A mango leaf? Maybe...or not πŸ˜‰.

in Kindness Rocks β€’ 21 days ago

A little over a week ago I was in one of those places we want to return to as soon as possible.

It is a river near the place where my husband was born. I will tell you about that trip in another post, now...to the important things!

It was gratifying to see as soon as we arrived the calm and transparent waters, there was no one there!!!. Just what I needed for my purposes. The bottom was perfectly visible and guess what....how there were rocks!!!!! Lots of them!!! to be turned into beautiful rocks of kindness.

Between my daughter, one of my sister-in-laws and I, we collected the ones we thought were the best. For me, I would have taken a ton, but the way back was a bit tricky and the extra weight would add to the difficulty.

piedras.jpg

Somewhat resigned we finished our collecting and set out to enjoy the place. I was glad I had made my rock selection before doing anything else. Only a few minutes after we had finished, another large family arrived to cool off. In a few seconds the waters were no longer so clear 🀭.

From the rocks we brought I decided to make a paperweight for my sister-in-law (the one who helped me). It will be a gift I will give her on Mother's Day.

roca escogida.jpg

diseno.jpg

I chose that elongated rock because it looks like a mango leaf to me (in 3D πŸ˜†). I decided to paint it as if it were one. This design is not an original idea, I've seen it on more than one site on the internet, but I like it and here I bring you my version.

To make my work easier I gave a white acrylic base. With green tones I painted, gave shadows and lights. I added some lines imitating the nerves of the leaf.

pintura.jpg

To add another decorative element I put some drops of transparent glue imitating water drops. I thought it was a nice detail. I took 2 small rocks and painted them as ladybugs, with all their characteristics. I had to use a magnifying glass to paint the eyes (it's just that mine don't respond like they used to πŸ˜‰ ). I glued them to my sheet-rock with extra strong hot silicone.

detalles.jpg

To give a better finish I applied a coat of clear varnish that gives a little shine and protects all the work. That's how my paperweight kindness rock was ready πŸ₯°.

final-8.jpg

Sort: Β 

Congratulations @mdrguez! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 1750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.
You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024

Felicidades por este logro, @mdrguez! πŸ˜„

Gracias XD.

Support us! This way...we will achieve everything. Thanks 🀩.

Wow, two badges in a row, that's awesome @mdrguez! πŸŽ‰

Thanks 🀩.

Β 21 days agoΒ (edited)Β 

πŸ˜…πŸ˜

QuΓ© va, la liga estΓ‘ muy fuerte en esta comunidad. Yo aquΓ­ no lanzo una piedra. Porque resulta que la que posiblemente salga lanzada por la escotilla sea yo.

Lanza tu piedra!!! Arriésgate!! 🀣

My first ever painted rock, a ladybug would love to join this 3D mango leaf with the other two ladybug 🐞 friends 😍

Beautiful work, @mdrguez ! The water drop made of glue, what a cool detal. I imagine myself trying to make a drop like this on a rock I painted and ruin the work πŸ˜‚ My attempt would probably fail hahahah.

Super cute and perfect gift!!

P.S. the varnish. What kind of varnish? I didn't see it here when searching for it. I put transparent nail polish yesterday to the mushroom caps from the other day, they turned out shiny and cool then. But if not nail polish, what is that varnish I can use on acrylic?

A happy family of ladybugs!!! Since they are so cute and the rocks are perfectly shaped by them 🀭.

The glue drops are very easy to make, with liquid silicone or any universal glue that comes in tubes and is liquid and transparent. Do the test yourself, you will see how easy it is.

The varnish is sold for finishing. It is applied on acrylic, charcoal and others. You can find it in bottles to apply with a brush and even come in aerosols. There are gloss, matte, semi-gloss, satin...several to choose from.

https://www.amazon.es/Artists-Acrilica-Acrilico-Brillante-Manualidades/dp/B0CWH85S2F/

Ese puede servirte. πŸ€—

untitled.gif

Gracias!!! Mil gracias por la info! πŸ™

Do the test yourself, you will see how easy it is.

I just know how easy it is to glue together my fingers... and then no piano playing from me πŸ˜‚

I just know how easy it is to glue together my fingers... and then no piano playing from me πŸ˜‚

Entonces...ni lo intentes!!!

Mira!!! Tu soluciΓ³n!!!

https://amzn.eu/d/9aM9r6F

Everything is invented...y yo de bestia!!! 🀣 (pure Cuban idiosyncrasy) means: fooling around, wasting myself...anyway, Amazon will arrive someday to Cuba...or I will arrive where Amazon is 🀣.

No, no, no, las gotas hechas por ti son mejores πŸ˜‡ asΓ­, ya hechas no valen jajaja

Bue...la verdad que buscar alternativas siempre te mantiene creativo πŸ˜‡. SeguirΓ© haciendo mis gotas, delineando con pincel, haciendo mis estampados florales (ya verΓ‘s 😜) y cuanta cosa que venda Amazon!!! 🀣

Eso - la creatividad no se compra :)

Y Amazon no tiene estampados florales esos, ni de cerca 😁

Oh my god. I really have goosebumps after seeing your beautiful art and talent. I wish to be a best artist as like you. Keep shining buddy.

Ohh thank you so much for those compliments 😊. Everyone is an artist in their own way and shines with their own light. Dare to find your talent, don't be shy.

How talented you are!! This is really cute

Thank you so much 🀩, I'm glad you liked it.