Aqua Aura

in TheTerminal3 years ago

I was delighted when I found this pretty crystal many years ago, so many years ago that I forget from which shop I got it. Aqua Aura is a clear quartz crystal that has been "plated" with a very thin layer of vaporized gold.

What is so striking about the resulting crystal is that it acquires a remarkable iridescence, causing it to exhibit different colors in different lighting conditions. The clear band at the bottom of the crystal is where it was held in a clamp during the plating process.

The crystal changes color when it is turned, even in the same light, as shown in the above photo where it appears blue -versus- the below photo where it appears green. In other lighting conditions, the color can appear violet or a golden-yellow, depending on the type of light source and the angle at which it is striking the crystal. Even in these two photos, traces of different colors can be seen: e.g., a pale-green spot and a pale-blue spot against the deeper blue, above, and different shades of green and traces of purple in the photo below.

This piece is interesting from both a scientific and artistic point of view, showing what happens when a very thin layer of metal is deposited on a crystal. According to one of my sources:

Aqua aura is created in a vacuum chamber when the crystal is heated to high temperature and then the gold is added. The gold is chemically purified metal which will bond with the surface of the crystal and therefore provides the color and the overall aesthetics of the crystal. [3]

The same technique can be used to deposit a thin layer of platinum (producing "Opal Aura" quartz), platinum & silver (producing "Angel Aura" quartz), titanium & niobium (producing "Flame Aura" quartz), and many other combinations, each exhibiting different colors. Variants can be produced by tweaking the amounts of each element that is vaporized; for instance: in one ratio, gold & indium will produce a golden-colored "Champagne Aura" quartz, while another ratio of gold & indium will produce an indigo-blue "Tanzine Aura" quartz. Those interested can read more about these combinations at CrystalVaults.com

So, why is this even done, plating quartz with a thin layer of metal...?

Oftentimes, we do things because we can. Humans have experimented with things for centuries, just to see what is possible and what outcomes one might achieve. Also, the results are pretty and artistic — compare the plain quartz crystal in the above photo to the Aqua Aura crystal beside it. Crystals and stones so treated are sometimes used in jewelry or other ornamentation.

Also, such crystals are prized for metaphysical purposes. Aqua Aura is purported to assist in healing, stress-relief, and spiritual awareness. It is also said to bring proper alignment to all the chakras, imparting a sense of peace and well-being. Even if one chooses not to believe such, the attractiveness and uniqueness of Aqua Aura is sure to please!

 😊

SOURCES
   1 CrystalVaults.com
   2 Gemstagram.com
   3 Gemstonist.com
   4 HealingCrystalsForYou.com
   5 Meanings.CrystalsAndJewelry.com

SapphirePietersiteDalmation Stone
PhlogopiteLepidoliteMuscoviteDichroic Glass
GoldstoneAventurineAmberBlack Star of India
Ruby – Part 1: CrystalsRuby – Part 2: JewelryLarimar
Citrine CrystalAmethyst CrystalKitty GeodePhoenix Crystal
Barbeque
& Amethysts
Salt LampsTrilobiteArrowhead
Garden Quartz, freeformGranite Quarry № 2Apophyllite
Rocks from Space!Quartz Rock: Raw versus Polished
ChrysocollaTourmalineBorniteGoethiteSmall Quartz Crystal
Smoky QuartzTibetan QuartzAmazonite BeadsZoisite
Rutilated QuartzGarnetAmazonite SphereLapis Lazuli Mala
Amethyst PointHow Rocks Get Their ColorRed Jasper
Ring, Ring! Amethyst Calling!Lapis LazuliTuritella Agate


       



22-Mar-2021

Sort:  

Very cool, never heard of this process before. It produces amazing colors indeed. I assume it's very durable and doesn't come off by simply scratching it?

I haven't tried scratching it 😬 It doesn't seem to be terribly fragile, as I keep it in a small box with a few other stones and it's fine. I would think a more forceful, deliberate scratch might remove some of the gold layer, but I don't know for sure. Interesting question, as to how tightly the gold bonds to the quartz!

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 49 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
3


Hey @thekittygirl, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I had no idea you were so into crystals and stones. Since we started traveling, I have become obsessed with rocks and crystals. It has been interesting to find the quartz crystals laying around in the "gravel" in the alleyway behind our place. As we drive around I am finding them in some of the most fantastic places.

This one is very interesting to me. Gold plating on a crystal! Who would have thought it was a thing. I am in love with the colors! Thanks you for sharing this.

Nice to learn, never heard of this, yes we humans experiment with so many things forever testing.

This crystal brings to life an art form as you mentioned @thekittygirl

I first met you showing ruby, which is not my birthstone, but my Mom! Then in response I showed the ruby earring I got from her as a child, Do you remember??? That was three years ago!!!

Yes, I remember that! 😊

Thanks for continuing to make Hive awesome.

Excellent post on aqua aura crystals. I have one that I turned into a pendant (wrapped with silver). I just took a look now and I don't see a band where it would have been held for plating, the way the one you show is. Since I'm only generally familiar with this process, is there another way to plate the crystals? The one I have is a natural point that is unpolished, btw.

These plated crystals, all the ones I've seen are quite striking in person and the colours are incredible. It was very difficult to only pick one, they were so beautiful.

...is there another way to plate the crystals?

I do not know. Since quartz will accept an electrical charge (which is why they're used as regulators in timepieces), I suppose it might be possible to electroplate them, but that would likely lead to a thicker coating. All the sites I read about the process to create "______ Aura" crystals only spoke of vaproizing metal in a vacuum chamber to do it.

That's cool, that you have one, too, and turned it into a pendant! 😃

So we both don't know, lol. There may be, but in all my investigation I have not come across one and thought you might have. Yes, that's right quartz in timepieces, thanks for the reminder!

I'll see if I can take a photo of the one I have at some point. I did take a closer look at it and I'm thinking it's not a different plating process. It looks as if it were a part of a cluster of quartz crystals done at the same time, then the individual crystals removed and sold for a higher price. Some thoughts anyway. I'm always curious to learn.

Hey, didn't know you are into gems and minerals too. Strange we've both been on this platform since 2017 but never run across one another. It's a big blockchain I guess!

Yes, strange we've never crossed paths before this! I keep finding folks, here-and-there, who collect crystals & minerals, casually if not fanatically!

Makes me think of the Superman Krypton crystals :P


Posted via pimp.media

Something beautiful in our eyes is lethal to super guy. 😁

Congratulations @thekittygirl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 33000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 34000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Happy Birthday to the Hive Community
A successful meetup and its commemorative badge