Part of my NFT experience lately

in NFT Investing3 years ago (edited)

Wanted to write a quick post about my experience buying and selling some NFT's, I think I'm going to skip the gaming NFT's for this as I've written posts about them before and it's kind of a whole different genre. I'm glad they're doing better now, especially Gods Unchained that's finally tradable thanks to Immutable X but wanted to focus this mainly on art NFT's.

Hype.

Hype seems to be the biggest drive of art related NFTs from what I've noticed.

One of the NFT projects I invested a little ETH in a few months ago was called Kamagang, the name coming from Kamasutra and the idea being pixelated sex positions being created through some predetermined parameters of different traits they can have. The idea sounded unique enough and I thought they'd do well, but at the time NFTs weren't really all that hyped, market was looking like it was going bear and now that things took a turn I thought they would too but I guess timing of release and when people are involved/hyped about a project is important and that the momentum keeps going. I'll save you guys the preview of what they look like but you can search kamagang on OpenSea if you're really curious.

I didn't put much money into NFT's since then, aside from buying some artworks here on our own @nftshowroom I waited it out. Last week though someone notified me of a project that had some potential, this of course stemming from the fame and insane news the original cryptopunks have been making and keep on making pretty much on a weekly basis from popular people buying and reselling them at insane prices, one of them being Gary Vaynerchuk. The same person had been tweeting of this new NFT project called World of Women that had just launched and was shy of 50% being minted out of the 10k unique NFTs it was set out to produce.

I moved some Hive into ETH quickly using @blocktrades' service, the speed and amount that was being poured into it kept on increasing. I purchased two at first, knowing very little what I was getting myself into and what I was receiving, meaning the rarity of the NFT's, what it was that stood out, etc. At this point it didn't matter much, so I FOMO'd in and bought some more before they ran out getting myself the # ID's of 5 NFTs with number 5340, 5341, 5342 and then 9645 and 9646.

Things moved fast from there, on OpenSea you can track certain stats, such as how much volume is being traded back and forth of a certain NFT project and what the floor price is, meaning the lowest cost they're being traded for. A day after the announcement the project notified holders that some of the NFTs had some special traits where if you had them you were eligible for earning part of their royalty fees and some other perks. I wasn't lucky enough to have those traits in my 5 NFT's but I was surprised at how quick the floor was rising on these. It almost felt too fast so when I received a bid of 0.5 ETH on one of my NFTs I decided to sell to break even on my investment and not having to worry too much about the other 4 I'm holding having recouped what I put in in that one NFT, while at the same time keeping in mind the 2 Kamagang ones I invested in many months ago and never saw a return on and most likely won't until they make a miraculous comeback somehow. This is the one I sold and of course just to make me regret it it resold for 2.2x the price only a few hours later:


image.png

https://opensea.io/assets/0xe785e82358879f061bc3dcac6f0444462d4b5330/9646

After checking in a bit more on the NFT space I noticed a website called https://rarity.tools/ that "does the math" for you. It basically scans all unique NFTs of a project and their traits and gives you statistical analysis of how rare your NFT is. To my surprise the one I did sell wasn't even that rare at rank 3624 out of 10k and the one I expected the least turned out to be quite rare instead.


image.png

Rank 600 out of 10,000 isn't that bad, especially for an NFT project that's taking off as much as this one with already 1600 ETH traded in just a week placing it in the top 100 projects of total trade volume on OpenSea. Playing around with the settings on rarity.tools it also showed that the rank 600 card could be even rarer, though I'm not really sure what exactly those rarity settings imply:

image.png

If someone reading this knows more about the difference between rarity score, trait rarity, statistical rarity and average rarity please let me know so I can determine a fair price for these once/if the project comes in on a higher volume traded rank.

Opensea also allows people to trade on wrapped ether which makes bidding not cost any fees as far as I know, so you do see a lot of bots going around low bidding on people's NFT's. Saw many of these in the first day being resold under the minting prices from impatient collectors or people who just wanted to gamble on getting rarer ones and wanted to sell some of the non rares they received quick to mint new ones. This whole RNG trait thing does seem a bit "loot boxy" to me where it drives quite a few people to invest probably more than they can afford to lose and gamble either on minting many NFTs of the same project or noticing the hype many are getting to constantly keep trying to be the first or early on to mint low ID numbers of new projects to possibly sell for a profit later. Not a big fan of the way these are sold but it is what it is right now.

Another project I decided to mint a couple after having recouped my costs from World of Women was one I was delightfully surprised at how amazing the art came out of. This project is called Angels of Aether and I think I should just let one of the NFT's in my possession speak for itself as to why I decided to mint. This one doesn't have a lot of hype, no big names that have tweeted about their interest in it or anything and the minting process is already been a couple days since release with not even 1000 out of 11111 being minted yet but you can't really say no to this artwork to at least want one of them in your collection in my opinion:

unnamed.jpg

If you're interested in minting this NFT then here's a link to their website, but of course do your own research, don't expect to make a profit, not financial advice, etc, etc. I just really like the quality art in this project compared to the random pixelated copycats that most exist of or the simplicity of some others. This one kind of makes even the most common ones look exceptional (which my angel above is very not rare and a good example of it).

