You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fun guessing challenge: guess the height difference! :D

in Sports Talk Social2 years ago (edited)

Hi @phortun,

I think you are missing the point. It is always a good practice to include a subscript below image giving credit to the licensor, providing a link to the license and indicating any changes were made for several reasons. I will list some of them for you:

  1. Usually the license terms requires you do so, and many don't because they don't read the terms. Making it a habit to include a subscript with details ensures that you are never in breach of copyright laws.

  2. I don't have the time to read all the posts I upvote. I read some and upvote others whom I know for sure are not copyright infringers. If I am not sure whether someone has infringed copyright, generally, I don't upvote the post. If you provide a subscript then it makes my job of checking for copyright breaches and upvoting easy.

  3. If the images are your own, then following the guidelines provides you more eyeballs as people who share your article/images would have provided a link back to your articles. It also exposes Sportstalksocial to others not in the know of this platform.

  4. When you follow the guideline given here you will appear professional.

I will be glad if you follow these guidelines but you are, of course, free to do otherwise, at your own peril.

Sort:  

Cool, thanks for your suggestion.