can't reseteem :(