My Three Birthday Cakes |EN/ES|

in Hive Food2 years ago

cakes.png


In my culture, we celebrate birthdays singing a very long song in front of a birthday cake with a candle on it. That is why for me such a day only occurs if there is a cake present. I am honestly used to only be celebrated by my family during my birthdays, but this year (and from time to time) I receive lovely surprises from others who are part of my life as well. This is the story of how I ended up with three birthday cakes.

En mi cultura, celebramos los cumpleaños cantando una canción muy larga frente a un pastel de cumpleaños con una vela. Es por eso que para mí ese día solo ocurre si hay un pastel presente. Honestamente, estoy acostumbrado a que mi familia solo me celebre durante mis cumpleaños, pero este año (y de vez en cuando) recibo lindas sorpresas de otras personas que también son parte de mi vida. Esta es la historia de cómo terminé con tres pasteles de cumpleaños.

1666802550287-01.jpeg

My day started at work with a sushi roll, yes, a roll. I went to work as usual and my assistant became a little suspicious about what she was doing. Near noon, she gave the excuse of going nearby to buy a few things, and she arrived with her twin sister and a Salmon roll on her hand.

Mi día empezó en el trabajo con un rollo de sushi, sí, un rollo. Fui a trabajar como de costumbre y mi asistente empezó a sospechar un poco de lo que estaba haciendo. Cerca del mediodía, dio la excusa de ir cerca a comprar algunas cosas, y llegó con su hermana gemela y un rollo de salmón en la mano.

1666803882569-01.jpeg

The roll was actually a cake made with those formulas you can buy at the supermarket. My assistant' sister designed a circle and left a hole in the middle. Then, she filled it with some strawberry cream. To make it look like a sushi, she used fondant, and made a layer to simulate the nori algae which was adhered with some white cream to the cake. The roll filling was made entirely with fondant also. She placed salmon, avocado, tempura shrimps, and even ginger (lol). Finally, she used filleted almonds, and she triturated them a little bit more to make it look like rice. I think it was a master piece. They know I love sushi and it was such a pleasant surprise considering I only have one month at that new job. The candle went off quickly, But I desired a lot of sushi in my future!

El rol era en realidad un bizcocho hecho con esas fórmulas que se pueden comprar en el supermercado. La hermana de mi asistente diseñó un círculo y dejó un hueco en el medio. Luego, lo llenó con un poco de crema de fresa. Para que pareciera un sushi, usó fondant, e hizo una capa para simular el alga nori que adhirió con un poco de crema blanca a la torta. El relleno del rollo también se hizo íntegramente con fondant. Puso salmón, aguacate, camarones tempura e incluso jengibre (jajaja). Por último, usó almendras fileteadas, y los trituró un poco más para que pareciera arroz. Creo que fue una obra maestra. Saben que me encanta el sushi y fue una sorpresa tan agradable considerando que solo tengo un mes en ese nuevo trabajo. La vela se apagó rápidamente, ¡pero deseaba mucho sushi en mi futuro!

1666838530164-01.jpeg

At home, I was having a hard time deciding which type of birthday cake I wanted. Considering my brother @josecarrerag has been learning more about pastry, we all at home wanted to see if he could surpass my last year's birthday cake which was a Black forest cake. I love this one because it incorporates chantilly cream, cherries, and chocolate. I always like those little shredded pieces of chocolate when I was a kid. I used to pay a lot of attention to that whenever I saw a black forest cake at a pastry shop.

En casa, me costaba decidir qué tipo de pastel de cumpleaños quería. Teniendo en cuenta que mi hermano @josecarrerag ha ido aprendiendo más sobre repostería, todos en casa queríamos ver si podía superar la tarta de mi cumpleaños del año pasado que era una tarta Selva Negra. Este me encanta porque incorpora crema chantilly, cerezas y chocolate. Siempre me gustaron esos pedacitos de chocolate rallado cuando era niño. Solía ​​​​prestar mucha atención a eso cada vez que veía un pastel de selva negra en una pastelería.

