You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive Whitepaper

There is a community account which can function like any other account does, but that's not what the paper is referring to. In the original design specs, community owners were intended to be able to set a reward beneficiary percentage to the community account. So a community could take 5% of all the rewards generated within the community for example. I'd been under the impression that these sorts of monetization tools were still in the works. I'd be more curious if this callout in the whitepaper means that intent is no longer there.

Sort:  

The way I understood it a hive-#00000 account is a community account. Right now there does not seem to be any difference between my test community (Just Because), and OCD or GEMS. If I log in my community account as @hive-185849 I can vote, tip and delegate, any votes/comments would say @hive-185849. And the paper did state that:

The naming of communities is not exclusive and multiple communities may have the same or similar names; their base account is set by a hive-000000 name-number naming convention

So a fix I think is needed for the V.3 communities section, or at least some clarification on the monetized or not monetized standing.

The whitepaper so far states and aims to state that when a 'community' account (hive-#) is created, it is the same at its core as any other account. The hive-000000 account I use as an example is mine that I will never use, thus making it a safe example. It's clear by the discussion here that further explanation must be added in regards to community accounts, how they're used, what they do, etc. It may even be a question as to whether further documentation that's specific to these is needed.

I will circle back to this comment thread once addressed.