#Straturday - Killer weekend, Killer Queen

in Guitar3 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Killer weekend. Springtime has arrived down under and the weather is perfect! Sunny and 20 degrees. Dunno what that means in the US but here it means a beautiful day.

Also it's official that I'm getting old. Some people down the road threw out a couple of crappy looking outdoor chairs. Under the cover of darkness wearing black I picked them up and brought them home and I spent yesterday disassembling them, sanding the timber back, re-staining, and reassembling them. They look just like bought ones, and I'm happy with how they turned out. Very tiring, very satisfying.

Just enough energy to work out a pretty cool solo.

Growing up I was a pretty big queen fan. I had all their tapes. I say tapes because they came out as doubles for some reason on tape at the time.

Two for One! Bargain!!

Queen I and II were together, Day at the races and News of the world were another couple. Killer Queen is a great track and the solo is short and sweet. Lots of bendy pre-bends and harmonies.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend! I'm off to sit out in the garden in free recycled chair.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Wow that was awesome man!

Both the execution and that Brian May tone were spot on! Congrats!

Thanks! I've listened to a lot of Queen, but haven't spent much time playing it. Was a fun solo to learn.

10/10

Perfectly done, right down to the tone!

Thanks meester! It's that neck pickup.

Great job David!

Cheers Mate! Thanks for checking it out.

I love Queen and was lucky to see them live twice. As others said you nailed the tone. Brian is tricky to emulate given his guitar is unique. His use of bends and harmonies is so distinctive. I've tried some of his solos. Ought to attempt some others.

!PIZZA !LUV

Australia and Queen had a strange relationship early on. There was a Woodstock style festival in 1974 in Sunbury Victoria that Queen headlined. The good folks of Sunbury were not overly welcoming and apparently Queen vowed never to come back. They did, but I never got to see them.

https://www.tvovermind.com/time-unknown-band-named-queen-got-booed-music-festival-1974/

We're a classy bunch... I'd like to think things have changed a bit since then..

Funny :) A lot of big bands confused audiences early on. Hendrix did a tour supporting The Monkees and didn't go down well with their audience.

Queen are one of the best live acts I've seen. Freddie knew how to work an audience. My other half wants to see the guys with Adam Lambert, but I'm not so convinced. Brian and Roger still seem to be into it though.

!BEER

You need to stake more BEER (24 staked BEER allows you to call BEER one time per day)

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@gtown, you've been given LUV from @steevc.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/3)

@gtown! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @steevc.

Did you know you can now buy Rising Star packs with $PIZZA? (2/10)

You nailed those bendy notes and the fx chain as well.

Congratulations @gtown! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 1750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 15

Queen was always my shit! I used to grab the killer queen double CD (and tape before), and play in my dad's car, reenacting the scene from Wayne's World.

How many times did you restart this one 😄?

You killed it though, I like the crunchy disto, not too strong, not too soft, almost jazzy.