1667347950999-01.jpeg

1666838637094-01.jpeg

1667347855437-01.jpeg

That was not all; I asked also for a "quesillo." This is a modified version of flan typical of my country that we all adore at home. The cake was phenomenal, my brother made it taller than the last time. the chocolate also was covering the cake better, and the flavors were good (not extremely sweet as I liked it). Nonetheless, I have to confess that the quesillo stole the show during my birthday night. It had the cheese texture outside, and it was creamy, more aromatic, and delicious.

Eso no fue todo; Pedí también un "quesillo". Esta es una versión modificada del flan típico de mi país que todos adoramos en casa. La tarta quedó fenomenal, mi hermano la hizo más alta que la última vez. el chocolate también cubría mejor el pastel, y los sabores eran buenos (no tan dulces como a mí me gustaban). Sin embargo, debo confesar que el quesillo se robó el show durante la noche de mi cumpleaños. Tenía la textura del queso por fuera, y era cremoso, más aromático y delicioso.

1666998906052-01.jpeg

With all the sweets I got during my bday, I felt more than satisfied. A colleague and friend invited me to a lunch a couple days after, and I agreed. She came up for me at my job. The moment I open the car door there it is, A small bday cake! Although it was delicious, what was more meaningful about this cake was the message on top. It says "happy Birthday, Thank you for enduring my -crabs-" hahahaha. Before you think of anything different, here in my country we call crab to some difficult task or job. She is referring to all the difficult patients she consults with me which have been so many during our decade or more working together. I loved the cake AND the message; it gave me a good laugh! Plus, the lemon cream of this simple sponge cake was glorious.

I am grateful for one more year of life, for the people that are part of my journey, and for the manifestations of affections made tangible through food as I received during my special day.

Con todos los dulces que recibí durante mi cumpleaños, me sentí más que satisfecho. Un colega y amigo me invitó a almorzar un par de días después y acepté. Ella vino a buscarme en mi trabajo. En el momento en que abro la puerta del auto ahí está, ¡Un pequeño pastel de cumpleaños! Aunque estaba delicioso, lo más significativo de este pastel fue el mensaje en la parte superior. Dice "feliz cumpleaños, gracias por aguantar mis -cangrejos-" jajajaja. Antes de que pienses en otra cosa, aquí en mi país le llamamos cangrejo a alguna tarea o trabajo difícil. Se refiere a todos los pacientes difíciles que consulta conmigo, que han sido tantos durante nuestra década o más trabajando juntos. Me encantó el pastel Y el mensaje; me dio una buena carcajada! Además, la crema de limón de este sencillo bizcocho quedó gloriosa.

Agradezco por un año más de vida, por las personas que forman parte de mi caminar, y por las manifestaciones de afectos tangibles a través de la comida que recibí en mi día especial.



@gaeljosser
Redmi note 7 camera
Edition with Snapseed

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @gaeljosser ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Larga vida a quien inventó este manjar por los próximos cumpleaños y los que faltan... Hermosas fotos y excelentes letras. Saludos hermanazo...

Así sea, gracias @eleazarvo!

Have a great time this year. Those presents are lovely and a lot of thought has gone into it. Stay blessed.

Thank you, Indeed those cakes were thoughtful.

Qué lindo y qué grato! Son todos unos hermosos pasteles de cumpleaños, el quesillo no podría faltar. Felicidades atrasadas por tu cumpleaños 🙂

jeje si, el quesillo fue crucial! gracias!

Happy Birthday @gaeljosser !
When one is loved and respected by family, friends, neighbors and co-workers, where all share the day to day work, they form the great community family. And among so many very rich cakes and sincere birthday hugs, there I am missing, I am part of those you do not know, but I also wish you the peace and harmony of the Creator!


¡Feliz cumpleaños @gaeljosser !
Cuando uno es amado y respetado por los familiares, amigos, vecinos y compañeros de trabajo, en donde todos comparten el día a día laboral, forman la gran familiar comunitaria. Y entre tantos muy ricos pasteles y sinceros abrazos de cumpleaños, ahí falto yo, que formo parte de los que no conoces, pero también te deseo la paz y armonía del Creador!

Muchas gracias por sus deseos!

Congratulations @gaeljosser! You received a personal badge!

Thank you for taking the time to complete the Hive Keychain survey.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the October PUM Winners
Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day - New Turnout Record
Take the Keychain Survey and get your Future Shaper badge
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!