For now I'm mostly just going to hold and wait, if any new projects pop up that show the same kind of hype (which seems to be the biggest driving force) or usecase such as avatars people like using on their Twitter handles I might place some ETH back into them but for now I'm just happy the first mentioned NFT is doing well, price floor is already at 4x minting price and let's see where it goes and how much Hive I can buy back for it once I sell them. 😝


Sort:  

Very interesting article - thank you. My son is the creator of Enemy Metal - so proud of him. The cards are almost sold out. Game is due to come out end of 2022

Wow that looks really cool actually, and yeah sold out now :(

There's a possibility of some gold packs being offered again where payments didn't go through and the marketplace opens in about 3 weeks time and then they will have another drop. The construction phase. Should I invite you to the discord group?

The Enemy Metal Foundation Gold and Diamond Packs Sale will be resumed on enemymetal.com today from 4 pm PDT / 1 am CET / 7 am CN! in case you are interested

Finally sold out at 5pm today - but there is still the marketplace and two more drops thereafter

Some of this NFT art is incredibly submersible. My good friend @okinmakesart has designed my recent artwork for my music releases. We've also collaborated on a few projects where he used some of my soundtrack music for his creations.
PS. Thank you so much for supporting this new account after my unfortunate hacking experience! These people are ruthless and I hope no one else gets sucked into their dispicable behaviour.
Have a great weekend.
DC 🙏

https://linktr.ee/darrenclaxton

I really like that Angel u got, and the WoW #5341

image.png
yeah im gonna have someone make something just like this ask @web-gnar i will have a second person add the nice cgi angelic form

but mine will have @keylontics kathara grids all over her

image.png

also @acidyo bro just use WAX.io and https://wax.atomichub.io !!! no fees at all AT ALL its all DPOS/EOSIO based!

NO COST AT ALL to create the nfts or wax account! they have huge reserve of wax eosio ram and wax staked cpu for new comers

and hive engine now has swap.WAX

Every time I've tried to buy a presale on wax they either get hugged to death and the website crashes or only take credit cards, it's kind of a joke to be honest when they can't accept wax/crypto for their sales.

Awesome post about NFT's. I have not entered the market yet and I regret missing out, but for some reason it's hard for me to see the long term value preposition. I hope this is not just a fad and sticks around, but only time will tell. Your article gave a lot of insight and helped me understand a bit better NFT's in general. Thank you for your knowledge and shared experience!

Those kamagang look hilariously cute somehow lol, there is a market for everything I guess. The Angel art looks great, I love the shades of blue

How Angels of Aether isn't blowing up just for the pure aesthetics is beyond me. Looks like a project that could turn into something when/if they get their metaverse going.

Hmmmm......

I'm looking at those 'Woman' cards wondering why I spend so much time on one piece when I could take that approach and churn out hundreds in even less time.

I'd mint a couple no names NFTs! You just gotta make it gambly enough so we feel special holding a certain rarity after putting in thousands of Hive into it!

@nonameslefttouse NFTs are so rare, you can't even find one. The decision to remain exclusive to Hive was made years before Hive was even a thing. My evil plan to remain an underground outsider will take the world by storm I look forward to offering quality at a fair price yadda yadda yadda.

I just copypasted your art so i own it now

I still cringe a bit at the fact I can't price and sell using a stablecoin (HBD).

WOOOOOW

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Yea, I sure know the difference between rarity score, trait rarity, statistical rarity and average rarity but my services come at a premium :)

I'll give you a 10% upvote.

20% and you got yourself a fair deal

30%, I won't go any lower!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

thanks for this post that updates us on NFTs. I believe that the future of art will certainly pass through here. An NFT gives absolute certainty of who the creator and owner is.

I know about opensea, nfthive, atomic hub, enjin market, peak monster as nft marketplace, but which one I can mint my own nfts without fee , and can earn a percentage of income when someone trade my nfts? Thx

Another project I decided to mint a couple after having recouped my costs from World of Women was one I was delightfully surprised at how amazing the art came out of.

My knowledge on NFT is not good and if I understand, you can mint any project or art as NFT ? My son @shreyansh wanted to try his hands on digital art recently and was asking me about NFT. Need to do some research and find out details. If you have any reference, please provide.

Congratulations @acidyo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 280000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 282000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the August 1st Hive Power Up Day

Nice content, ive been following you since from steemit i always appreciate your content keep up. Im a believer

Broo,Your Content is too good.Plz give me Some idea how to I create a good content in Gameing?🥺

سر میرے ساتھ تعاون کریں پلیز میرے ساتھ کوئی تعاون نہیں ہو رہا