To hash or not to hash

in Sports Talk Social2 years ago

I'm sure most people have heard of the Hash House Harriers - the running club that was started in the 1930's amongst British colonial officers and expats living in what was then the British colony named the Federated Malay States (now Malaysia). Here in Thailand, particularly Phuket it has a very large following due I guess to the large expat community.

In the the late 80's in Singapore there was an offshoot born from the HHH that was the Hash House Bikers - essentially the same thing but on a bicycle, and again here in Phuket it is quite popular and is mostly mountain bikers getting around on the trails we have here in the hills and farming areas.

So here's the dilemma I face - should I join this mountain biking club or should I ride these trails by myself or with one or two close friends. Part of the attraction for me of getting up in the hills and exploring trails is the peace and quiet of the hills, far away from traffic, tourists, bars etc etc. The only people you meet up there are gentle farmer folk going about their business or the occasional walker. Here's some pics of classic Phuket trails that I ride.....

20201026_180202.jpg

20200613_121037.jpg

20200715_170707.jpg

These trails are just magical. Total peace and quiet. One day I noticed a bunch of coloured paper had been left all over the trail I was riding - basically litter in my opinion. Then there was also paper stapled to some of the trees along the way particularly at forks or trail junctions. This was my introduction to The Hash House Bikers - soon after I met them resting on the trail up ahead - about ten MAMILS - a MAMIL is a term that is used to coin Middle Aged Men In Lycra. There were all dressed in the ridiculous outfits that for some reason people seem to think is standard uniform for cycling - nut hugging lycra pants, an equally tight fitting lycra shirt with silly little pockets sewn in to the back, clippity cloppy shoes and the obligatory wrappy roundy sunglasses made especially for cycling. There they were at the end of the litter trail, which I learned is how these hashers mark the trails - with apparently biodegradable paper. Still litter in my opinion.

Naturally I stopped for a chat and everyone was nice. We had a chat and talked about biking - they were frothing (excited) to meet a lone biker and implored me to join their Hash club so I would have lots of new friends to bike with. They thrust their contact details on me and made sure I knew how to get hold of them on facebook and where the next ride was the following week.

I made my goodbyes and continued up the trail - eager to return to the peace and quite that I love in the mountains of Phuket. The trail of litter continued - apparently one of their team rides ahead to mark it out. It pissed me off. I took a fork that I knew of and changed my planned route to get away from these dudes.

After each ride of course I grab a beer (or 3) - normally at any one of the little momma pappa shops that are at the bottom of the trails. I sat alone drinking a cold Leo (crappy Thai beer). Now was when I wished I had some company and thought it would be nice to have a gang of friends to hang out with after riding. I don't have a big social life and mostly enjoy my own company - maybe I should join this MAMIL club and make more friends and do some of their rides?? Perhaps sport should be a social thing and joining a club made perfect sense.

I rode home alone in the fading light, tired, dirty, drenched in sweat from the ride. I felt happy and satisfied but still had this nagging doubt. If I didn't make an effort to meet these other riders would I be missing out on meeting potentially lots of cool people - maybe they knew tonnes of trails that I didn't, perhaps I would have new friends to hang with on weekends.

Im still thinking about it but I honestly think I prefer riding solo or with one or two solid dudes that I call friends and don't wear stupid lycra outfits. Any one have some thoughts on this? Im Jobiker, peace.

275270.jpg

Sort:  

If your biking in those places to enjoy the peace with nature then hanging out with some dudes will probably be a distraction from that chill calm atmosphere.

Yeah - the problem with a group is there are always the talkers. Also interacting with local farmers becomes a different vibe. Having one biker politely pass through your land is one thing, but having a gang of dudes passing through your property is something different.

I suppose it all depends on the makeup of the group if thy are genuine good guys or chops. It wouldn't harm you to maybe go for one ride and see.

Yes you are right. I'm going to reach out soon and try to join one of their rides. Im not wearing lycra though!

It's up to you dude. I would prefer riding with a few good friends and enjoy the trails. Those landscapes look stunning

Yeah thats my feelings too but I guess I should join one of their rides one day just to give them a chance.

I'd say give it a shot. It's not like you have to stick around if you don't like it. I always laugh a bit when I see the guys with the full "Tour de France" getups on just to ride 20k along the lake in the cycling lanes here. I know a guy with a $6000 bicycle that just sits in his garage and dude never uses it.

That scenery does look pretty great though. I say you give the guys a shot and if you think they are alright then you can pick on them for their unnecessary outfits.

Id love that dude's 6k bike to be in my garage - i's ride the shit out of it...:) But yes - I think I should do at least one ride with these guys. I'll reach out soon and let you all know how it goes!

Sounds to me like those guys are not your people - stick to riding trails without them...:) Last photos is very cool!

My feelings too but I guess I should give it a chance. Like the others say - it only needs to be one ride. Last photo is pretty nice - thanks for that.

While I have never been on a Hash bike ride we are all cut from the same stone. I can almost guarantee you will have a good time with these guys and they are probably Hashers of the running variety as well. The people I have met in the Hash have quickly become my best friends for life and you may end up experiencing the same.

I say give them a shot and as far as their outfits are concerned.... Hashers dress silly on purpose so they might not be as serious about the biking as you think!

Well that may be the push I needed sir. I will defo reach out at soonest opportunity after that "almost guarantee"...😆 Thanks for the input and to be fair your probably right. I can always ride on my own and ride with these guys.

For me, if it wasn't for the Hash I probably wouldn't run at all. It's a great motivator for exercise on days where without the group I would probably just sit on the sofa staring at the TV.

That's a good point! It's always easier to motivate when others are depending on you to be there.

Those trails look amazing! I'd say give the group rides a couple of goes for the social side, make a few more friends and then arrange to go for your own rides with a handful you get on the best with, and who would also be up for the peaceful ride through nature kind of vibe.

Thanks man - yes the trails in the Phuket mountains are really special. many of them are generations old and were here long before tourism arrived in the early 70s. Good advice by the way - put these hash bikers through a careful selection process!

Judging by the conversation, you've already made a decision to try a ride with them. I'm look forward to the feedback on that. I was thin too say that it seemed like you'd already decided against it at the start, but I guess you started with the cons. 😉

I haven't ridden since my teens and then it was a road racer. It was my only form of transport before I got my motorbike license, so I went everywhere on it. It was like freedom for me. I got on my daughter's bike a couple of years back and find the seat decidedly uncomfortable and a little painful. It wasn't even a racer seat, so that shows how long it's been.

This trails are stunning. I can see why the litter would be off putting. Surely the marker could do the same job by just leading the way.

Thanks for that - I'm going to try a ride with these guys for sure. Not sure I can get my head around the paper trail markers though. Im told many place now use flour to mark the trails and that seems better. I'll let you know how it goes!